Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run, Bun, Run! - jsspiegel - Jam Entry

Well, we've survived our first game jam ever! Between being ready to quit and waking up late and scrambling to get our soundtrack creator (Erik) to stop playing FFX to send us some files to OH MY GOD WHERE DID I PUT THE SPRITES FOLDERS, I'd have to say it was overall a pretty successful jam. Arielle and Jacob (I can't say "I"; we wrote this description collaboratively) are both sixteen years old and we met about two months ago at a camp, run by a tech-centered art gallery in New York City, dedicated to game development. This is our second game developed together, but this one was much more stressful to create, as the time constraint was much tighter. But nevertheless, we pulled through and we ended up getting everything done with enough time to cross our "i"s and dot our "t"s. Wait...

Special thanks to my (Arielle's) good and lovely friend Erik Ebsen for producing, mixing and single handedly making the soundtrack to our game. Erik is a 20 year old guitarist who lives in Fayetteville, Arkansas and is the lead guitarist in a band called Auric, a sludge-metal band from Arkansas. He's a really cool dude, definitely check out his bandcamp for his solo band, Spiralmountain. He's always down to write music for anyone or anything! http://spiralmountain.bandcamp.com/

View jsspiegel's journal. | View all entries by jsspiegel

Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Audio(Jam)3.45
#146Humor(Jam)2.96
#244Fun(Jam)3.04
#263Theme(Jam)3.15
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#392Mood(Jam)2.63
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81
#463Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

AIalumni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

cool game man, awesome music, great 4 levels.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

Great audio and really charming overall. :) I love how the metal kicks in and the bunny's eyes turn red when in frenzy, nice touch.

BTW, I got stuck on the second screen of instructions (starting with "Fight bosses with POWER UPS...") and I had to reload my browser and start over, but it was no big deal and I was able to figure it out from there.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

nom nom nom

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

To Steve Cochrane (and anyone else facing the same issue), press escape to return to the previous menu screen.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

Nice graphics and music. I had some problems with the menus, a later version could print the keys to escape a level higher on screen.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

So I was a running around on the lush green grass, eat carrots, when... ARHHH I'm being eaten by a wolf :( Nice game though. Graphics a super cute.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46am

good one, but as a colorblind It was hard to spot the carrots in the grass background lol

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50am

AdamHarte: Yeah, I know, the wolves just seem to pop up out of nowhere sometimes. It plays a growl sound when you're getting close to a wolf, but sometimes it's already too late.

sittaman: Sorry about that. For future reference, how could I help eliminate colorblindness-related issues?

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53am

Great idea you've got there! I just got a bit motion sick there, though, maybe it's the bit too fast movement..?

dlowe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02am

That was entertaining. Nice work :)

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Well I would say the eating sound drove me nuts but the music was awesome, and the music switch when you were powered up and ready to go was perfect and hilarious. It was humorous to see the rabbit in the ocean levels, but the timer felt kind of out of place, and since the levels were just a big square there was never really any panic created by it (just head in a direction you haven't been yet, and ta-da carrots!) It was a fun little game though.

bufbot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

A CAT IS CHASING ME I REPEAT A CAT IS CHASING ME

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11pm

This game made me smile and laugh. The game itself is very basic, but it doesn't need to be complicated. The graphics are very nice and the music is fantastic. You should be proud of managing to get a game out in a pretty nice condition like this. Also, pure genius having the random water level. :D

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Thank you for all the kind words, everyone :) I really appreciate it. Thank you for the feedback too, next Ludum Dare I will be sure to re-read these comments to ensure I don't make the same mistakes twice!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Fun game :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Lovely game, really fun and so cute!

Psifour says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18pm

The bunny is the cutest sprite I have seen so far while looking at other Jam entries.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Was a nice play, bit hard sometimes with locating the carrots/shells. But it was nice and simple and easy to grasp. Nice one.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

nice game, really like the style of the bunny. and those scary wolves. Fun to play.

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice basic design it works though i would like a greater sense of impending doom though
apart from that great game

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice work! Keep it up!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:46pm

good game, altough you should zoom it out a bit, it's impossible to avoid a wolf when you're walking straight into it, and sometimes i got spawned right next to a wolf diyng instantly.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24pm

good job

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Reaperguy: I wanted to work on the wolf spawning script so it wouldn't spawn too close to you, but I didn't have enough time.

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Ridiculous and charming game, I like it!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

It was personally hard for me, dang those wolves come out of no where fast!

I enjoyed it, cute graphics though! Beat the game though!

tiling of grass could use a little work.

wintermute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Game is simple, I would have liked some feedback on where I am with respect to the objects, or at least the wolves!
But the music is great!!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Awesome music. Great game!

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

For the first level though, it said I needed to kill a wolf but there were no wolfs to be found - and I completed the level without killing one! Anyway the other levels I played worked as expected, so I'm just assuming the requirement was just you guys forgetting to fix the text! Anyway, good job for your first entry!:)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

mollymus: Yeah, we didn't have time to actually add in that requirement, nor fix the text! Sorry about that :P And thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Really simple "collect 'em all
game, but I really liked this one. Had a cool feel to it! Th heavy metal when the wolves/squid came out was great.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:59am

Cool audio dude!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]