August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nigeria: Live Fast Die Young

by TheDreik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a Nigerian who has no cash to return home and feed his family. With the help of email spam you have to earn $ 1,000 to fulfill your purpose.

Controls: Arrows and Z key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#24Humor3.97
#271Fun3.29
#281Audio3.03
#298Mood3.08
#359Innovation3.24
#428Overall3.18
#440Theme3.29
#705Graphics2.64

Comments

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

I really enjoyed the mood of this a lot, it was funny and well done, the music goes great with it too. I'm only confused about the part where you hide your info on the paper. Other than that it's really great and awesome to see this setting in a game.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

I got some smirks out of it :)

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25am

Hahahahaha So funny

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

This is so wrong. I loved it.
sublime/10

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Dotanukii, thanks for comment! To hide your info you need move your finger on part of paper with text while pressed Z key. You need to swipe your finger up and down the line so it has changed.
Sorry for not very good english.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Sorry, dangerous download warning on my browser on the .exe

Looks interesting though.

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30am

Hmm, I like the idea, but I somehow got stuck in a forging -> escape -> hospital-loop which send me to very, very negative money very soon. I'm not sure why my guy kept escaping from the police just after getting out of hospital, but overall, I couldn't get any money :/

Overall though, I like the idea you were going for.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

Pretty nice. Good audio and funny story. Keep it up.

DrunkenOrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

This is amazing and I love it, me and my friends are all enjoying this game.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

That was a fast paced game :-)

I really liked the music and the general idea of the subgames. But it gets repetitive really quickly.

By the way, I think the "document" minigame might be bugged: It seems that it did not reset every time I switched to it.

Thanks for the game!

Hint: write some blog posts during ludum dare! :-)

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28am

Good rhytm, good music.
I like it.
The car part, is really difficult, i end up in hospital every time x)

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Hilarious, especially the face remembering mini-game.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

YOU DON'T KNOW ME BUT I AM A CANADIAN PRINCE AND I HAVE ALL THESE RATINGS FOR YOU JUST WAITING IN A BANK ACCOUNT...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I had too much fun with this game. Now I feel guilty.

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01am

Too hardcore for me. Like the use of theme, though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:49am

so much fun! i laught a lot with this crazy game! good job!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:08am

loved it! mood 5/5!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice little game. I love it, and the hand drawn graphics! I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Great!

tokw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

dotanukii you need to move your finger on the name and hold z to rub it
also brilliant game love the iconic drawn graphics

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Couldn't seem to rub out the city. Kept dying in the car driving part. I went to the hospital over and over and over, heheh

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:49pm

This is so wrong but I had a good laugh xD
The running away with car part seems to happen a bit too fast. I had a difficulty trying to dodge. Other than that, it's pretty fun.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Damn, do I just suck or is the car driving part just hard? Also, I'm not sure why I kept coming across cops but what the hell, it was a fun game!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:49am

Funny. Not very polished, i think there is a bug and the face phase. But i like the graphics and the music.

epiplon says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:32am

Laughed hard, those are very comic faces.
Tip.: if you hide your name/city/age and then restart, the letters remains messed up. It's a bug.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]