August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Ludusylum

by GibTreaty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get past all the secruity towers and reach the end alive!

Use your skills wisely because you have a 10-second use limit (skills can be toggled)

Don't forget to toggle the mouse-look with the middle mouse button!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#154Graphics3.67
#566Mood2.71
#666Theme3.06
#667Innovation2.81
#706Audio2.25
#718Overall2.91
#811Humor1.81
#948Fun2.42

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Are you meant to be able to rotate/look around with the mouse?

tomaszmf95 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Um, is it on purpose that you can't look round?

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I can't look around, but it is a fun game

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

Use the middle mouse button to toggle mouse lock which allows you to turn. There are buttons on the screen that you can press so the turning needs to be turned off when the cursor isn't locked to the screen.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Nice idea!

Mouse-locking is a bit off. People usually don't figure out it's "keep mouse-wheel pressed" :P

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I'd change it so you can click on the screen for it to lock but I don't think I'm allowed to change anything during the voting time.

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I also got irritated by the mouse look thing. I can activate speed and shield by pressing 1 and 2 on the keyboard. Is there really a need to unlock the mouse?

Besides that, cool game. More levels would be nice. :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I liked, but...Where is the exit?

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Cute maze game idea. It is a lot more fun than all the "Do X in 10 seconds" games. Still, I am glad I read the comments before playing the game to find out about the mouse lock...

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

intripoon - Excuse me, but what is this shield you speak of? Besides that, the Restart skill can only be activated by pressing the button. I couldn't decide what key Restart should be set to since Revive was set to R.

juaxix - At the end of the linear path ;)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Beautiful graphics, but I couldn't work out how to find the middle mouse button on my mac :(

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Nice graphic effects. One note: the player must turn to face the direction of movement automatically.

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Will Edwards - Yes I realized yesterday that not every machine has a middle mouse button so it would literally be impossible, sorry about that. I'd fix it if it wasn't against the rules to do so.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really pretty graphics and I like the concept a lot, nice work!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Couldn't play it, even on "Fastest" the graphics are too much for my GPU.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cool game! Nice use of the theme. If you just keep on moving turrets won't be able to shoot you most of the time so powers aren't necessary to make ut to the end.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I took me a little while to figure out to start moving my head arround (needed to press middle mouse button). Solid graphics. Nice to see full material setups with specular/normal maps. Gameplay wise it was a little slow, but interesting idea.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:31pm

good game with a good idea =)
(but maybe some power ups could help ^^)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:04am

Well Done ! I Like idea and style. Have some problem with camera turning. but very good at all. Wish some background music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]