August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Red alert

by graytest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Arrow keys or WASD to move.
Mouse to aim.
Left mouse button to shoot.

Goal:
Collect as much gold as possible.
Kill (or at least avoid being killed by) zombies

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#516Fun2.97
#528Mood2.76
#587Innovation2.91
#629Audio2.41
#738Overall2.88
#857Graphics2.38
#927Humor1.53
#959Theme2.65

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Neat little concept. I like the music as well. It is a bit too easy...until you get killed by a moving block.

It could us ea reload button. The relationship to the theme is tenuous at best.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

nice!

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52am

Not a valid Win32 application, it seems. Shame.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I found that I spent most of my time in the game trapped by the blocks.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Good music and it was kinda fun, I like the implementation of '10 seconds', the moving walls were cool!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Cool concept. Well Implemented. Good Job!

arcticleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

good job, fun game

TomboFry says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Brilliant concept, never seen anything like it so far. However sometimes a zombie spawned on top of me and I lost :c

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Cool idea with the moving walls. I thought the zombies didn't feel like a threat. I think it would be really fun to take this idea and make it into a multiplayer game, replacing the zombies with people.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Damn Walls! Only problem: sometimes I die with no zombie nearby neither walls...

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I liked it! Those walls can be dang brutal though - good thing they warn in advance when they'll be moving.

NiallM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I like this a lot. It gets really tense when the timer's ticking down and you're waiting for a wall to move so you can grab a coin to reset it :)

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:46pm

A pretty smooth game. There seems to be something wrong with the rendering of the surrounding tiles. The player seems to slip under the tiles and blocks don't appear when I can collide with them. The audio is ok but I think the font is pretty hard to read.

The use of the theme is pretty nice, leads to good pacing. The controls are very nice to use.

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

The concept is good, even if spending a lot of time trapped inside walls can be a little annoying. But I had fun (and I liked the music)!
Also, naming the player instead of taking the current time for the highscore board would be a plus.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:03am

Bullet trails would make it look better, I think.
Very nice mechanics. Good challenge trying to avoid getting crushed by walls.
Nice work!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Having the walls constantly shift around was a cool mechanic. It made the game more frantic as you run around shooting zombies and collection coins. The music did start to get pretty repetitive after a short amount of time.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:17am

Not sure why, but Avira thinks this game is a virus and won't let me run it.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:50am

Good work :) Amazing moving walls !

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice game. :)

The concept of an ever changing stage was interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]