August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lights

by dkilford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about life lessons.

Built for Ludum Dare #27. The theme is 10 seconds.

WSAD to move, space to jump. Holding space will make you fall slower.

If anyone is having difficulty with levels I left in some tricks to make it easier:







Pressing 'y' will pause the timer.

Moving diagonally will essentially make you move at double speed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#199Mood3.28
#506Audio2.63
#584Overall3.03
#647Innovation2.83
#681Graphics2.69
#752Theme2.94
#752Fun2.69
#802Humor1.83

Comments

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Good atmosphere, nice idea and execution.

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Collision feels weird when you barely reach the platform you jump to. I like metaphorical gameplay!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

That's fantastic - I love the repetition aspects: I wanted to work the idea of "repeating time" into my game too (I wanted that feel that your entry gives where you go "what? this just happened!") - but ran out of time (is that irony)? Anyhooo... really great game.

tlasol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

It reminds me of "Antichamber".

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Good simple game. I like implemented cheat :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Reminds me of Antichamber as well, that's a good thing :) A bit more light would've been great.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

relaxing and stressing at the same time, nice ambient and gameplay

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

The sound effects and art style really work well in establishing the atmosphere. I don't enjoy the jumping being as unforgiving as it is - leads to a lot more frustration than it needs to. The '10 seconds to complete the level' mechanic being the central point of the gameplay is a bit frustrating to me, too, when coupled with the difficulty of the first-person platforming. Nice use of truisms in each level, definitely adds an extra layer to the atmosphere.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Really nice atmosphere and the messages on the wall reminds me of antichamber

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

relaly liked the "ambience" seagulls hehe! yh very enjoyable little experience, reminded me of antichamber with the plaques and motivational posters :P

awesome little puzzles and time trial challenges =]

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Like the pictures an how they connected with level =)

sellsword says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Reminds me of Antichamber, good job

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Plays a bit like my own game, only this one makes a little more sense! Good job.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Falling makes me happy!

Very nice concept and levels and audio. I would have liked the life lessons to play a bigger role in the levels, not just as the theme.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Cool game that looks like it was inspired by Antichamber with the motivational posters. Controls/collision could use some tightening up but I really enjoyed the atmosphere!

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Nice job and interesting concept! The straight bridge level gets a bit old after a couple of different iterations. The 10 second limit sadly doesn't do much for the game though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]