August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timed Ninjas

by rujo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Are you able to count to ten with a precise timing?
The life of 9 ninjas depends on your ability.
Count to ten by pressing SPACE BAR ten times and see the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#32Theme4.02
#73Innovation3.84
#121Fun3.54
#152Humor3.19
#224Overall3.43
#226Graphics3.50
#470Mood2.83
#474Audio2.70

Comments

robertcodes says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Awesome!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I keep killing them O_0, why do you have do die!?!? xD

Simple yet very fun game

balta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07am

Brilliant!

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55am

This game is very fun! It's a simple design, yet you portray the theme very well. Graphics are very cool, and I would have never thought up an idea like this!
Overall, 8.5/10 from me!

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

Very good style and rhythm. It needed something a bit more though.

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Fantastic. I cheated a bit with my watch, after my usual technique of singing the first few bars of Stars and Stripes didn't work.

I don't know if you have played warioware on the gamecube, but they had a 5 sec timer game, and they counted the first second for you. I think that would be super helpful here, just a quick audio beep to give tempo.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

This idea is great :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

Brilliant!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

Woa, very challenging. In the first place, i tried to kill them all... it was satisfying. Well done :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I managed to kill them all but got 0 points :o
Very simple but nice concept! :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

That is so much fun. I don't know why I like counting so much!

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Excellent! Would need more levels :-)

skyr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Very fun game. Simple but fun. Only once I managed to save them all.

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Interesting and well realized idea but, in my opinion, it needs more levels.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

That was fun!

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Great game, very fun ^^

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very smart idea! Might have been cool with more variations of it (Such as not being able to see the swords, etc.). Cute graphics too, great work!

tudd says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very fun, sort of funny too. I got 9/9 but I had to use a metronome :P

My best score with no timing help was 8/9

devi ever says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

GOTY 10/10 ALL YEARS!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Saved all the ninjas! 8521 score without looking at a timer :p . It took 5 tries though. Really cool idea, and it's pretty much impossible to fit the theme any more than this :p .

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Great game! Score: 832 :D

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Awesome little game! :)
Good concept and a lot of fun!
I got 9/9! next step 0/9!

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

nice. love the theme. what about making it multiplayer (multikey)? more player at the same time trying to get rhythm :D

wintermute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Amazingly simple idea, but it works, and fits the theme perfectly. Could not beat it yet though! In a more advanced/extended version, I would include some additional source of feedback, like audio/visual, to help timing. But also, I seem to be quite bad hence maybe it's only me!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Hehe, love the idea! Very creative interpretation of the theme, top!

goyal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

Interesting. Haven't seen anything like this so far.

bombjack says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Simple but effective! great!

GVmakesGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Simple yet funny game :D My record is of 9 alive...

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:19am

I would love to see a Post-Compo version that explored this mechanic in further detail. Even more mini-games centered around precise timing and/or memory would be incredible and make for a really fun game. Awesome job, and a great use of the theme.

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Nice concept!

I like the graphics and presentation.
Good job!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:55am

Simple yet fun and effective.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:33am

Not sure what to say here. I thought at first it was on a pendulum swinging back and forth. Then it didn't Was I supposed to kill the ninja? Cause I got them all to survive and yet, no score. I killed some, and no score. What was the end goal here? Is there a way to get the score? Or is that not added? Fairly confusing.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice little game. Fun. Good graphics. Nice sounds. Good take on the theme. 6/10.

gamepopper says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Cute graphics, really good timing aspect to it.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Nice entry! The only way i could save all ninjas was waiting 10 seconds between the first and the second spacebar press.. Looks like i have a really bad timing!

tompudding says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Superb idea, great execution. Well done!

manuq says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:17pm

:)

GFM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Your take on the theme was really unique. I don't remember any other game using something like this.

The game was good and quite hard! I really liked it! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]