August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Elemental Siege

by DWallin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In 10 seconds that elemental will breach our defenses!
Defend our walls by terraforming the fields outside the walls.

Gameplay:
All elementals and field tiles have 2 health.
Your base is destroyed if it gets hit by 10 Enemies.

Fire deals 2 damage to Plants and 1 damage to Wind.
Wind deals 2 damage to Water and 1 damage to Plant.
Plant deals 2 damage to Rock and 1 damage to Water.
Water deals 2 damage to Fire and 1 damage to Rock.
Rock deals 2 damage to Wind and 1 damage to Fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Innovation3.32
#606Graphics2.79
#915Fun2.47
#943Overall2.63
#1139Theme2.06
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

At first I felt like I was just randomly clicking around. But once I figured out what I was doing it became really fun! I really like the idea here, and the art is really great.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Ohh, this is a nice idea. You don't even have to explain, figuring it out is a cool moment :)

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Nice idea, but was not the most user friendly game.

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

Very good game concept, and looking good too! Would have been nice if the difficulty scaled a bit so you don't get overwhelmed early on. Had some fun with it :)

zeh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

This is a great concept. Pretty novel idea. A little bit unpolished as only a weekend game can be, but something I can really see working, given enough care for animation, user experience and the alike.

Overall, good job!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49am

Fun! Took me a bit to get the hang of the rules, but after I got 'em down it was good challenge - sort of like a horizontal tetris!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:07am

I really like the combination of tetris and a wall defense game. The art is also well done and fits the game well. It would be nice if the game was a little less random, if one could choose field shape and field type.

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

It would be great if there was an explanation of the gameplay, but other than that nice game!

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

A bit difficult, but it's a nice game. Maybe I would try it with less variables or with incremental difficulty.
Congratulations!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

The game has a nice idea to it but I think it is too challenging.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I liked figuring it out. Maybe there could be 2-square pieces to start to make it easier at first. Cool idea!

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice game! Right click would be useful for rotation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]