August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tale of a Lost Soul

by eolhing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you play as a little lost soul and you must go through several levels, guided by an unknown voice.

Considering that you are a pretty weak soul, you must finish each level within 10 seconds before you vanish.

This game was built using Haxe and OpenFL.

EDIT#1 : The game archive was missing some DLLs, fixed.

EDIT#2 : Considering the number of people getting stuck on the first screen, I added the possibility to go ingame by pressing a key (except Space) instead of the mouse. I hope that will fix it, cause I can't do much more :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#130Mood3.43
#154Graphics3.67
#165Theme3.64
#352Audio2.91
#372Overall3.24
#516Fun2.97
#660Humor2.06
#714Innovation2.76

Comments

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

I tried to run it, but it closed right away. I think it said something like "Uncaught Error: Unable to load library std.dll," but it was a little hard to tell.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Uncaught exception - load.c(237) : Failed to load library : std.ndll

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

I can't run this.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

Thanks guys, It should be fixed now ;)

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

The game is stuck on the "Tales of the last Soul" screen right at the beginning here.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46am

This game is great. I love it, simple and yet effective, also with really nice depth.

The only problem, I found it a bit hard, especially with the collision detection on corners, it was really unforgiving. Not that it's bad, it's amazing! Kudos to you.

I like the audio a lot, there was a bit of a glitch in the sound when changing levels but I'm not sure if it's because I was running it emulated on Linux. For all other Linux developers/users out there, this game works perfectly under wine ;)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice graphics. Sounds are a bit too harsh, and music a bit too up-beat. Some mellow tunes might have worked better. To The Top level seems unbeatable. As fast as the game would let me, couldn't reach the last time piece.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

I've got the same problem as Choupom. Can't get past the intro screen. :/

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Thanks for your reviews !

@Choupom : Try to click on the soul ;)

@Red Mike : Yeah, music definitely needs some improvements, I used autotracker.py and this is the best I got, for the next LD, I'll learn to make some music by myself :D

All the levels are beatables, I tested them myself, if you're having a hard time, try to stick a little bit more on the left if you have to turn left for example, only that can make a good difference :)

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Didnt rate since I got stuck on the intro screen.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice theme, grpahics and music. Unfortunately, the wind power up makes the game really hard sometimes. Still, nice entry!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Hm... won't run on Win7 x64. It's stuck at the startup screen... Didn't rate so far =/

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Thanks for your reviews, for people who got stuck on the title screen, have you tried to click on the soul (I know I should have make that more obvious) ? If so, what exactly happened ?

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Best game around so far! :)
But pay attention: on some computers it doesn't work (Like my netbook)!

Really enjoyed it anyway, even if i cant beat a level (but games MUST be this hard)! :(

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I managed to play it. Nice graphics! I'm a fan of games with an isometric point of view :) definitely kinda challenging and I also agree with whoever said it needs mellower music. Nicely done!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Liked it!
However I get a small glitch:
The soul always starts moving(when I click) in the last direction where I lost(I fall of the plateforme right, when i restart, it goes right).
Aside from that it was good!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Screenshots look cool but it doesn't get past the loading screen. Any diagnostic info I can give you?

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very entertaining! Some minor bugs here and there (already mentioned by others) but nothing gamebreaking. Got a permanent framerate drop on the cleansing path which made it much harder to play. The controls could actually work well with a gamepad. I agree that some more atmospheric music would have been a better fit. Nice one!

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Considering the number of people getting stuck on the first screen, I added the possibility to go ingame by pressing a key (except Space) instead of the mouse. I hope that will fix it, cause I can't do much more :(

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Nice graphics and sounds, but it's quite difficult to move around with the mouse.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This is really really nice, very fluid and I like the overall concept!
Mouse control feels a little bit imprecise at times, but besides from that, awesome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

I wish I had thought of this. The sound and music is really well done. I got to the spiral and I almost won then I had to give up for now.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I really like the idea and the execution, but the music gets annoying really quickly. Also, after some time I wasn't able to press space anymore, so I had to restart the game.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Very nice presentation and good sound.
What got a bit frustrating were the controls. What always got me was pressing space bar to start and at that point I had already began pressing the mouse for movement but because it happened before starting the level the input was not registered. Maybe starting the level when beginning with movement would be better.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Amazing presentation, love the transition animation when the player dies. Very challenging game, doesn't leave much room for error, even in the early stages.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I didn't really like the controls, but nice music, and a cool atmosphere ;)

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice graphics, but too bad it was laggy to the point of being unplayable. 2/5, weak entry.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Looks really fine ! good job !

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Fairly fun, but I think it should be a little bit more forgiving. I died so many times trying to turn a corner but just falling off instead - or maybe I'm just useless at it.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Hard as hell but I like it :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Reminded me of Marble Madness. I liked your stylistic choices. For example the way the soul enlarges before shrinking into nothing at the end of a level, and the diminishing white border representing time. Nice job.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very hard game, great graphics, loved it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

onzephyr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:12pm

game ran just fine for me. really nice visuals. took a try or two to get the controls down. but played great once I did. Nice game.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

One of my favorite games so far! The concept and sound is exellent!

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:00am

Nice work with the mood - the art was very consistent and helped convey a good atmosphere. One thing you might consider is having some feedback when you are getting dangerously close to the edge - the isometric perspective makes it hard to judge sometimes until it is too late. I did crash on the second "red" level, unfortunately :( Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]