August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Apotheosis

by bytegrove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Source code: http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2014021/LD27/Apotheosis_LD27_src.rar

Stream: http://www.twitch.tv/bytegrove/profile/pastBroadcasts

Gameplay video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmsSbY0Yj_8

Timelapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38kyt7Q0qpY

Combine Mario Bros and Braid and this is what you get.
Use your time-rewinding ability to save the precious artifact from the vicious critters.

Rewind time for up to 10(!) seconds by holding the right mouse button or Left Ctrl.
While rewinding, the artifact will levitate upwards. Once it
reaches the vortex above the sun, you've won the game!

After you've traveled back in time you'll be able to observe
the silhouette of your former self. Take note of this and use it to your advantage.

Make sure that the critters does not touch the artifact or it will break.

Shoot laser with the left mouse button or Alt.
Aim and steer with the arrow keys or w,a,s,d.
Jump with Space.

Manipulate the timeline to your advantage!

==============
Controls:

XBox 360 gamepad | Keyboard
______________________________
Steer/aim: (Left Joystick) | (wasd/arrow keys)
Jump: (Y) | (space)
Rewind: (B) | (rmouse/lctrl)
Shoot: (A) | (lmouse/alt)

==============

If you're having lag issues with the web build, try one of the downloads. Enjoy!

-------------------------------

Update(2013-08-27):
I've added a postcompo version. It fixes the mouse cursor so it's locked. It also adds the ability to shoot with the arrow keys as well and changes the default alternative rewind button to Q. It also has some gamepad input tweaks. I've also tried to fix the dodgy laser collision. And as a bonus I added four different difficulty levels.

Update(2013-08-27):
Changed default alternative key for shooting, as it caused problems on OSX.

Update(2013-08-28):
Both original and postcompo Linux downloads are now available as .tar.gz

Update(2013-09-1):
Updated postcompo version with gameplay- and control tweaks.
Laser reload speed is now affected by rewind cooldown and fire-time(when there's no rewind cooldown). Player can now be "damaged" in the sense that you're given a penalty rewind cooldown when touching an enemy. Enemy spawning is no longer recorded, ie. spawning can occur differently if time has been rewinded. Enemy existence is still recorded though, so an enemy that existed will always exist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#47Graphics4.12
#62Audio3.61
#142Overall3.57
#144Innovation3.64
#166Mood3.35
#231Fun3.35
#429Humor2.48
#520Theme3.22

Comments

nhmllr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

Very nice game! First off, the art/music is very very well done, all very polished. The theme was pretty well implemented. The mechanics are fun and simple. For what it is, this game is great. Maybe I should learn unity. :p

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice job! I would've put a crosshair in though, it's a bit hard to see where you're shooting.
Other than that it's pretty rad :D

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Well done! The game is fun! And i guess this is the best compliment a game may receive. When i discovered how to go back in time and watched an army of "myselfs" destroying any enemy dumb enough to get in range... oh boy, it was fun.

The arrow-aiming mechanic is pretty different from what you're used to, and so it made a "simple" game a lot more challenging. If the aiming system was mouse-based, the game would be surely easier(and boring). So, i guess you made a good choice!

Congratulations, i really liked this game.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36am

Gerrtings, fellow time manipulator! You even reversed the music when you reversed time!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35am

Good arts,if control be smarter that will be better~

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Amazing art! Took me a while to understand the mechanics but once I did it was really fun.

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Could have used better controls, it was hard to get a sense of being in control (the shooting). Shooting with a mouse button without using the mouse to aim was kind of confusing at first.

Interesting idea, and well made graphics and sound though.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Thanks for the feedback!
I've added the alternative control methods to the info,
and the key mappings can be changed in the launcher as well.
I agree that the default keys may not be to everyones liking, I might experiment with them and see if I can come up with something better. All suggestions are greatly appreciated! :)
The game can be played with an XBox360 controller as well.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Really cool game with a really nice looking background. As already said, hard to see when you shoot and it's kinda hard to get used to the whole rewind to get up.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Good work!! Love the graphics.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Wow! Weird! Definitely a unique combination of mechanics. Some very nice art here - platform, background, cube.

barcode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

haven't had a chance to try the game yet - but it looks really cool in the video!! I'll try it out once I get home from work.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice idea. Had a little problem with colision detection - bullets hitting the ground ... But overall a pretty solid entry.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Great defense game. I only had a little trouble with aiming.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

Holy fuck this is amazing very fun gameplay and mechanics! One of the most enjoyable games I've played yet.. the music is awesome too. Rated this very very highly. :) Well done for 48 hours!

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Bit hard to manage at first, but I liked the rewind mechanic and the silhouette thing, very nice!

barcode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Hard - nice style!

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

Good job. May be its only me that I find it hard to shoot. My mouse always goes out of the screen. You can either lock the cursor inside the play area or add left-right arrow keys for shooting. I think it will make things a little easier and less confusing.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

Thanks for all the feedback, I've added a postcompo version for those who are interested(see links at top). It fixes the mouse cursor so it's locked. It also adds the ability to shoot with the arrow keys as well and changes the default alternative rewind button to Q. It also has some gamepad input tweaks. I've also tried to fix the dodgy laser collision. And as a bonus I added four different difficulty levels.

Thanks again for all the great feedback! :D

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice grafix, well made game. I don't get the rewind thing though...

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

The art reminded me of braid, which is amazing. :)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

@Larzan:
If I understood your question correctly: You can rewind the game(for up to 10 seconds). Every time you'll be able to play in a different way than you did before. Your old timeline will still be active though, which means that your "old self" will kill the same enemies again. This gives you the opportunity to kill other enemies for example.
The artifact however does not adhere to the rules of time and space in the same way. :P It will levitate upwards as you reverse the time and fall down slowly when the time is advancing. It rises faster than it falls, so that's why you can make it reach the vortex, which makes you win the game.

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Nice game. Needs more depth.
Using the ctrl key with arrows on a mac is not a good idea. ctrl + left arrow takes you to Dashboard.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Wrapping your head around the time mechanic takes a bit of, well, time, but it's a lot of fun just figuring it out. Great graphics and sound too. I do echo the comments that the aiming could be clearer.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@urth:
Hi, what do you mean with depth? Gameplay or graphics? :)
Thanks for the mac info(I updated the postcompo version), I sadly have no way to run the builds on mac.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Love the innovation, but found the controls and gameplay to be a bit too chaotic for my taste.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Omg wow! Just wow. Top marks on everything, the game mechanic you derived from the theme is so creative, it hurts my head :) Postcompo version very cool as well.

Seriously, top marks and thank you!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great music and art style... very difficult game

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

You need some time to get to handle of things but when you do it is a really fun game. Well done mate.

Vectorious says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I love the concept, but I think it could have been implemented better. The gameplay doesn't feel right, and it was a bit confusing but not challenging. I did enjoy it though.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

@Vectorious:
When you mention that it doesn't feel right, are you referring to the aiming mechanic or more the flow of the game or maybe the structure of the level?

@Everyone:
Thanks yet again for all the feedback. Very interesting insights so far, in my opinion. ^^

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very cool concept. The artwork is great, the enemies I feel aren't as "cool" as the main character. I like the idea of using time reversal to move your goal ahead, those two ideas work together pretty well. I love the idea of having copies of yourself aiding you by shooting, I could see this mechanic being extended if you were to continue with this game idea.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Completed it my first time playing with a score of 23 seconds. This is a really great approach to the theme, and the graphical style is an odd yet pleasing blend of elements. The song is very fitting but the sound effects are a bit harsh and drown out the beauty of the experience, I think. Great work all around! -SB

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Wow. Just wow. Dont know what else to say. Excited to read your code. Thanks for the entry, stuff is awesome.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I found the laser bit hard to aim, but this was very solid entry with great idea! Managed to get the cube to safety after some fighting. Not sure how easy it is to lose in this game if you can always just rewind and have clones do the shooting.

Great graphics, audio, and fast paced gameplay. Good job!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

@AdventureIslands:
Hehe, yeah it's possible to get low 1-2 second highscores at the moment. ;)

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18am

It was a bit odd wrapping my head around going backwards to achieve my goal. If I'm going back in time, what does that make the duplicates? Shades of potential futures?

I was going strong for a while, but once I got up near the top of the level, it seemed inevitable that enemies would spawn directly on top of the artifact, and no amount of clones shooting would help that. Ultimately I just decided to power through and hold the time rewind until the artifact made it to the goal (luckily I was close enough to do it).

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:33am

Really nice, found it little bit easy though (maybe the cube shouldn't get HP back, it's outside of time traveling window anyway). Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Really fun! The time mechanics are really well implemented, and the game looks pretty stunning too!

DuFF says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Great work. This is really polished for 48 hours.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

I love the art on the tiles and the background. I think the art on the sprites were chosen that way? But a black-white sprite doesn't match well with fully colored surroundings.
I like the rewind mechanic. But the lack of a mouse pointer makes it difficult to play the game.
Good job nonetheless. :)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Super polished graphics and sound. In 48 HOURS?!?!

Not sure what you were going for with the mechanics. There doesn't seem to be any purpose or thought behind rewinding time such that it adds to the game. You just do it every time it's available. Same with your shadow clone that shoots. It's cool and devious to implement on a programming side, but it didn't change anything. I just kept shooting. Odd that there's no health system for your character. I can keep running into enemies to stop them.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

very nice artwork and gameplay -- control were hard -- great effort

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

23.9 seconds! Very novel combination for Mario and braid. Kind of chaotic but still fun. Using a mouse was kind of difficult. Not sure whether using only a keyboard would have been easier. Minor issue I had was that the main character kept wanting to slide right. Besides that, great game, given your limited schedule!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice game. Great polish on the rewind mechanic. The mixture of 3d models and handpainted levels and pixel characters felt a bit odd choice. But other than that, an innovative shooter :)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Wow, even more great constructive feedback(art and gameplay)! Thank you all! :)

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Awesomely done, for something made in 48h! :D

But there are some heavy influences from Braid... (not a really bad thing, but only if there were other features...)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I'm always a fan of time-manipulation in games, and you did it really well here. Fun gameplay, and cool graphics. Having the artifact move through time differently really opens up some cool possibilities. You should definitely keep developing this idea.

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I feel like I should explain better my comment...

The game is great, the graphics are awesome, but it really isn't all that original. You indeed modified the focus from puzzle (in Braid) to an action game and this resulted in an interesting idea, since your "shadows" can also shoot.

But I few that this improvement is too small when compare to the game you based. So it's only really a complaint about innovation. The game is really good on the others aspects! :D

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Very cool mechanics, nice work!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Good game, with a bit tweaking on controls it'll good !

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Wowza. That gets really chaotic by the end. Great concept :)

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

simply a very nice game - well done

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Updated the postcompo version based on feedback. :)
Laser reload speed is now affected by rewind cooldown and fire-time(when there's no rewind cooldown). Player can now be "damaged" in the sense that you're given a penalty rewind cooldown when touching an enemy. Enemy spawning is no longer recorded, ie. spawning can occur differently if time has been rewinded. Enemy existence is still recorded though, so an enemy that existed will always exist.

murilo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Holy cow! Just amazing, man! Everything is great! Maybe except a little for the aiming. Keep it up!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice graphic and sound! Awsome idea! Good job!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Fun game, neat mechanic. Took a little bit to get the aiming down but started having a good time with it once I did.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:57am

Very nice artwork... love that background style. nice little game!

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice! Tip though: Put the controls in the game.

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Oh wow. The whole concept is awesome. This is a very solid entry!

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really awesome! Loved the art and audio.

Metatheos says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:27pm

The rewind-mechanics would sound way more broken on paper than they feel in the actual game. I mean it's a mechanic that recovers health, gives you offensive advantage by letting you control an additional character and progresses the victory condition at the same time. What makes it interesting in the actual game is that the position of the object to protect changes with the progression. This way your previous version defends a completely different location than you will have to protect after the rewind.

I think it would be interesting if the cube would travel on an predefined path through a level, so you would have to mix clearing the path ahead with catching up after a rewind. I also see myself having to balance fixing misses from the previous iterations and making new progress. Really inspiring concept.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:25pm

A very nice game. I loved the mechanics, and the graphics are beautiful.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:25pm

good idea, and nicely designed. gameplay works great most of the time! great graphics and music too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]