August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds of Hell

by Spotline - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*TRY SURVIVING TO THE HELL WAVE*

(WARNING: If you are a photosensitive epileptic, maybe you shouldn't play this game.)

'10 seconds of Hell' is a hardcore survival FPS where you have to alternatively explore a generated cave for supplies and try to survive 'Hell Waves' that last 10 secs where giant white marbles attack you.

What I wanted to achieve is to make the player both impressed and scared by the Hell waves, so I tried to make gameplay, graphics and sound converge to this feeling.

Audio is a big part of this game, so please turn your headphones or speakers on :D


Classic FPS Controls :
WASD or Arrow keys to move around
Ctrl to crouch
Space to jump
Mouse to look & shoot


(Everything made in ~33h)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Audio3.69
#88Graphics3.92
#193Mood3.29
#529Overall3.08
#726Innovation2.75
#879Humor1.68
#921Fun2.46
#1003Theme2.57

Comments

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

i liked the game, but its a bit confusing.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13am

One of the best graphics and audio I've seen so far in this LD ;)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

Interesting design. Not sure what happens when you're low on health, however. It seems like the avatar collapses, but you start moving laterally instead of forwards, then. I also seemed to get a small area of play the first time around. Three or four rooms connected by a couple of 'corridors', and not much else.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

Not bad, I like the idea, but It's quite confusing some times... I also suck at FPS xD

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Not really sure what was happening, but it looked really pretty!

JokerDen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Does not get it at all but sound is just awesome.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Unique graphics, smooth and nice (not recommanded for epileptic I guess). 10 seconds of Hell have a real nice atmosphere.

JoeCool17 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

I didn't like the crouching, felt weird and probably would've played well without it. Also the camera felt less like it was a FPV camera and more like it was orbiting around a point- not sure if this is intentional but it threw me off a lot.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47am

Awesome graphics and sounds. I like the idea of auto-generated crystal maze - it makes the environment unique (even comparing to similar 3d games)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52am

This game was... different. The graphics were really great. I managed to survive until Wave 5 - I have no idea if that is good or not. The game was confusing at first, but after some time, I got used to the weirdness.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

Thx everyone :)

@Mekuri : Wave 5 is a great score :D (but difficulty is a bit random so maybe you had luck)

Harrowing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Awesome graphics!
Source link doesn't work :(

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Oh ! Indeed it seems i deleted it when uploading the windows port.... it'll be back in 30mn max !

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

... actually I can't upload it right now (I'm at work and my internet is limited) Tonight i'll put it back online, sorry for that

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice ambiance (cristals and sounds), but I regret the almost empty caves.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Awesome Visual!

leparlon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great audio! Congrats on the game.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Really interesting graphic style!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Je comprends pas grande chose, mais c'est chouette quand même ^^ La musique est génial !

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Lags a lot on my mac.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Love the graphical style, great game

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

The sound is great, but as for the gameplay... I don't know what's happening most of the time, or how am I influencing anything. Even when shooting there's no feedback if I hit something or not.

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Whoa. Drugs are bad man :D. Got killed by marbles... Crazy shit.

Pol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

I dang this aesthetic ! I didn't even properly read the explanations at my first play, so it was even more impressive as I tried to guess what I was supposed to do... And flipped out when the enemies showed up. The light they emit is just perfect.
However, you should lock the cursor to avoid it to go outside of the game viewport on the web version of the game.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

I keep getting a black screen... Stupid Intel HD card :(

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Really great audio - sold the mood perfectly. Pretty trippy visuals to - nice job!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

The web player doesn't work on linux, please release a linux binary!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I really like the mood shifting during the wave, even if I always ended up crawling on the floor right after xD

1fir3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Wow ! How you achieved such fantastic graphics ?! Game is more loolk like art installation :)

Spotline says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40am

Thanks for your comments :)
@josefnpat : Linux build is now online !
@1fir3 : it's a custom shader, it's based on the Grayscale effect, but applied to a material. Basically instead of giving a color to your material you give it a color scale. So in the game the scale goes from indigo-bluish when there's little light to red-orange when the marbles illuminate the cave.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22pm

wowowowowow culurz everywhere D8
Luv it

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I love the responsive audio and the way it plays together with the graphics and game.

Not a big fan of the claustrophobic, confusing feel though.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:03pm

i found the mouse sensitivity way too high and with the lights flashing should have a epilepsy warning

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Wave 5 and died but had fun! Audio made it and the visuals were nice.

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

An amazing spin on a FPS game, you feel terrified all the time thank to the style, random levels is a huge +

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

The presentation of this is pretty phenomenal considering the time limit. The audio and visuals were just fantastic. Starting a wave and having the colors in the crystals shift along with the music is really well pulled off.

Now, that said, the gameplay suffers quite a lot. I didn't find the "shooting" mechanic enjoyable at all and found it very difficult to hit the white orbs. The character also takes quite a bit of damage all considering and this leads to having more noticeable redundancy in the game.

This is easily one of the most visually striking games I've played thus far on Ludum Dare, but actually playing the game? It's very forgettable gameplay and feels like it was forced into the game because it's supposed to be a game. Personally I would have almost preferred just removing that aspect and keeping the game more abstract so you could focus purely on what you did well... the visual/audio experience.

Oh, and I didn't really see the theme in this one either. Ten second intervals for the waves I assume?

Overall, it provides a super rich atmosphere and pure visual spectacle considering it's a 48 hour entry. But it falls flat because of the uninteresting gameplay. Good job though, deserves attention for the visuals alone.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:17am

Looked great but wasn't really sure what was happening or what to shoot.

Spotline says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:38am

Hi everyone thanks for your feedback !

@hoqjed : I know the gameplay is flawed, but I assure you it's not forced into the game. What I wanted to achieve is to make the player both impressed and scared by the Hell waves, so I tried to make gameplay, graphics and sound converge to this feeling.

As for the theme, every Wave is really 10 seconds of hell (it lasts 10 sec)

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:33pm

The crouch key seemed to stick, and I wasn't exactly sure how to avoid the waves, but the graphics and audio were sweet and it was a cool idea, nice work!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Huummm ... Beautiful game, but I'v lost my eyes ^^
Mouse sensitivity is really too high ;)
But color effects are really impressive.

laaph says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:30am

I am entirely unclear on what I was supposed to do in this game.

Codexus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Interesting look but way too confusing.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:22pm

@1fir3 : it's a custom shader, it's based on the Grayscale effect, but applied to a material. Basically instead of giving a color to your material you give it a color scale. So in the game the scale goes from indigo-bluish when there's little light to red-orange when the marbles illuminate the cave

Thanks, will try that trick :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]