August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Composition by the 10th Second

by NeiloGD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first experiment in the land of Emscripten, which allows you to compile C++ to JavaScript to run in the browser!

Unscramble the auto-genned composition! You can move the tracks up or down a total of 10 seconds worth of time within the 10 second music clip, and as you progress through the levels they will become more and more scrambled.
Line up the notes as best you can, matching colours should slide together appropriately. Bass lines are on the left, melodies are on the right.

Should work in the latest Chrome and Firefox. It may work in other browsers, but I can't promise anything. Tried in Chrome on my Android phone and it works without audio, milage may vary.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Innovation3.94
#176Audio3.24
#589Graphics2.82
#759Mood2.47
#784Overall2.83
#851Fun2.56
#890Theme2.76
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

robashton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Cool - I have no idea how to play it but I dig the technology!

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

Nice looking game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17am

Ha, cool idea!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46am

It's quite fun and I would totes play it again, but I think the audio needs work. If the level goes for a while, it gets unclean.

Sinuath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

not sure what's going on but i suck at playing music anyway. It looks cool!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

A great idea! I can't beat level 5 tho. ;-)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

BTW, I was streaming when I played! http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2836942

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:15am

I wasn't sure about what I was doing until the level 4. You could improve stuff on explaining & smoothing the difficulty curve, as well as stopping the melody 1 or 2 seconds after the success. Still, the idea is cool and the game looks nice !

loxo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Music games are always fun and this is definitely a unique concept. Sadly, it took me some time to understand how to play the game.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:27am

Really interesting approach to the theme. I liked how there was a little comedy in the out of order melodies.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]