August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tower To The Sun

by Zer0Kelvin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tower To The Sun is a game about our legacy to the planet and our children. I incorporated the 10 Seconds theme by having the player's character live his entire life in only ten seconds. When that character dies, a new one is born.
Your goal is to improve your surroundings so future people will reach the the goal of building a tower to the sun.

Controls are Left and Right Arrows to move, X to build and C to smash.

To play the game, just unzip and run the .exe file.
Make sure you extract the entire zip, running the .exe from inside the zip file will most likely cause a crash :)

Programmed in BlitzMAX:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/

With Paint.NET
http://www.getpaint.net/

And SFXR & BFXR
http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
http://www.bfxr.net/

Extra special thanks to my wife and kids for their patience! ;)


TL;DR:

LEFT RIGHT X C

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#65Theme3.86
#235Innovation3.45
#458Mood2.85
#582Humor2.19
#596Overall3.02
#726Graphics2.60
#730Fun2.71
#864Audio1.80

Comments

skywing says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Really really cool concept, but you might want to make a deadzone or some kind of warning When you're about to die because I keep accidentally blocking myself off from my tower because I die in the middle of a button press. I love the game though.

skywing says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Just realized you can destroy blocks, so nothing really wrong at all, I'm just an idiot.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Yeah, I little pause after you die before you respawn would be a good addition :)

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Just uploaded a new version with a little pause after you die :)

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:12pm

New version (23), minor bug fix to stop making a block when reborn when the player presses the key while dead.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:26pm

New version (24), win screen screenshots now working correctly :)

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27am

Cool.

NorthernCrux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

Very innovative representation of the theme.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

This is really good. I love the little aging animation in particular, it's a cute touch. There are a few "ten-second lifespan" games out there, but this is a more interesting use of that mechanic than most. Nice work!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

Thanks guys! Glad you liked it! :)

aschearer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

A neat take on the theme while still being time-based. Didn't feel like I was accomplishing much or making interesting gameplay decisions while playing, though.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

I made it to the sun! I loved that you're presented with a monumental task up front and you slowly build your way up to it. The different lifetimes gave the game some extra meaning. Nice job!

JHollands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

Doesn't seem to work for me - getting a black screen with a large cursor and pressing anything on the keyboard will close it. Looks interesting though! Am using an Acer Aspire 8943g laptop with i5 if that's any kinda help.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

its a good theme but not really enjoyable. a bit repetitive

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

Heh, definitely takes some time to make a nice tower like the screenshots, fun though!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

@JHollands, did you extract the entire archive before running it? What OS are you running on it? Win XP, Vista, 7, 8?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

standing on the shoulders of giants. Good concept!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I enjoyed this, a bit of a puzzle element to it too.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

Thanks for all the positive comments! Glad people are liking this :D

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29am

Great game idea! Simple, but quite addictive. Of course, once you found the optimal strategy, it's really easy. ;) Made it in 39 generations.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37am

The idea is nice but the game is very repetitive. When I alt tabbed to lower the volume almost one hour had passed in game before I got back.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41am

Cool game :3, would have been nice to have had several levels.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16am

@Kragnir, by an hour passed, do you mean the character had died hundreds of times?

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:19am

@lurkingshadow, maybe I'll see what I can do post compo? Maybe if people are really interested it could be expanded :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

@Zer0Kelvin

Yes they died 260 times I believe.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26pm

@Kragnir, heheh, it must have been running in the background. Sound like it was running quite fast too! :P

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24pm

*Sounds

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Interesting idea.

Took me 36 life times. The last bit is nasty, since you have to block yourself to reach the sun.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Lovely concept and really enjoyed figuring it out. Tricky little puzzler with a nice idea. great stuff! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice game. Needed 27 lifetimes to reach the sun. :) Wasn't too easy figuring out a strategy to actually reach it. But I did, Bam! And enjoyed it despite the obvious repitition involved. Also, I like your TL;DR text. :P

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

I really like the puzzle. I just had to play through this. Addicting!

TheDreik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

It more hard than it looks. Nice entry!

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

I didn't find this all that fun, but the message and use of the theme are really good!

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

I like the game it was fun to play :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice idea, but it's pretty simple. Variable terrain, or something like that, could make it more interesting.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Apparently, this game doesn't notice (or doesn't have) the frame limit, so it runs with insane speed on my machine. I've got more than 300 death before stacking only the 5 levels, and it's going too fast.

Still, there's a good idea over there.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

@HD408, the game runs at 60 frames per second. Can you give me more info about your computer system so I can figure out what might be wrong?
What OS are you running, etc.?
Anyone else having this problem?

otresnjak says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Love the rapid aging. :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Love the sprite aging, very nice idea.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Interesting entry, it would be good if there was a little bit of challenge. I like the concept of a 10 second lifespan, I'd like to see the idea developed further.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:41pm

@SecondDimension, did you finish it? The last bit can be quite tricky, at least for most people :)

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

The story that the game tells is interesting, and is a good take on the 10 seconds theme. I can even interpret the game's repetitiveness as part of the story (have patience), but I think a little more depth to the game could make the story more compelling.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]