August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Snap Encounters

by Spiridios - Jam Entry

You play an adventurer who must go through 10 encounters. Each encounter lasts only a second, though thankfully, you have a little bit of time between for exposition. Make your choices quick, and if you fail, try again. It's quick enough.

The controls are all keyboard as I didn't have time to add mouse support to the engine. The in-game text explains the keys needed.

There isn't much skill required, as the main gameplay elements, namely XP and leveling, didn't make it in. It turned out more interactive fiction than RPG as it was planned. There's probably typos aplenty in the prose, please forgive them and I'll probably correct them under the "typos" provision of the compo rules since they don't affect actual game logic.

This is a compo entry that failed to make the deadline.... By 5 hours. I've adhered to all other rules of the compo.

Written in C#/XNA
Ported to HTML5 by JSIL
Engine by SpiridiEngine
Music by Autotracker-BU with some instrument replacements
Sound effects by No Time and Missing
Graphics by The GIMP with reference sprite provided by Serilyn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#83Humor(Jam)3.39
#361Innovation(Jam)2.79
#364Audio(Jam)2.58
#422Fun(Jam)2.59
#430Mood(Jam)2.50
#468Theme(Jam)2.68
#478Overall(Jam)2.68
#522Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

clicking the gender icon doesnt work, asks for restart either way

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I'll add it to the description, but the in-game text says "Use the left or right arrow keys to make your choice" There is no mouse support, clicking does nothing.

drawm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I love the first 3-4 pages of text then I tldr the rest and died. I wont by button mashing 99% of the time. The concept is super nice but i'd like to have less text to read and be able to skip the intro text. Overrall gj

sanojian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Was funny. A little bit too much text is my only complaint.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I think one second is not enough to make proper choices, but anyway I like the concept

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I liked the idea. I will admit that I wasn't expecting the gender thing to occur so rapidly and failed on the first decision. xD

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

super cute :)

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16am

why i died in game? i can't understand :(

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:23am

A simple, cute, and pretty fun minimalist RPG. Thanks for putting it together!

P.S. I really like the sound sample used for the lead instrument in that song. Is it part of a soundfont, and/or do you know where I could get it?

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34am

I don't get the 1-second thing... then I can't appreciate the writing, but it seemed like an interesting start.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00am

Really funny and cute, but I don't like the time constraint. This makes it somehow random.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03pm

@solifuge it's a sample that came with LMMS, specifically harpsichord01

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:17pm

didn't get the game completly, but I'm a bit tired now, it was a good take on the theme I think.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

interesting take on the theme .. tricky!

Dan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

It took me a little while to be quick enough to make the decisions and in the end I ended up too quick and killed the damsel but it was really fun. Only problem was the music, it did start to get rather annoying but overall the game was really fun :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It was kind fun idea.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Haha, definitely getting points for humor on this one. One second really is blindingly fast when you're trying to think of what to do, but after some trial and error it was easy enough to work with. Nice job.

I also like that you have an HTML5 and an XNA version. I work with XNA (well, sorta, switched to Monogame) and have wanted to try my hand with an HTML5 game, so comparing the code of the two could be useful.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

@SnoringFrog The HTML5 port was done using JSIL - a cross compiler of sorts. It takes the C# output and recompiles it to Javascript. It's by no means complete, but does a reasonable job once you get past its quirks. They've been adding support for Monogame recently, but I don't know how far along it is.

As for comparing the code, well, it is possible, but there's a lot of supporting code JSIL provides that doesn't exactly make it look like typical Javascript.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice graphics and the text was quite clever in places, however I'd like a bit more skill-based gameplay rather than the blind-luck which it feels like I used to get through this. Overall though nice work :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:06am

It's a fun game, but I think there's too much text on it for the speed of the game.
Anyway, great work! :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Nice game, with cute art :) Maybe the result of the choices are a little bit too random, but in the end it creates funny surprises. Good job!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:16pm

This one got my attention and deserved more than 5 mins to play. I liked the texts.

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:36am

Really great. Loved the quick actions.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:11am

Oohh, a textbased adventure. With graphics. I liked it =)
If it only wasn't for that 10 seconds constraint =/

Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:45pm

A ten-second adventure? Excellent! Great music and good graphics, and took quite a few tries to beat. I like how some of the encounters had multiple solutions.

I'd say more, but I liked pretty much every part of this game. The humour is what really stands out, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]