August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

diGuide

by Mysterarts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey,
This is my fourth entry!
(Sorry in advance for my english)

===================================================================

You are a "Guide" on an asteroid with 10 workers who second you to dig the resources. (So basically, these are my 10 seconds ^^). Each resource has its use and the location of each man is critical if you want to survive and make a big score!

===================================================================

This time, I made a game less simple than usual...
And perhaps a bit too complicated to explain!
I tried to spend time on the tutorial, it is better than usual for me, but far from perfect. And tooooo long.

As always, there are a lot of balancing work to do to make the game more fun.

Technologies:
- HTML + CSS
- JS + Jquery (+ sfx.js)
- PHP (scores)

Software:
- Fraise
- Illustrator
- Garage Band
- cfxr

Thank you for reading and good luck with the tutorial if you try my little game ;)

Edit:

_____________///////////// .... About "all resources are gone" .... \\\\\\\\\\\\\\_____________

=> You have to put men where there is nothing to dig in order to find new resources!
(JUMP = FIND new resource)
Yeah, not very clear ^^'

_________________________________________________________________________

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#21Overall4.02
#30Innovation4.00
#35Graphics4.20
#95Audio3.47
#144Fun3.50
#186Mood3.30
#531Humor2.26
#536Theme3.20

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Lovely Puzzler!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Clever idea, impressive polish :D The rules were a bit difficult to grasp but once i was familiar with them it was pretty addictive, great job !

Kritvit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

It's very well made. :) I enjoyed it.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great concept, great looking game!

I'd have liked to hear more sfx, but the music was really soothing, good job on that!

I'd love to see this game polished up even more!

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Really nice. Well done :)

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Can't really figure out the concept, but it seems nice.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I enjoyed this puzzle game, it's very neat and addictive, I found the music relaxing too. Good job! :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Nice!

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Well done :) Graphics, music and gameplay really fit nicely together!

wine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Graphics, concept. I enjoyed it! Good work

YsenGrimm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nicely done with lovely graphics.

After a while no new resource fields are spawning, my astronauts had to die a slow death.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very clever game :) Would like to see more of it :D

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

A really neat game! I had a lot of fun with it and thank you very much for the explanation in the intro!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice puzzler, amazing crisp and clean graphics

rpmoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Love the design, beatiful colors, well made.
Don't get it though, after all the minerals are gone, nothing happens?
Like the interpretation of "second", thought about that one too :)
Thumbs up, lovely, just missing a level reset after your done...

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I loved the style, very posished. Seems pretty solid.

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Very nice, had a few times where I removed everything from the asteroid and didn't know what to do, but I figured it out :) Really cool game

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Love your art style beautiful clean and very well polished, Illustrator is a great tool. Your typography is inspirational.

Pixelgel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This is a very fun game overall. The only serious problems it has are that the "jumping" mechanic is poorly explained, and the attempt to connect with the theme is rather weak. After I figured out what was going on when my workers were jumping, I found the game definitely fun, and really wanted to get a fairly high score.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

Awesome puzzle game. Enjoyed it a lot.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

Great concept and excellent execution on every level (except maybe the theme). Kudos !

Yakka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Awesome puzzle. I think I had a bug (there was no more resources and I finally died of asphyxia T.T ). But the game is very clever, I liked it a lot.

Mysterarts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Hey, thanks everyone for your feedback :D

- There is a level reset, a little bit hidden: click anywhere in the leaderboard ;)
- Yeah, more sfx, you're right.
- The theme is fully respected ^^ There are 10 "seconds": the 10 workers with you, who second you... nop? :p

======= About "all resource are gone" =======
Not sure if it's a bug or if you didn't understand the "jumping" mechanic (poorly explained, you're right Pixelgel ^^).
=> You have to put men where there is nothing to dig in order to find new resources!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Impressive! Beautiful, polished, original. Waow.

Meedoc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Really nice entry! Actually I loved everything (well, except the audio which could be better =)

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Fantastic execution. Very chilling experience

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

Awesome mechanics! And awesome game overall!
It might need a bit of balancing but it's alreay really fun to play! Congratulations!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Very great game, and perfectly made. Addictive and even more with the highscores. I'll play it again. One of the best i tried so far.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Wow! This is really great, guys. Incredible game! I want to buy a mobile version.

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I love your graphical design! The game is enjoyable, it has great pace, and the music contributes to that.

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very good game. The only negative thing is the importance of randomness, very frustrating.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:51am

Nice idea and well made :).

gravyhands says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Very cool game, it seems like there's a lot of depth possible with that. It may have been the first game in the compo that I tried to master and completely failed at.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]