August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

7Tulips

by raarlac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal is simple: collect 7 tulips is less than 10 seconds. But it's not that easy...
Get into the 5 game loop and carry all your power through each game: The more you do good on the previous level, the easiest the next level will be.
Will you be able to handle all the power to collect them all?

------------------------------------------------------------------------

My main goal was to make a game which each level would be a different game genre, but I found more interesting to explore the connection between the levels.
You can also play my previous entries on LD on my page :)

------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE:
I posted a build for Windows and OSX, but I didn't test the OSX version so I recommend playing it on Web

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Audio3.47
#136Theme3.69
#136Innovation3.65
#219Mood3.25
#224Overall3.43
#278Humor2.78
#313Graphics3.31
#439Fun3.06
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58am

This game is absolutely great! So much replayability! I love how all the minigames come together to make one awesome experience. Very creative and well done!

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07am

Lots of variety and I like how it alternates to different minigames to keep things interesting. Good job!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19am

Oh wow, the concept is very simple and some of the themes could be improved, but I found myself stuck in that loop for lick 15 minutes! oddly addictive...

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24am

Great idea for a jam game.I like the idea of trying to explore as many different ideas as possible, end result was really interesting!

Tankenstein says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38am

I like this, the integration between the minigames feels good.

US_of_Alaska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43am

The 10 second rotation is really interesting, and i think it's something worth continuing to explore. Unfortunately i feel a lot is lost in translation for what was put into this game.

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54am

the road mood reminds me of David Lynch movies... creepy

I have an issue, I can not read texts. Probably it's a font issue. I'm on MacOSX and I play with Chrome.

Nice concept !

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00am

I really like how connected the minigames are. I also think the soundtrack is pretty good. It is pretty hard to complete the minigames.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

Do you happen to have a standalone version? Linux has no Unity Web Player, and I can at least open standalone Unity games with Wine... Looks interesting, too. :(

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very neat concept! I think the minigames could use a little more balance, but I may just not be good enough.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

The connection between the minigames is awesome. The minigames themselves are a bit tricky thought. Very nice menu graphics too.

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Amazing work, I'll never figure out how people do so much work in 48 hours. The only part I didn't like was the driving because it seemed like more speed actually made things harder instead of easier.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

Surprised you could get all that done in 48h. Nice job!!! I like the rotation and how it all flows into each other. Really looks nice too.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Good sound and impressive variety in the minigames! I found that there wasn't much skill involved in the minigames; memorizing answers to the dating games seems to be the only way to play the game better.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

This is a fun idea. I find it compelling to imagine elaborating this further to make it tell a story using the relationships between seemingly disconnected worlds.

ToxicHen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

An Amazing game, loved how you had to rush in one minigame to get the object for another.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Liked the way you linked the levels together but found the game a bit too difficult.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

Wow, so feeling that make a single game in 48 hours was too small a challenge, raarlac decided to make FIVE games in 48 hours. Unbelievable. Fantastic.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

very fun, I liked how things earned in previous levels carried through. Pretty cool :)

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

Good variety and I like the fact the scoring good in a game helps the next, other than that I can't say I enjoyed it too much. Everything changes too abruptly, especially the music.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54am

Loved your game, very addictive !

Also, in the car minigame I get out from the road, there should be a collision problem o_o

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

Great game with new idea i havn't seen before very creative

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27am

I really liked this game - the idea and execution was really nice. I would love, though, to have an option of muting the sound ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

I like the music! Moody :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40am

Great use of the 10 seconds theme. Music is awesome, and I love the connectivity of the levels. Nice work :)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Very well made Game :D I like that it alternates between different minigames, and that each minigame is connected to the next one

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56am

A strange idea, i like it.

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

Cool, "Out There" and a lot of fun, highly playable!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Took me a while to understand the goal^^
Crosshair for the gun-part would be nice. Aiming is rather hard that way. Oh, and, I wasted one "Tulip" game because my rabbit was running in a circle around it. Bad timing I guess^^

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Brilliant idea, very creative. Just keep building up and up and up, this gives it some pacing issues but even when I was stuck I kept saying "right, just one more cycle" over and over.

Graphics jump from clean and well fitting to a bit rough and confusing, but sold on sheer innovation and addictiveness.

Hoytman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

This game offer a very interesting feeling of accumulation. It does a great job of establishing a sense of urgency without annoying the player with a sense of loss.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Looks awesome, good game!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice work!

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I really like this. The tonal shifts from sequence to sequence make for a really intriguing contrast. I really enjoyed the car / carrothead interplay, and the jumping. Title screen is lovely too.

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Liked the soundtrack, and those minigames were just great!

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very interesting exploration. To have come up with so many min games in a short while is mind-blowing. The driving and shooting are exasperating to play at times though, especially when u turn around and end up aiming outside the screen.

jrbitt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Sorry but I think the game very confused :-(

Makdaam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Can you also compile it for linux? The web player for unity doesn't work on linux.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

This game can be best described as addictive. Wow, where do I begin? The rotation of constantly trying to outdo yourself so that you can do better in the next minigame is simple, but incredibly well done here. Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

A fun collection of minigames. Took a while to understand what was going on and I didn't progress much, but I think you deserve extra credit for making so many different games over a weekend!

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Awesome game, used the concept of 10 seconds very well but the mixture of game plays is very confusing at first, and you take some time to understand that what you do in a game helps you in the other.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I did like the game, though the mini games could be a bit more refined, however great job for 48 hours!! Love the idea of many different little games that switch between each other :)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Weirdly brilliant. Great music.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

As awesome as this game is (and I mean it), I ragequitted because I was not able to aim correctly without mousecapture (also, the car minigame is partially based on unbiasable luck, which I despise).
Despite that, I almost spent an hour on it, and I now know that charming lady much more than most of my friends (which is kind of sad, I guess. Oh well, games).

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Really interesting idea and amazing how much you have gotten in in the time. Think the individual mini games were pretty hard tho :)

rpmoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I love the idea the different songs, but I couldn't grasp the concept of some game modes...

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Looks great and has a very polished feel. Good job :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I've not rated this yet. I need to play it more. But I think I would have given up already if it wasn't for the great reviews in the comments. I mean graphically it's great and there is so much style and polish, it's extreamly impressive that you could do all this in such a short time frame, however, most of the games I can't figure out what I'm suppored to do at all.

The first one is straight foward. The dating one is funny and I guess I just have to memorize the answers. I liked the driving one. Seeing it from both views was really cool. I don't understand the platform game at all. I couldn't see any tulips. I don't understand the shooter one either. It only lets me shoot once, and again no sign of any tulips.

Still you will get 5 out 5 from me for innovation.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

This was trippy. Had a little trouble figuring out controls on each game, but all in all, you made like..... 4 games in 48 hours. Amazing.

euvl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

Cute

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Good idea but it's too had figure out the connections between the gameplays.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]