August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

(48Mins) Can You Count To...

by nixeldev - Jam Entry

I love competing in Ludum Dare and have done 4 compos previously. However this time I just didn't have the weekend free to spend on it so I hadn't planned on entering. But when I checked the theme I was happy to see it was "10 Seconds" as it gave me an idea, if I can't dedicate 48 hours to the Jam, can I afford 48 minutes?

So that's what I did, 48 minutes from blank game-engine project to completed game.

I used Haxe NME and my own pre-existing game tools (screen flow, maths and text helpers and so on).

It has entirely text-based visuals and is super rough around the edges of course :p

Please play it and let me know what you think :)

P.s I'm on twitter @nixeldev :p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Theme(Jam)3.41
#312Innovation(Jam)2.94
#387Humor(Jam)2.00
#472Overall(Jam)2.69
#503Fun(Jam)2.35
#518Mood(Jam)2.14
#589Graphics(Jam)1.88
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

anachron says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:31am

Excellent concept and cool clean implementation. +1

7heSAMA says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:56am

Interesting idea! It's not the most fun but it's pretty good for 48 minutes. I think the biggest problem is the randomly-generated numbers, it's much easier to be accurate in a lower scale.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

I like the simplicity of it, though some greater variation between levels or some kind of endgame/high scores would have been nice. Great job for a 48 minute game, though. :)

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20am

Good job for 48 minutes.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08am

Aw man I like this! So simple but well implemented and easy to get into.

proc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice font. Got me counting and I did get better which is nice. Simple but sweet.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice 48 minute game. I liked it.

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Nice game, 48 minutes? :P that's pretty nice!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

most of the first 5 rounds, i was 1-2 full seconds off.
Last round, I had 0.23 seconds left and Im like HAH I can't do that!

then BAM! I made it with .02 seconds remaining now!!
made it to round 6.
interesting simple game
should have entered into the compo!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

Great idea for a 48 minute game! The short development time didn't detract from the fun at all!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice! 48 minutes? that's a great game for 48 minutes!

Ninquo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

interesting idea, I made it to round 16 ;)

Per says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I liked this game a lot :)
Simple and addictive, and suitable for multiplayer as well if you want to develop it further. Give it another 10-12 minutes or so ;)

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I got to round 38. Great work for 48 minutes!

voltorben says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I can honestly say that i've learnt to count seconds better! Sucked in the start, but became pretty precise towards the end.
Considering you only used 48 mins, this is an fantastic entry.
So simple, yet good fun.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Great game for 48m. It gets the job done! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Ha, ingenious and clean implementation of a very small game!

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Nice use of the theme. 10 second limit, but not in an immediate way.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]