August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Monster

by 01010111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Golden Delights and Infinite Perils of Planet Monster is a Tower Defense game where you make lots of money for some space corporation by harvesting gold from PLANET MONSTER!

Start a game by clicking with the mouse, you can switch between Walls, Turrets, Upgrading, and Selling with the numbers 1-4 on your keyboard, or by clicking them at the bottom of the screen.

Made with:
FlashDevelop
Flixel
Photoshop
MilkyTracker

YEAH! ENJOY!

*UPDATE* I fixed a bug that would give a Game Over after one hit, also made that Cash indicator faster :D

*UPDATE* Whoops - I never tested it in Firefox, should be working now :) Thanks GFM and Antonijn for bringing it to my attention!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#23Audio3.88
#57Graphics4.08
#57Overall3.82
#64Fun3.72
#88Humor3.45
#145Mood3.40
#328Theme3.39
#458Innovation3.10

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29am

For such a short time, the game has great polish to it. I love the audio and the visuals. The game is incredibly challenging. I felt like I was losing after only leaking just a couple of monsters. And with the asteroids blowing up my maze, it made it tougher. Great work

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

Wow this game is tough! Super cool though, I found myself replaying it a lot to try and figure out strategies. Didn't notice the UI to select between walls, towers etc. at first, oops! Loved the tunes as well. Great job :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

pretty cool concept, gets hectic too fast, really liked the art and polish.

Reicher says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Great game, have a really nice feel to it!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

WOW! Just wow. This is awesome. I can't even handle how good this is for LD... Good job.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice chunky pixels!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Does that guy in the cutscene have gold teeth or yellow teeth? lol

I haven't seen a tower-defense entry yet. This is exceptional. Great work!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice and polished game. I'm not fan of the way the money indicator (bottom left) updates slowly though : i only take quick glances at it and i often thought i could build something when i couldn't

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Excellent game, it's fun and challenging. At first it was too hard, but with a bit of practice it's perfect. I wonder if the block are really that usefull, compare to turrets ... i will have to test it ^^

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

It's a fairly standard (and very short) tower defense game, but fun while it lasts and the presentation is nice. :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

How did you do that in 48h? Its a gem at this ld... played it twice :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Enjoyed it! Good humor.. nice polish.. great!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Really like this game. Nicely polished, its a cool spin to the normal turret defense. I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23am

Good idea, but it's a little too hard. Good art and audio, solid entry for 48 hours.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24am

very well executed, for soo short time. great graphics and sounds.
Like the dichotomy of make money and use it for your own defense. Nice challenge

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24am

Amazing game. Really enjoyed playing it.Good Job!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

Good job! I love tower defense games!!!

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

Very nice tower defense game! It felt like the upgrades weren't worth it, although maybe the asteroids just didn't like the towers I selected.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:39am

This is really well done, and a bit of a twist on TDs in general which usually aren't super hectic but this does make you move and think fast, I like it, good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:41am

Boy, those graphics sure are good. I love the boss tellin' me how to score space golds. The game itself is super frantic, and either it's very hard or I suck at tower defense or both. But I had a great time. Your link scales the game to the browser's dimensions regardless of aspect ratio... I thought the non-square pixels were a stylistic choice at first, but now that I've resized it to a normal screen, I do think it looks better :)

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36am

One of my favorites... super fun game. Awesome sprites, SFX, screenshakes. Nice little touches too: at one point I was thinking how nice it'd be if I could push the number keys to select stuff and it just worked.

Couple potential issues:
- at one point a meteor broke a gun so i put a block there, but guys just started streaming through the block anyway (http://i.imgur.com/V5gR5hs.png)
- at the end the screen went blank and the space businessman said something about not all of us being overachievers. wasn't sure if that was a loss screen (didn't say "i let them through") or a victory screen. if the latter, i'm not sure why i won.

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23am

Awesome job... I love the big text scenes and the artwork is great

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10am

The sounds are awesome! Did you create them yourself with a tracker? What do you use? I just noticed you have the Flod replayer in your libs

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

MilkyTracker :) thanks gonna play with it

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27am

Hotdang! Graphics and level of polish are really something! Freaking hard but I'm ok with that.

Thanks for taking on the challenge, you really pulled it off :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55am

Really great fun, nice graphics and music and the game is fun too. Good work.

drilltail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11am

Tower defense, awesome.

Great art and audio, looks like you put a lot into making it really polished!

martymon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:27am

very nice game...love it

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

This game kicked my ass!!! Music was one of the best I've heard so far this LD and graphics were great + reminded me a lot of Zelda 2 for some reason. Sound effects really added a lot. Great job whipping up a game this complex in 48hrs!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I really liked the twist on the tower defense thingy, it's the highest grade I have given out for any entry.

Really really well done, well polished, I wish I could do an entry half as good :) Keep the good stuff coming!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Wow. This got intense pretty quickly. It has a nice feel to it.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Solid tower defense game - I like how you got some narrative in there. Everything meshes together. Fun!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Very fun to play game, definitely pushed you to develop your own strategy and a nice implementation of the theme. Also great music! Well done.

robbe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Normally I don't like tower defense games that much, but this one has a nice twist to it :)

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Really nice game! :) The graphics, specially, are great!
Though a little unbalanced... (with 5 turrets, 2 initially maxed and later everyone maxed out, I was able to hold off every monster)

Also, the game got stretched to the browser's width but maintained the height fixed , which kinda of killed the graphics... (I resized the window to make it an reasonable size)

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40am

Perfect! So simple, yet so challenging! Congratz

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

great frantic TD! loved the simple controls and aesthetic

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Sweet graphics, really like the style

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Awesome game, great music and graphics. And the game was actually fun which is also very important

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Pretty fun! kudos!!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Amazing amount of polish and very tight Great audio and controls. design. Got a good strategy going and beat it. Challenging and rewarding. Overall, very nice work!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:49am

This is great! The music and graphics are superb. The controls are very good and the core mechanic is simple yet challenging.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Great game, had a lot of fun. Love the music and polish

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great effects, good game :D

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Super polished game, great job - but man, do I suck at TD games :P

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I think I found a bug! You said you fixed a bug where you would die with only one hit? I think it still exists if you restart the game. I played through once and died perfectly fairly, but when it restarted, the first monster that got through killed me.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:39am

It seems a lot of good work was put in the game, especially in the graphics and visual effects, and in the sounds and music. It was way too hard for me though ^^ Still, very good work.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Eeek, just replaying through and found a nasty bug! An asteroid had destroyed a turret while a wave was going through. I replaced it, but the enemies were still able to path through it like it didn't exist!

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:34am

Fun game, enjoyed the take on a ten-second tower defense. :)

domrein says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:25pm

This game is awesome. #LDTD

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:52am

A simple and action packed TD! Loved the visual and the music, the meteors breaking my upgraded towers was irritating because it felt unfair, but i lasted till $705 on my first run

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:41am

Really well-done game, and great pixelart.. although some of the UI went below the screen. Also, if you pause the game during the intro, trying to unpause it, you'll click the website and will link you back out.

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great game. The graphics are really awesome!

d__adee says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Very polished! :D
And I really dig the graphics. Cool game!

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:14pm

awesome sound! needed a while to figure out how the gameplay worked though

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:20am

Very impressive entry! but this is SO HARD :p

PaulSB says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Wow, this is pretty incredible polish for a weekend's work! I think I didn't get that there were upgrades at first, otherwise an enjoyable little tower defence effort. Great work on the whole presentation of it, very nice.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:29pm

wow such a neat entry. don't know if the shaking camera was nessesary on placing blocks.... but yeah, graphics were fun! weeeeee

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]