August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Little Peeps

by SmudgedCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Games is written in HTML5/Javascript and takes a reasonable chunk of inspiration from Pikmin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#220Theme3.53
#225Innovation3.47
#322Overall3.30
#466Fun3.03
#596Graphics2.81
#620Mood2.64
#853Humor1.74
#976Audio1.25

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Quite nice looking mechanics of pathfinding and other rts features mixed with time controls!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice mechanics that fits the theme perfectly. The game is a little bit too hard for me. Stuck at level one. :)
The background and tracks are looking nice, the entities are not matching their style though.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

Took me a few attempts to work out that my peeps were the red blobs and that they were needed to collect the white circles - after that all groovy though - good game!

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Fun game. I finished it! The last level was challenging, and I loved the Pikmin-style gameplay.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Very nice concept! It took a minute or so to figure out that the dots were my people. The mood of this game could really benefit from some sound effects, but I really liked this game. Good job!

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Really good idea to put the game in pause by default.
It took me time to figure where were my creatures.
Also, I'd expect a message to congrat me when I take the "artefact".

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Interesting and challenging, requires some resource planning. Probably some sounds would make it even better.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I am giving this 5 stars for innovation.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very nice! I really enjoyed this. The only nitpick is you can render a level unsolvable if you let a peep go extinct on the previous level. I didn't realize peeps carry over. At first I was trying to make my missing green peep by sending mixed colors pick up the circles... :)

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Am I missing something? When the red dots go under the pink (10) square or under the white dots with numbers, they get stuck there and I can't move them anymore.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52am

You need as many peeps are as written on the tokens in order to collect them. To start you can send your 5 initial peeps to collect a 5 token. That will produce 5 more peeps that will let you pick up the artefact to finish the level.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool concept but really complicated. It would have done well with a couple trivial levels as a tutorial. I'm stuck on level 2. I don't start with any green peeps and I see no way to get them. What gives?

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56am

I enjoyed the pause and trace paths here, but sometimes the red spheres are kept below the white balls and I cannot ever select them again, it seems o.x

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:42am

@Cosmologicon You should start the second level with 3 green peeps.

@fgielow Yeah, once the peeps are trying to pick something up they can't be selected again unfortunately. I didn't have time to implement this for the competition but I'm still working on the game and will fix this for a later version.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Very innovative! The selection bug hitted me in the very beginning and got me confused. With that fixed, you have a great game. Great approach to the theme too.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I really enjoyed this game, it took me a while to get the idea - I didn't realise how important shift-clicking was early enough - but once I did I was very impressed with the gameplay in this. a little audio would have rounded it off perfectly but it's still a great entry overall

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:00pm

great pure style!
awesome game!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Like the mechanics, graphics are simple but nice to look at and the pathfinding was superb. Sound would make this promising project into a great game!

Marcellus says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:00pm

the idea behind this game is awesome

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]