August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Train Robbery

by moomoo112 - Jam Entry

Rob a Train!

The game consists of phase-based movement.
#Each phase (Planning & Performing) lasts 10 seconds!
#Click on a robber to bring up an action menu
#Click and drag from an action to where the event should be performed
-Rob & Hostage need to be over a passenger
-Walk does not need to be level with the robbers
-Crouch does nothing
#Tie up or kill all the conductors on the train to win the level.
#Rob passengers for gold. VIP (in yellow cars) give a bonus if tied up at the end of the level.
#Hire more men to take on longer trains

Sorry for the lack of an in-game tutorial.

After some trouble with the compiler a web version of the compo-game is available.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#69Innovation(Jam)3.59
#125Theme(Jam)3.47
#125Audio(Jam)3.35
#176Mood(Jam)3.23
#183Graphics(Jam)3.67
#201Overall(Jam)3.31
#210Humor(Jam)2.76
#318Fun(Jam)2.87

Comments

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00am

Nice gameplay ! Very interesting that's a good idea and excellent use of the 10 seconds theme. I like the art too ! Good job !

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43am

Nice idea. Loved the graphics. I had trouble being patient with having to wait for so long, but I just finished playing a few faster paced shmups, so I'm sure it's just me. :)

Nice job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Very nice game! Simple but quite fun!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:17am

Amazing game + super original idea! Old silent movie music was perfect!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:10am

nice game -- not really my style tho -- hi points for theme graphics and music

nikkesen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24am

Found the mechanics a little clunky. The art was good.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:25am

That was pretty awesome!! Loved the graphics, use of the theme, and the game was overall well made!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

Nice art, theme usage is fine as far as the performing action phase, but not so much the planning phase since the interface was not exactly forgiving.

Also noticed that if you adjust the size of the window, then you can no longer properly click on anything; the mouse position detection seems to get offset.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Thanks for the ups, the art and music were probably the best flowing parts of this compo
and Khao, I know, the whole sizing mechanics aren't there and I forgot to restrict them

Oana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:59pm

It unfortunately crashed on me but I got to see enough of it to know I LOVE this entry! One of the most interesting ideas I've played so far.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Very interesting idea although the game has a few bugs in it (not scrolling and then continuously scrolling)that take away from the overall experience of the game. Other then that this game has beautiful graphics, intriguing game play, the best audio I have seen so far and a ton of potential.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:34pm

The art is really good and the music helps setting the mood. It was kinda hard to give order to two chars under 10 seconds, but I like the idea.

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:17am

Tracking down those scrolling bugs was a pain because they rarely happen, and then I can't identify why after trying a fix, so all I can say for now is sorry, same for the crash.
And I know giving a lot of orders in 10 seconds is tricky, but after playing with that setup I found it a nice pace to keep you constantly prioritizing what needs to be done.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

I love it! The only problem I have with the game is that it froze when I got to the third car. :( Running Mac OSX, and I had to force quit the program.

koe415 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:44am

Art and audio are top notch! The 10 second plan and action phases work pretty well. I'm not too sure about the actual plan phase though. It seems a little clunky to me but it was still fun! Nice work!

noom says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:07am

I might just be too sleepy but I can't figure out how to get this to run. Looks great though I really want to play!

phi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:13am

A tutorial would have been nice, indeed. Has a lot of potential. Good job!

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:02am

Incredible idea, nice graphics and audio! But it's hard to control with a trackpad. I think this interface combined with the time pressure would be nice for touch screens. Unfortunately the game stopped suddenly, so I couldn't win.

trylle says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:25am

I have to agree with others that a time limit on planning is problematic given the UI. Seems a bit hamfisted for extra usage of the theme. Other than that (and a crash), pretty cool game.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Love the concept! I would like to see this expanded :) I never could get all three guys to do something, they mostly did nothing when it was their turn. It seemed to take too many clicks to put in a move, like Move could have been reduced to just click guy and then direction. A better control scheme would really improve this. Something like this?:
Move: Click robber, drag to destination
Shoot: Click gun, drag to target
Rob: Why wouldn't you rob? Maybe rob when touching victim?
Hostage: Click rope, click or drag to target person (you would need to add a rope icon on waist).
Cover: Not sure what this is for?

I played for a little while, some guys came shooting at me, and a few seconds later it just closed itself :/
Anyway, love what you've got so far! :D

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great idea. Loved the style and the music. The gameplay was very original.

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Hate to hear it crashed, love to hear you liked it, well what it could be.
And I plan on developing this further with a Much better planning/control scheme based on the feedback here.
I certainly need to allow myself more time to debug next round.

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Nice work!! The graphics and music is awesome! The gameplay is innovative but there are some annoying little things like robbers tend to stand at the same spot so in the planning phase I can only select one of them. Also if there are dialogs pop up when they rob people then it will be more fantastic.

murilo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Interesting gameplay. But it requires some patience! hehe The music fit really well! And I love the simple art! Great job, man!

jujule says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

Haha, real good, graphics, sound and gameplay wise. Maybe you should scale the graphics up. It was quite difficult to properly click on each robber, especially when they were really close to each other.
Note : the game froze a few times.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:30am

Loved the idea. Perhaps the whole "click -> menu -> select option-> modify action vector" could be simplified and made clearer with some visual confirmation (that the action was selected for instance). The game crashed on me when I was playing. It was fun while it lasted though. A lovely entry indeed. Had fun playing it. Kudos!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:31am

Btw, loved the art and the music as well!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:20pm

I really love the aesthetic, but I found the actions a bit opaque & frustrating. I think this game could be awesome without the 10 seconds theme (and also with a more alive environment).

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Love the music. The controlling of your crew took some time to get used to. One of the most original games though :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]