August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hexlaser 2 : Ultios Insector

by rxninja - Jam Entry

Hexlaser 2 : Ultios Insector is a dual stick shooter where you try to survive, destroying as many insectoid enemies as possible before you go down.

***HEXLASER 2 REQUIRES DUAL ANALOG STICK INPUT, SUCH AS A PS3 CONTROLLER***

Hexlaser 2 is my first game, so there are bound to be some things woefully wrong with it. For instance, there's nothing stopping you from just going off-screen in some random direction for infinity. I figured you'd naturally want to stay close to the things that give you points, plus I liked the feeling that you're kind of "cheating" by briefly going off-screen if you need to avoid something. It's fun to break the rules.

Hexlaser 2 also requires a joypad with dual analog sticks. I built and mapped it for a PS3 controller and I'm honestly not sure how it works with anything else since I have nothing else to test with it. I realize that this is far from ideal for a game jam game where you want as many people to play it as possible, but it was more of a personal goal than a "let's see how well I can do in a competition" footnote.

I know the Mac OSX build works, but I have no way of testing the Windows and Linux builds. I deployed them with Unity so I hope they work.

I had an initial conception of this game that fit much closer to the theme (you have a ticking clock and you destroy enemies to refill it), but I realized late in the game that that didn't work. Currently, the loose tie to "10 seconds" is that the big guys, worth LOTS more points than the little ones, spawn every 10 seconds ad infinitum. I'm not proud of that aspect of it, but I thought a game that loosely fits the theme is better than a non-existent game that does. "Follow the theme" took a back seat to "finish and publish my first game."

Along the way I learned some key stuff about dual stick control implementation in Unity. I wrote a post about it here if anyone is interested in the technical details: http://spriteborne.tumblr.com/post/59265932817/twin-stick-shooter-control-in-unity3d

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoy HEXLASER 2: ULTIOS INSECTOR!


Engine: Unity3D (http://unity3d.com/)
Graphics: Hexels Pro (http://hexraystudios.com/hexels/)
Music and Sound Effects: Bosca Ceoil (http://distractionware.com/blog/2013/08/bosca-ceoil/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27am

The hex-based grid is pretty neat :)
nice game overall :D

-ENDESGA

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I've tried with an Xbox controller and it didn't seem to work. I got stuck on the menu :S

rxninja says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42am

Hmm, fire is mapped to button 11, which is left-stick click on the xbox 360 controller. I'll see if I can make a quick alternate button map tomorrow and do a build fix to accommodate 360 gamepads.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

As soon as I get my XBo controller back from my friend, I'm gonna try this ! From the screenshot, this game look really nice!

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Playing with a cheap Hama gamepad. Look-Axes are transposed so it's hard to look around. Shooting is also on the stick.

You might also consider forcing the player on the screen ;-)

Nice art and tune.

Kad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Great work! I would suggest that you implement a keyboard alternativo to your control, so can receive feedback from a lot more people. Don't worry too much for the theme: game making is about making yourself happy and then showing your having the world enjoy the with the results.

truiton says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:15am

I don't have my xbox controller with me... too bad, the game seems fun :/

Solifuge says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:44am

I really really want to play this, but I'm running the Windows version, and it doesn't seem to recognize my X-Box Controller.

If nothing else, the title theme is Super Catchy. I'd love to see a post-compo version of this, possibly one with mouse and arrow-key support in lieu of dual analogue.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]