August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of Explosions

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

by Duncan Stead and Jonathan Gover

Click to detonate the fireworks! They must be timed 1 second apart, measured from your first click, and there are 10 of them. That means this game lasts... 10 seconds

Your score is based on how many milliseconds away from each second you click, and if you get "Good" or "Great" then your score multiplier increases!

There is a global high score table, so you can compete with each other!

---

Ricky was missing from the team for this Jam, and we only had 12 HOURS to work on the game (and for a good chunk of that, Jonathan was driving around the UK). Still, the game turned out pretty well and it's fun to play! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Fun(Jam)3.07
#263Theme(Jam)3.15
#279Audio(Jam)2.88
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#480Graphics(Jam)2.59
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Reminds me a little bit of "boom boom rocket". Quite a satisfying and fun game you have here nonetheless. :)

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

Neat, although it was a bit difficult seeing the dots. Could be a great rhythm beat game.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Such a simple concept and yet so much fun! :-D I've been suspecting this for years, now it's official: my timing sucks...

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

my rhythm is terrible. It's hard on a interval of 1 second to adjust your strategy/timing. Often felt like I was falling behind but couldnt' read the text fast enough to catch up.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Entertained me for a good time. Congrats!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:19am

am "Well" :D Yeaaaay, a nice score, not the best. But at least not the worst :D

Jayjay says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:16am

Quite tricky as pressing start doesn't feel like it instantly starts the timer, it also took a little while to understand what was going on, but otherwise fun once you get the hang of it =]

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:14am

Found this game pretty hard, but I loved it. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

SamC says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Pretty fun, nice UI

Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

This is lovely :3
Wish the game would automatically start synced up with the music tho.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

cool

01rafael says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Oh my gosh! That was hard
Controllers are not useful. When I click on screen one firework might be ok, but another not reach the line and will explode too early

Alexandre says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:51pm

The interface is a bit difficult to read, otherwise the game is fun!

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Love this man! Nice concept!

Blinked says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Wow, awesome game, I spent way too much time doing that haha. I ended up in 9th place with over 13000.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The leaderboard is great. Makes me want to play again and try and beat whoever is in front of me. Visuals are also nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]