August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Square Of Space And Time

by PTSnoop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Square Of Space And Time is a time-travel turn-based strategy game, about an area of spacetime three lightseconds across and ten seconds long.

You control the red spaceships. Left click to select, right click to move nearby or attack a yellow spaceship.

The End Turn button submits one second of time. The slider at the bottom of the screen scrolls through the time available - you can travel back and change your instructions.

You can also send surviving units back into the past to help alongside their former selves. Select a unit, click Time Jump, scroll into the past and click Confirm.

Rotate the camera with the middle mouse button, zoom with mouse wheel, pan with arrow keys.

And be aware that this game is still very very buggy. Spaceships may be visible but not clickable, lasers may be fired from timelines that don't happen any more, entire futures may glitch out and vanish entirely. With the 48 hour deadline looming, I've decided to chalk most of these up to time travel just being generally wibbly-wobbly and prone to causing problems with causality. Be forewarned. Sometimes scrolling the time scrollbar around helps neaten things out.

No explicit win condition as such. If you destroy all the yellow spaceships, you can consider yourself to have "won", but the game won't end - you can keep sending spaceships back into the past to cement your victory further, if you so wish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#148Innovation3.63
#343Audio2.92
#435Overall3.17
#440Theme3.29
#442Graphics3.07
#508Mood2.79
#795Fun2.65
#819Humor1.80

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46am

PTSnoop, you're a monster. I like it. All of that's great. Won 4 to 0 by 4th turn :D

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

That was a really good game. Had a great time playing it. It would be interesting to add qtuff on thids game later as units and things like that. Good job!

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cool game, but the KI didnt quite manage to kill me

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

Interesting gameplay, if further explored it could make for an interesting turn based strategy game. Even in battles you could never win, you can still have survivors which can go back in time and help their previous selves to eventually win the battle.

Amazing, simply amazing.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Actually pretty addictive. Nice. :D

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

I love the simple graphic style. Great idea btw!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21am

Wow this is really fun & cool! Really like being able to scroll through the moves. Nice work.

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Cool idea!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Simple gameplay mecanics, good strategic game idea. Really like the take on the theme, cool atmosphere due to music (and space). Really enjoyed it overall.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I won. Nice concept, well implemented. It's a shame you didn't have time to put the final polish in.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

thankss for your comment PTsnoop!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

Cool idea. I'm a sucker for time travel stuff. xD

apaneske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Like the idea and the execution :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

You need to recompile your web build without the context menu. I can't right click.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:08pm

A nice strategic game that would benefit alot from a little information popup at the start or during the turns :)

Metatheos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Really interesting idea, but I found it really hard to follow the action due to a lack of continuity (feels almost like I missed something and it's actually there).

Also please open ASquareOfTimeAndSpace.html in any text-editor and change line 20 to 'params: { enableDebugging:"0", disableContextMenu:true }' (it disables the right-click-menu).

PTSnoop says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Thanks for the comments, everyone!

And thanks for letting me know about the right click thing, porglezomp and Metatheos. I've made Metatheos's fix, so that shouldn't be a problem any longer. :)

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:39am

Interesting gameplay. It's hard to understand, I probably still don't completely get it, but I like the timejump idea. Good job on your game :)

tamat says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:22am

Interesting concept, visualy look similar to mine but yours has much more polished gameplay

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Very innovative! The graphics and music were nice.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very neat idea. I didn't notice at first that the lasers travel over time, which is pretty cool.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

This looks extremely well polished, and could be an interesting strategy game mechanic, but it's very confusing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]