August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quickly, Onwards

by drmanitoba - Jam Entry

My tale is short, and my motives vauge, but believe me, oh doubtful one, I fought, and I adventured harder than I've ever adventure...rured before! Join me as I recount my amazing adventure of epic...stuff!

Editors note: There's probably a million sound syncing and timing bugs in here, so forgive me. Also, I know it's a JS game, and I know I didn't minify the source, but be a good sport and don't view source to cheat. It's not a hard game anyways.

How to Play: It's basically a choose-your-own adventure, text-based dungeon crawler. Each bullet is a "door" and you can read what adventures await you behind each one. Find your way to the end and save your love from certain horribleness.

Credits:
Daniel Barron - Code
Daniel Nick - Words

I may be mistaken, but I think this is the first game to ever use Twitter Bootstrap.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

10 seconds to read that amount of text? I must've been playing on HARDCORE or something :P!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

Hahaha same for me, so much text and so little time ;) Nice concept by the way :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:44pm

It seemed good but the time constraints meant I couldn't really take in what I was doing. Great to see you using bootstrap and trying something different!

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Haha you made me laugh :D

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

It's a neat idea. Sadly, the theme is definitely detrimental to the game; requiring each choice to be made within ten seconds forces the player to rush through the dialogue.

drmanitoba says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Confession time: I wrote the engine before I wrote the game content, so the "too much text" problem wasn't made apparent until I plugged in the actual content...which was ~2 hours before the submission deadline >_<. Thanks for playing though! I apologize for the issue.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Well, making it fit the theme really kills the game a bit, 10 seconds just isn't enough to read and make a choice... :(

Jayjay says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:18am

It's fun, takes a few plays to soak all the text in =]

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]