August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Ninja

by Clurect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click around the screen to guide the ninja. When you have clicked a path out click the door to execute moves. Entering the enemies' sight triangle will kill you; you'll have to strike from behind! Be quick because you have 10 seconds to decided your path!
Note: takes a while to start up, not sure why.
Update due to comments: The game acts buggy and I am not sure why; it is a 7z compressed folder, you'll need to extract it; collisions are buggy so you'll need to click almost directly behind the enemy to not die.
Update 2: Hosted now, works fine for me, hope it will for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#981Humor1.13
#1064Theme2.43
#1080Mood1.40
#1095Innovation2.07
#1153Graphics1.68
#1189Fun1.48
#1205Overall1.57

Comments

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

I couldn't get it to run (I'm using windows 7). Also, the web build looks like it's just a dropbox file?

mnill says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

I couldn't get it to run :-( win8 chrome.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

How long did you wait for it to load? For some reason it takes a while. Yes the web build is just a dropbox file because I didn't know where to host the actual game and it is a web game. Being my first LD that I submitted a game I am not sure about some of these things.

Pysis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I was able to run it. All of the built links go to the same file. It's a web game so it should work on all Operating Sytems and web browsers.
I opened it with 7zip, extracted somewhere, and ran the html page. Make sure you're able to open the archive, try not to run it from inside the archive, and run the html file, allowing permission for local storage if that pops up.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

You could host the web page on dropbox with a public folder, I think the '.7z' is confusing people.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

You should put running instructions on the page, that is not at all intuitive.

I'm also not clear on what the goal is. Touching the ghosts from behind just seems to kill me, and touching the door does nothing. I like the actual concept, reminds me of Frozen Synapse.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Didn't work in Chrome or IE under windows 8 -- all I got was two arrows, a timer, and a message saying I died. perhaps the graphics weren't loading? can you put it up on amazon s3 or something?

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

On Windows 7, got it to work with Firefox 23.0.1 and Chrome 29 ; it crashed IE8, though I guess that does not mean much.
As previsouly said, providing more instruction would be nice. I initially thought you had to go to the door without being seen (because ninja), which lead me to be confused when my character reached the door and stopped moving.
Also, is there a way to retry without reloading the page ?

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I tried hosting it on dropbox and everything started flashing really badly. I might try amazon or something else later. I worked on a replay button, but I ran out of time; LimeJS made it a little confusing on how to restart.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Also I am new at game making and only got bounding box collisions to work, which is why if you are not precise you can get killed when going in from behind. Thanks for all the comments!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Not bad as for first steps in game development! Keep it up! (Browser: Opera 12.16)

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

Haha, it ran fine for me. It's got an interesting concept, but it's also lacking in depth and polish.

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Good idea. I would have liked other levels.

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:13am

I would have liked other levels too :D, but I didn't get to it :/

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I have a hard time to understand how to control the ninja. It seems to move sometimes more or less randomly.

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Nice idea, but could use some ploish. For example marking the route points Ive chosen.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Reminds me of Yoshi's Fruit Cart a bit. Not bad! A "restart" button for when you lose would be nice to have.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Not so bad ! It just miss a restart button like Darien said

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Not bad. It took me some time to figure out how to play, but other than that. Would've liked more levels, and a restart button.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]