August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

NXTWPN10

by graebor - Jam Entry

Controls:
WASD/arrows to move
Mouse to aim and shoot (hold to shoot continuously)

Rounds last 10 seconds. You get a random weapon every round. Clear the enemies before the timer runs out to convert any remaining time into healing, or just try to survive the whole 10 seconds. Bonuses are given for going an entire round without shooting, or without taking any damage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.41
Fun(Jam)4.20
#10Mood(Jam)4.17
#11Audio(Jam)4.10
#17Innovation(Jam)3.93
#23Graphics(Jam)4.55
#54Theme(Jam)3.69
#174Humor(Jam)2.87
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I always loved arcade shooters. :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Christ, the distortion effects are brain-melting, especially when you get a weapon you haven't seen before. Love the colourscheme, too.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Confusing in a good way.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

I saw this on twitter way before it appeared here and it was a bit awkward since, apparentely, we had the same idea, or very close I'd say. But this is my favorite game this LD so far, except for the squeezed display that messed with my eyes a little bit. But I really loved this. Great work!

CoOz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

Brilliant.
I love the music, the rythm, the gameplay.. stars for you guys, good job

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

very retro.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

I love every single thing about this. Fun music, cool bullet types, awesome visuals.

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

Great game with amazing graphics and very cool distortion effects. Don't really have anything negative to say about this game.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

I felt very anxious playing this. In a good way. I acted like everything was trying to kill me. Including me. Art style it's awesome!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

Excellent graphics and addicting gameplay. Good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38am

Super nice. So many weapon types. Such good music. Splendid. Some more congratulatory sentences that start with S. :)

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

I love the ambiance and the powerful weapons (like pulse beam ). The music is nice, sounds are cool, visually it's very good; this game is full, various fun and addictive, this game is perfect. I could play it for hours.
I'm wondering how the bending effects are made because it's awesome.

graebor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

For those wondering, the look is achieved by using solid colour unlit materials (I made a quick solid colour shader in strumpy), and some Unity image effects: Glow, Vignette (for chromatic aberration), and Fisheye (used with a negative value for x and no distortion on y). The text and anything un-distorted is rendered on top using a second camera. Thanks for all the feedback! :)

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

nice style great effects. fast paced and fun. I really liked it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:19am

The aesthetic is amazing and the dynamic gameplay is quite engaging and enjoyable. I iked it a lot, especially the ultra cute visuals.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Excitement! A little like Entropy where you're constantly dealing with randomly assigned elements. A lot of fun - with some interesting weapons!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Wow those effects. i really Wish you can share the source *_* Well done!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

gameplay, graphics, music, all visual effects, concept -- all fantastic. gets a little repetitive over the long run, but who cares.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:06am

I love the lens distortion. Really fun too.

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:26am

Awesome shooter very well made! Good job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:44pm

WOW ! VERY GOOD MY FRIEND! Love it, everything. Perfect.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

grats on the win :)

Chaoseed says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 12:34am

I like this a lot. I like the arcade graphics and the variety of weapons; I played it for 10 minutes and I was still getting new types--Tron? Ram? Very imaginative. I also like how some of the weapons were better for certain enemies. The only thing I didn't like was the distortion, it often made it really hard to tell where to shoot, especially with something like Sideways. I mean, the effect is kinda cool, no question, but was it really worth the aggravation it causes the player?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]