August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Clonogram

by epicSpeedTurtle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Clonogram you have to run through the level in 10 seconds several times. Beware! Every time you restart the level, your previous clone runs with you, pushing you off the ledges, into bottomless pits of doom.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#83Audio3.51
#156Theme3.66
#171Graphics3.63
#219Innovation3.49
#289Overall3.34
#373Fun3.14
#473Humor2.39
#501Mood2.80

Comments

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

Overall: great game with nice and simple graphics, cant-get-out-of-my-head musc and real challange! My current favourite!

Innovation: even the name is original - what to say more? absolutely original concept, with challenging implementation!

Fun: couldn't stop playing this! (...until level5, which seemed to be too hard :D)

Theme: do levels in 10 seconds repeatedly. A bit more than the first thoughts, so it's also highly rated.

Graphics: loved the spinning pixelstars! Menu is way too simple, ingame textures are too few, but fits perfectly for the game! I especially love the player and the hologram sprite.

Audio: two soundtracks! TWO SOUNDTRACKS IN A LD48 GAME, DAMNIT!
Humor: menuface is funny, and even music implements some humorous factor without any exact sign of being humorous.

Mood: maybe the weakest point. it's just a game. perfect for that, but still just a game. and no more.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

HAHA this thing is incredibly annoying!
Good game, probably one of the most finished I've seen yet on this LD.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Nice game! I love the ghosts, and how they push you around.

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Loved this game. i really like the "ghost" feature and the fast gameplay

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Awesome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

If you're killed by your clone, is it suicide or murder? :P

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Graphics and level design are really good!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

The concept is pretty cool, but I'm not in love with the controls. I think it might play better if the movement speed was a little lower. The premise of having your clones collide with you seems like it's got some real potential that could be explored further than you've taken it. The sound effects are pretty good, and the music is great. The art is alright - clean and easy to read, if not exactly stellar. The interface looks great. Overall, a cool idea that I think could use some refinement to be more engaging.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

@Dooleus, thanks for great feedback. I'm pretty happy with how this game turned out, so i think i will at least polish it a little bit more. I'll definitely take your comment into consideration.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

This game sounds awesome, but for some reason it I couldnt open it on my pc. (Window 7)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

This is cool. Same opinion like Katamori :D

HD408 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:40am

Liked the idea, got through all of it.

Is it possible to score more than 4 in the final level? At first I thought that I should get three stars in every level to actually beat the game, but it seems impossible because of the last one.

Music fits perfectly!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I've probably missed something... I think there's a lack of explanations and/or tutorials. :/
Anyway, great art style and sounds!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:09pm

@HD408 Frankly, I haven't scored more than 3 in the final level myself. I just thought that since it is a final level it has to be really challenging, but it seems that i just went overboard with it :C

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

Awesome entry! At first I thought that I need to outrun my clones hehe. Loved the art style! The clones pushing you around is a very good concept.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

I really dig the graphical style. Felt a bit frustrated with all the pushing but that seemed to be the point. :) Solid entry.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Confusing at first until you realise you just need to get to the end without getting buffeted by your clones... then it's kinda fun. Jump sometimes seemed unresponsive, but that might have been from getting pushed about by clones.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The concept is pretty cool, but the pushing always seems to happen so fast. It feels less like getting pushed, more like getting instantly teleported back or something. More feedback and less instantaneousness would've probably been a good thing there.

The music is really nice, I like it a lot! I had to turn of the sound though - for some reason the 3-2-1 sound was extremely hard on my ears. Ugh.

Aceria says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:28pm

For some reason I was really fascinated by the rotating star in the menu. A nice execution of a concept that leans on the work of Braid and Canabalt.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]