August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Phatstronaughts

by mr.possoms - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever wished you could be a seriously phat dude in space? If so Phatstronaughts is the game for you. With countless hours of scrambling for scrap included! But wait there's more! Play Phatstronaughts with your friends across the internet for added salvaging pleasure!

Aside from adhering to the theme, my only goal was to make something multiplayer. It's not exactly what I had planned on, but it was my first network multiplayer game.

Controls
Move - WADS

Goal
Pick up as much space junk as possible in 10 seconds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Lol - I had NO idea what was going on then, but it was fun ;) Wish there were more players!

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Haha, thanks alot man. Yeah it didn't end up being exactly what I had planned, but hey thanks for playing!

h_double says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Didn't work well for me in Firefox (couldn't see the player sprite, animation was slow/jerky), but it's a cool concept, kudos on trying something as ambitious as a multiplayer game!

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Ah, yeah... My apologies bud. I was only testing chrome as I wrote it. Thanks for trying it though!

deathray says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

waiting for players... :(

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

Not working on Mac with Chrome 29.0.1547.57, keeps saying "not ready" after my name in the lobby.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Well who doesnt want to be PHAT. I liked the idea of this game and found the graphics pretty cool!! I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The unfortunate "waiting for players" curse of multiplayer LD games. I'll come back again and see if I can try this.

Ninja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Woo multiplayer! High five!

mr.possoms says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Wow! Thanks alot everyone! Also, I just fixed a few bugs.

* FireFox users should now see their player :)
* Player name is more easily clickable in the lobby (for readying up)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]