Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flajora's Flask - Cosmologicon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So basically it's Majora's Mask but you get 10 seconds instead of 3 days.

Fair warning: This game is very fast paced. You WILL miss a lot of things the first few times they happen. That's sort of the point, that this time frame is ridiculous for an adventure game. You're meant to keep repeating these 10 seconds and pick up on more things each time.

If you find it's just too hard, or if you need more time for reading or whatever, choose the "easy" link above. This slows down the passage of time by 2.5x. But don't get discouraged at first if things are happening too fast. That's the whole idea.

Controls: keyboard. For better performance, use Chrome, or resize your window smaller.

View Cosmologicon's journal. | View all entries by Cosmologicon

Ratings

Coolness59%
#10Theme4.26
#28Humor3.96
#90Mood3.55
#112Overall3.63
#152Fun3.49
#176Audio3.24
#295Innovation3.34
#300Graphics3.34

Comments

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

nice game. But i can't read and run at the same time :)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Nice entry. It was pretty long for a ten second game. Good job.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Looks really nice, and seems to be a alot to it. I just can't make any progress, is there a way to keep the stuff you get? If so, it has to be made clearer.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Ah, I can see how that might not be obvious if you haven't played Majora's Mask. You keep your items (and your game is saved) when you use the Spacetime Kazoo to go back in time.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I have played, Majoras Mask, thats why I was looking for the rewind =) Anyways I managed to beat it now and great fun actually, well done!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38pm

The dungeons were kinda annoying though...

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

You can't get ye flask....Dennis...

A solid concept well executed. It was a rather frustrating in spots, Particularly getting ye flask. But hey, you know what? Sometimes games should be hard.

I literally cannot think of a properly negative thing to say about this game.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Really liked the graphics and audio, 10 seconds just isn't long enough for me :(
Couldn't stop laughing from the north trick at the beginning xD Great game!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Fantastic game, love the mechanics, didn't take me that long to find the instrument dealer either, is there a reason you used backspace instead of spacebar or something, it would be nice to be able to handle moving and time travel with the same hand. Either way, for such a small development time I feel like the concept and the amount of content is great! Good job man!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Wow, this is pretty great! It's pretty hard at the beginning when you don't have any items, but once you understand what you need to do it's really fun =) Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really fun game. Good sense of humor and generally just a fun little adventure game.

That one guy underneath the tree is a jerk though.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

A good interpretation of the theme and nice sound.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

I have no idea what I'm doing but I like it!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

It´s a little hard to read the speech-bubbles.However, the setting apocalyptical makes me sad. So: great contrast between mood and graphics. Nice game! :-)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Can't get it to run! It gets stuck at 42%! :( I'll get chrome later and try it then.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Fun, and a great use of the theme!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Great game, miyamoto would be proud ;)

Loved everything but mostly how smoothly you incorporated the theme to the game. Keep it up, 5* from me :D

PS: The guy on the tree can be a real pain in the ass >_<

brobutter says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Kinda frustrating to be honest. I know there's an "easy" mode, but I think that kind of defeats the purpose of the theme being "10 Seconds".

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Best game I've played yet, really has a lot of depth to it, and I love everything: the game (with the walkthrough), the story, the references, the art and the music!
A big 5 out of 5, congrats!

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I cheated and looked at the walkthrough twice (getting the shoes and train ticket)

This is sizeable for a LD game and plays fairly nicely, but the gem rooms were a bit frustrating to me

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Wow... I admit, this is one of the theme approaches I considered strongly, so I'm really glad that someone else decided to do it! And yeah, 10 seconds is way too fast to pull off this sort of thing (something like 30 would have been better I think), but I played the easy version and (with some help from the walkthrough) won! The amount of content and cleverness that you jammed into this game is really impressive. Very very well done.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I just wanted to say I played it and tried to understand it without looking at the walktrough, but I decided not to rate it because I couldn't afford to spend enough time to rate it in good conscience. I hope you understand :( Sorry!

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very interesting game mecanism, I didn't read your description before playing the game and I was able to see the Zelda reference, good job for that.
That's also a 5-star for the theme!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I enjoyed the story, wrapped in clever humour, bound with good acting. It is a bit slow at first and got a bit frustrated, but got moving once I had those magic sneakers!

What boggles me is how that train got to the desert so quickly! But I am not one to question temporal anomalies when the end of the world is concerned.

Good game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]