August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Make a game Game

by Pacaco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make a full game in 10 seconds!

First, choose which task to improve in the 10 seconds you have to make your game. Your energy is limited but with sleep, food and coffee you can make a complete game.
Then enjoy your creation! But be sure to spend enough time on the essential tasks (controls, collisions, basic graphics and enemies) to make the game playable. And don't forget to Debug it, or strange things may happen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#8Innovation4.25
#24Humor3.97
#25Theme4.05
#141Fun3.51
#158Overall3.54
#199Mood3.28
#199Audio3.20
#401Graphics3.15

Comments

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

This is really great and funny! What a silly concept done pretty well. Just having a background and music gave me a good laugh, and I didn't realize it until a couple more tries that there is a legitimate game if you can get all the pieces done before the timer. Well done!

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I JUST WENT THROUGH THIS NOooooooOoOoO.... lol
but really, a fun concept :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03pm

How very meta of you

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

This is a great idea! And the game you make is pretty fun.

I really thought there was a bug in the actual game until I realized I never got to debug haha.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The concept is pretty great! Original to be sure!

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Having different features depending on your choices. I really love the idea.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I love the concept for this game. Very cool.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Pretty damn awesome idea.

itidus21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24am

Great idea. I like the way you get an actual game out of it rather than a message saying "your game has been shipped" or something similar.

Glitches aside, it's a very fast paced game and would be interesting as a player to try and make sense of the food and sleep and coffee elements.

The actual game itself is also quite good, and better than many similar games.

Pacaco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

Thanks for the comments guys :)
itidus21, did you debug the game? If not some strange things may happen, but keep in mind that they're on purpose :P

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Really great concept and execution. Ran (albeit slowly) under Wine 1.4 on Linux. Still playable and fun despite slow running.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Such a smart idea, fun to play!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Nice idea, the different games need some work though.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Haha! Funny. The instructions are a bit misleading, as they make it sound like you're going to be doing a lot of picking and choosing, when in reality you're just smashing the number keys and trying to click everything. And the full game you end up making isn't too bad, either. =)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35pm

...Even if it is a bit easy. Also, just tried not debugging it, funny.

Pacaco says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Eheh, yeah I think the "Game making" part could use some work so It doesn't end up in button mashing. Regarding the "Spaceship game", I didn't spend too much time balancing and tweaking it. As I see it, the fun is in trying different combinations of stuff and trying the final result.
Thanks for playing!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Wow great idea!! :D good job !

whiteravens says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Really awesome idea, one of my favorites :). Great work!!!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

I love this! My first 5-star rating this time around.

The game within the game would be really good by itself. But adding on that layer of building the different parts of the game is brilliant!

The only thing is that the game building aspect didn't have the strategic aspect that I thought it would have... probably at least in part b/c of the 10 second time limit. I ended up just clicking all the boxes while mashing 1,2,3 as fast as I could. That seemed to work. :)

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Nice idea. You turned a normal game into a very original and clever thing. Good job. :)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:41pm

VERY nice work. I love the idea and it was done perfectly. The sound was nice (if you invested enough points into it. Hahah) And this fit the theme very very well. Keep it up.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Really cool idea. I programmed a supercool game with it. In ten seconds and it even worked...

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Brilliant! I actually managed to make a fully playable game, but without sound and debug. The debug dialogs is a nice touch (if on purpose ;)

Oh btw I made something somewhat similar to your entry, I would be interested to know what you think about it :)

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:16am

Very meta :)

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Really nice concept!!! Nice work

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I really loved the idea. And the music and sound effects were amazing, I'd actually love to see where you make your sounds / get your sounds from. The execution was kind of poor. The beginning is just 123 mashing and clicking and then the game you "make" isn't very challenging or fun. Keep up the good work tho I loved how innovative it was!

Pacaco says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Yeah, the game ends up not being very fun when "making" the game, I definitely should have spent more time on it. I made all the game sounds in sfxr, I basically just clicked on randomise until I found sounds that suited their purpose.
Thanks for the support!

Towanime says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Ohh I love this idea! and very well excecution too, love the different results that you get depending on which areas you decided to improve.

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:11am

10 second crunch mode, frenetic, to say the least. :D

The game that got made was pretty fun too. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]