August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dave's Marvelously Mediocre Game

by OddballDave - Jam Entry

Instructions
A game for 1-26 players. Click game window to give the game keyboard focus. Hold down any letter key for less than ten seconds. The person who holds down the key closest to ten seconds without going over wins.

Description
The game was made in only two hours as that is all I could spare to take part. All code and design is by me. Music and sound effects by someone else. Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#353Audio(Jam)2.61
#406Innovation(Jam)2.68
#540Overall(Jam)2.52
#559Fun(Jam)2.12
#567Graphics(Jam)2.08
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:08am

Hahah nice game Dave ;)

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I was thinking about something similar, but decided not to do it. I'm sure it wouldn't have been as good as yours.. ;)

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

What can I say? It was marvellously mediocre! :D

fullmontis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I'd love to have a 26 player match.

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Simple yet fun!

Laguna says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Nice Game! And for two hours even more impressive.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Nice idea but that's not very... fun! :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

:D

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

This is an interesting idea, and nice to see a same-screen multiplayer game! And with 26 players- so inclusive ha ha
My biggest criticism is that you write "Music and sound effects by someone else." - great that you admit it, but it would be super nice if you could properly credit your source :)

mboaj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Hi! I tried to press 4 keys on a Mac QAWS but it only recognizes the first two as I noted when answering your comment on my game, keyboards are rather primitive in this respect. 4 keys is typically the best all the keyboards can do :)

OddballDave says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

@Zap: You are entirely correct, I should credit the musician. I'll ask him his name and update :)

@mboaj: Yep, cheap keyboards aren't great at registering simultaneous presses. The game overcomes this by allowing players to take it in turn to play if your keyboard is cheap. This also means that you can have multiple tries if there are less than 26 players.

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:04am

Calls to mind The Price is Right, and a "game" I'd often play as a child of trying to stop a stopwatch at some exact number of seconds. Something that surprised me was that I found it hard to internally count down seconds because of the strong beat of the background music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]