August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lost in Dimensions

by intripoon - Jam Entry

Lost in Dimensions is an action game with puzzle elements.

The world is ripped apart in several Dimensions and you jump between them every 10 seconds.

I used emscripten which is pretty cool because I so much prefer C++ over javascript and emscripten makes it run in browsers anyways.

The Web version should work in modern browsers supporting WebGL. I tried it in Firefox and Chrome - it runs a bit more fluent on Firefox. I noticed that on XP with older graphics drivers, those browsers disable WebGL. So if you are on XP and have old drivers, either update them or download the native compiled version. Also if your pc is very slow, the native version probably runs faster. You need the VC runtimes for the native version though: http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=30679 . Other native games an programs need them too, so chances are, they are already installed on your pc.

I originally planned to make this a compo entry, but on saturday evening a friend of mine came by and wanted to see what it's all about. So she ended up with drawing a few graphics and so it's a jam entry now.

I fear the game might be a bit hard. So here is a Cheat: You can skip to the next level with 'j'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#163Theme(Jam)3.39
#177Innovation(Jam)3.24
#240Overall(Jam)3.22
#314Fun(Jam)2.88
#369Audio(Jam)2.57
#378Humor(Jam)2.06
#378Mood(Jam)2.67
#480Graphics(Jam)2.59

Comments

Pebsie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05am

Pretty nice although the movement was pretty awkward at points.

Hexicube says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32am

Looks like an interesting concept, though I got stuck on the second bit where you need to move crates through the portal thing. I seemed to not be able to get back out of the room.

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

It's a pretty good idea, and fun, too, but the instructions aren't very clear, and things were confusing

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

I seem to have encountered the same bug Hexicube had. Skipped the level with the cheat and the rest of the game was pretty cool.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Couldn't run, it writes that can't found "MSVCR110.dll" or whatever.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice game, didn't really see how this has to do with the theme though...

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

I just woke up. Thx for the comments. :)

@Katamori: For the native version, you need this: http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=30679

@nitrocrime: You jump between the dimensions every 10 seconds. Is it possible to miss that?

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I kept getting stuck in the room with the four orange bits, I suspect I was supposed to warp out of it after 10 seconds but it never happend :(

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice game, original idea!

Omnus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Tough, but interesting level design!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Pretty nice. Also a bit confusing. Sometimes it felt a bit unfair when you switch dimensions and immediately fall into a hole.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Was a tad confused when I first started playing but after I got the hang of It I couldn't stop :D well done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

This game was a bit confusing at first, and sometimes it takes me a few tries to understand exactly what I need to do for each level, but I do like the game, and I like the use of the theme!

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Really confusing! But in kind of a good way :) Liked the fast pace, but as mentioned it left me confused some times, and i had to use the J key.
I also liked how the sound track shifted between dimensions.
So yeah, pretty hectic game, but also quite entertaining.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

A excellent game, although rather unforgiving (I mean c'mon, I totally did not fell into that hole !).
However, you may want to mention that those holes are actually the gates to leave dimensions : your advice about "bad things" made me think it was some kind of poisonous stuff I did not want to touch ...

Vavassor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Pretty good game. I liked having to figure out what is going on in the room quickly before the next shift. I didn't get at first that it would eventually stop shifting, so I just kinda sat around waiting before realizing it was more than 10 seconds and I needed to restart the level. Nice overall, though

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Good game :D

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice game!, having to wait 10 seconds sometimes is a bit boring, nice job! I like the concept, pretty cool

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Well done, nice game!
Lava and monsters are cool mecanisms.
A bit hard though, yes.
Also, good to see another emscripten entry :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

@Jupiter_Hadley: Oh cool, a video of my game :O

@anmorales: I hated that as well. I tried adding a button so you Switch dimensions earlier, but that took the uncertainty of when it will happen away. So in most cases, that was bad, only for the few waiting cases it was good. So I removed that key again.

kidanger: I saw yours, too. You posted in the #emscripten irc channel. More people should use it. It's just awesome! :D

neekobus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I found interesting the multiple level-puzzle with dimension switch.
Sometimes the dimension does not change. It is a bug ?

I don't like the levels with enemies and this is a bit difficult !

intripoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

neekobus: It's not a bug. There are sets of dimensions forming a level. So a level consists of 3 dimensions for example. You switch between them every 10 seconds. As soon as you finish one dimension, you only switch between the last 2. If there is only one dimension left, no switching occurs anymore until you finish the last one and get to the next level which again consists of multiple dimensions.

The finish state of the dimensions of the current level is display at the bottom of your screen. There is one square for each dimension of the current level. A green square indicates a finished dimension. A blue square indicates an unfinished dimension.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]