August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duke Dashington

by AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: The game was supposeed to have waaay many more levels, but I kind of ran out of time to make more. I'm working on post-compo version with more levels, though.

Duke is a fearless adventurer who has just found the ancient temple of Nenapmis. Unfortunately, he set off a trap right at the entrance which causes the whole temple to start collapsing! Duke dashes in, determined to get the treasure before it's too late!

You have 10 seconds to escape every floor before it collapses on you.

Use Arrow Keys or WASD to Dash NOTE YOU CAN ONLY DASH SIDEWAYS IN AIR IF YOU ARE FALLING. wasd controls are bit bugged so you might want to use arrow keys.

Esc to skip into, pause the game
Enter to advance Dialogue
M to mute and unmute the game
R to restart the current room

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Overall4.22
#7Graphics4.59
#14Fun4.02
#39Audio3.71
#52Mood3.74
#53Theme3.93
#70Humor3.59
#207Innovation3.50

Comments

enJoyer says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Awesome game, sir! I enJoyed watching you create this game and even more to play it :) Keep up the good work!
I give it 10/10.

-enJoyer

nicso says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I don't know how many times I said it but : awesome game !

sittaman says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice art and sounds, but found a bit buggy. It's like I'm stick to the walls. Great game anyways!

Buzzwerd says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Man, this game is oozing quality. Could definitely see it going full-scale and being awesome. Very suited for iOS.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12am

Really fun! It's got a really charming and cute style, and I absolutely love the temple aesthetics. Well done!

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46am

Yep, that is quality - I really like the graphics and it kept me hooked all the way to the treasure (cursing myself, and quite possibly you at the same time)!

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

This is great. Was this all really done by one person? If so, Wow! If not, wow!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great game, and graphics! :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

Nice fast paced action. It was a bit hard to figure out when you can dash, but after that it was smooth sailing. Graphics were once again top tier :)

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

An incredibly solid entry! 40/40 from me. :)

Temich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Amazing game, but this sound when you dashing :<

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14am

As usual graphics are great.
The dash mechanic is working well and puzzles coming from it are neat.
the global mood reminds me a bit of quackshot.

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Great look, great game play, great polish. In summary awesome.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01am

Ladies and Gentlemen We have our winner! haha great job! 5/5 in all

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

As good as Rick Dangerous... but more "punchy"!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

Brilliantly polished, fun to play! Great art and gameplay, the dashing mechanic is a nice variant on the platformer movement!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Best game so far based on 10 second levels! Great twist to a classic puzzle mechanic. Lovely art and animation. Awesome!

ridhwaan08 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Great Game - It's what I've come to expect from you.Was awesome watching you make it,even better to play it. :)

Full Marks from me

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Awesome game, I really like the graphics. Hope you make a longer version after LD.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Amazing work! Art is really good and the game is very polished :) kinda wished there were more levels so I could keep playing!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

awesome! well done :)

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I enjoyed this game and the extra polish and dialogue really did it for me! Though the controls were a bit weird, this is one of my favorites

Forstride says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Either I was doing something wrong, or the controls are seriously messed up. I wasn't able to dash in the air, where some puzzles seemed to require it (Like the room with the red button).

Honestly, it pretty much made it unplayable for me, as I had to redo puzzles numerous times because the controls did not work right.

Other than that, the graphics were very nice. The whole style of the game (Along with the characters and gameplay itself) reminded me a lot of Wario Land, which in some ways, was good, but also bad (Because it seemed to take a bit too much inspiration from it IMO).

DanielSnd says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

It's amazing to me that this was created under 48 hours! Very very good sir! You are truly a gentleman and a scholar!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Great game! Reminds me much of Wario land :P

Citiral says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Loved every bit of it. A bit on the short side but that was to be expected. This would be amazing as a full game. (An app maybe?)

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Fantastic job, would work well on mobile devices. Just polish it up some more and you are good to go!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Awesome work! Love the graphics as always. The concept was really original, the story and character kinda remind me of Wario Land! The controls were quite unresponsive though, there were specific timings to when you could press a button and I never figured them out... Nice work tho!

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Super fun! Looks and plays really nicely :D

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

super fun, amazing gameplay and idea!
controls could use some tweaks, but amazing overall!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Really nice smooth style and gameplay. A very enjoyable five minutes.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Did you make all of this in the WE ? It's impressive.
I've finished the game ! Good gameplay and ambiance.
Definitly need a mobile version.
The only negative point is the dash-in-the-air trigger maybe to precise.

eeezal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very nice game, the gameplay isn't always clear and the music doesn't loop, but the audio is nice, the graphics are very good and the chara design too.

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Great game, I thought the mechanics worked very well.

However, in browser (Chrome, Windows) using WASD just sends me inside the walls, and I then can't jump. Works fine with arrow keys.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great game. Funny, the control scheme is nice, and how could I not love the name? Duke Dashington - Gentelman and Scholar. Sweet!

emveyh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Awesome Game, the controls were a bit imprecise

cappelnord says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

very solid gameplay and (most importantly) fun! Could have been a bit harder though.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Best game so far, only too short ^^ Great gameplay, graphics, sounds ... Levels are well designed. You should add levels post-compo to show how Duke managed to escape ^^

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Incredible graphics and gameplay! is awesome seriously

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Great game! the graphics are amazing!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

A very effective use of the theme. I loved the final puzzle, it had me thinking for a moment. Great graphics too (of course).

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Awesome game, the graphics are beautiful! The story is hilarous too, the character reminds me of Wario...

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Awesome graphics and great execution. I liked it !

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This is fantastic. Gameplay is solid and the graphics are amazing, especially for 48 hours. Well done!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Great graphics. Controls were a little hard for me to use.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Pretty cool, I like the combination of puzzle-style controls, gravity, and timing, which makes for some creative platforming.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

wow, nice and nervous. Great job on the level design

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Theme and graphics totally nailed. The game's really fun, the mechanic works really well and the levels are really well put together. That last room was pretty rewarding to get through and the little ending you did was great :D

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nothing to say but just amazing, very very impressed. The game is very fun and has a great humorous atmosphere.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07pm

This is incredible. It's hard to believe that you made all of that in just 48 hours... the graphics alone are the best of all entries I've played so far, but then there is also a good mechanic, and great music, and a ton of levels, and so much polish that I almost thought I was in Poland. Very impressive.

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Gosh, look at those SPRITES! Kinda hard to believe it's made in 48 hours...

The game itself is fun and responsive, plus the music is catchy. lovin' it!

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Holy smoke! Very nice game you got there! Great work!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Brilliantly polished and nice little game. The dash movement is a good alternative to the normal platformer movement, though a little tricky to get the timing right.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Reminds me a LOT of the old Wario Land games! Pure awesomeness! :D

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Nice! Quite short but nicely done.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very polished looking game!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Awesome game with cool graphics and a nice mechanic. Well polished and fun to play!

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Great game with increasing difficulty

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Wow, I'm in awe. Amazing game, great work. Pretty much flawless.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Not bad at all!!! :)

Sloth Jesus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

This is really gosh darn good. You sir deserve to win.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Wow that was a really fun little platformer. Took me a bit to realize when I could move in another direction again. Awesome animations as well.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

That's one of the incredible games I bet u will get a very high rank on LD27 ;)

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Awesome graphics as usual :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Delightful! It took me reading your note about dashing while falling to clear the second screen, but after that it was smooth sailing. Neat mechanic; great graphics!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Sweet game and cute ending.
The game reminded me a little of the old WarioLand games for
Gameboy! You really managed to squeeze in a lot of content in this one. Solid levels and great looking animations and graphics. Lots of stars to you! :)

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Quite a bit of fun! It was tough, but fast enough that my slip-ups didn't bother me. Duke's dash reminds me of the Wario Land games, at least in design. Anyway, I'm starting to look forward to your games each ludum dare!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great use of the game mechanic throughout all the levels, pretty clever. It didn't feel repetitive at all. Nice intro and presentation. Plus your games tend to be pretty challenging...this time I manage to finish it in one playthrough!

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

How!!!?? How did you make such cool game in 48 hours!?!?!?
It's just genius!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

Awesome art, it was fun to dash around and the gameplay really made good use of the 10 second theme. Man that last room was tough! I dug that you managed to even get an ending in the game. Excellent job!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

Nice, short and fun! Great graphic look. Simple dashing mechanic explored in a lot of interesting ways in just a few screens. Thumbs up!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Awesome times ten.

Photon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Not surprising to see a strong entry from you. I do feel like it could have been a little longer, but when you're only working with ten seconds I guess it happens. Level design can be tough enough to do as it is. At any rate, it proves that simplicity can pay off in design. Fun stuff!

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Really great game! Everything fit together really well, sound, graphics, gameplay. My only complaint would be the controls are a bit difficult. I felt the controls made the game a bit challenging, but it fit with the game (being difficult). My only suggestion would be to allow dashing in the air on the way up too :)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

It's alright. I'm a bit surprised by the amount of praise you're getting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:06am

Also note that there was supposed to be like twice the amount of levels, but I ran out of time to do them and instead finished the ending while I still had the time. Post-compo version will have many more levels!

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

Can't understand how you managaed to do all that deliciousness in just 48 hours. Excellent :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

Totally fantastic title, great in every way that counts.

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

really solid game and fun to play

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58am

The controls felt a bit unresponsive, which was really frustrating. I believe you have to wait a bit (for the animation to play?) when you bump head on the ceiling before you can dash again.
Most of my retries came from this

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

PapyGaragos: Yeah you can dash sideways in air ONLY when you are falling. When dashing up, you can't change course until you collide with something first.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

Very Awesome entry. Perfect stars for me!

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Brilliant - although I knew that before I even hit play :)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Super-polished perfectly made little thing! Nothing more to say. Like the fast-paced + puzzle style. Warmly reminds me of the Donkey Kong game for Gameboy.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

The only bad thing i could say to the game has a bit of control problems but other than that is absolutely fantastic. Fun, engaging, memorable character and nice story. Great game mate.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Yay, Dink Dukington!
Interesting take on the controls, it adds a ver nice touch to the difficulty.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great entry.
If expanded, I can see it being quite a good mobile game.

CmdBrewsky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07pm

we want more levels! Amazing game btw :D

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really fun! Awesome graphics, audio, gameplay :D looking forward to the post-compo version!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Haha! Superman and Indianajones in one person!
Funny idea, but i was a little bit frustrated as the controls din't want as I want. Very good graphics and also good sound.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

One of the best I've played so far. Actually a lot of levels considering the quality of the art and sound made by one person. Actually thought it had to be a jam game at first.

Miltage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Fantastic entry!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

good job

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Wow, awesome! There are some really good graphics in this.

This really reminded me of 2D top-down puzzle games. It's interesting how that mechanic came out in an enviroment with gravity. :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Awesome! I really enjoyed playing and complete this game. Perfect.

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

..::Q-U-A-L-I-T-Y ::.. Movement reminds me of wario land :)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Really cool

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Top-notch small game. I wished to see the levels where the player has to run outside the pyramid, after getting the treasure, but I think that this maybe will be added in further updates.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Charming game, very intense. The ending also made me smile. :)

mollymus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice style and gameplay! I enjoyed it!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Well done sir. Great graphics, well through out levels, and very polished. My only issue was the side dashing controls. I hope to see a post compo, or complete version. Keep up the good work.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50am

Amazing looking game! Liked the dashing mechanic a lot, very fun!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19am

A perfect games jam game. Initially i didn't quite understand the game, but as soon as i got past the first level i loved it. It's a nice length too. Music is fantastic quality and perfectly fits. I love the graphics, they're beautiful! :-)

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:42am

Really brilliant game mechanic, with amazing graphics to boot :D short, but not to a fault - I cant get over that you made all this in 48 hours, wow XD

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:35am

It has come to my attention that the WASD controls are not working perfectly and you might get stuck on walls. If this happens to you, try arrow keys, they should work correctly.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:47am

Quite polished, neat mechanic. The controls seemed a bit unresponsive but that might just be me sucking at video games.

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55am

Really cute arts, love the puzzles created with the dash mechanic.

thethey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

Your pixle artwork is really eyegrabbing, it was a fun game too :D

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

Wow, really awesome! Really good graphics and extremely fun to play! Have you
considered an android and iOS version?

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09pm

All on top but the controls are just a bit off.

Aceria says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Wonderful! Duke Dashington does its name justice. The difficulty curve feels comfortable to me. The mechanics and story are kept simple but are executed masterfully. After I reached the treasure I did not know I had to press enter in order to see the end sequence though. Great game!

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Aptly named!

Jorqell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Impressive work especially in such a short time!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Outstanding level of polish, marvelous execution, awesome artstyle and music! I tip my hat to you! :)
The concept if a very good idea, although I would mention that it is unclear you can only dash sideways while falling. I think it would be better if you could interrupt vertical dashes with sideway ones. Once I did understand that, though, I had no problems. But before that I found the game slightly unclear.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Fun game mechanics :D

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Short and sweet. Doesn't feel like a jam game at all, it's self-contained, polished, cute and tight. Nothing to remark on really :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Did you ever sleep this weekend? This is a fantastic and fully functional game... send to greenlight... WOW.... AWESOME!

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

found the control a bit buggy, most of the time I have to double tap each time to have my movement working.
Otherwise very good game, the graphics are so awesome, something I really missed for my own game!

teamenschede says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:29pm

So polished. Aside from the buggy controls, the game is totally awesome. I liked the sliding platform mechanic that introduced timing to some of the puzzles.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Looked and sounded very nice, but as was mentioned before, the controls are messed up... :(
Still fun to play, but would be really great with working controls! ;)

wine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Wow, nice gameplay mechanics!

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Awesome game. Great ending !

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Very solid entry. Impressive! Had lot of fun playing it, even if some times I felt my keyboard was not listening to me.

robbe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

First, good game, but it took me way too long to long to figure out how to continue the dialog! (I tend not to read the descript until after the game, so a little visual feedback on how to press the return key would have been welcome :D)
It is indeed a pretty short game, but hey, only 48 hours.

The graphics were simple and good. Uncluttered or however you call it.
The sound and music was good but nothing special.

PS: The character reminded me of Wario, you know, that dashing guy :).

Suese says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Awesome. Was this made with a platform-game maker engine? I notice there's no actual code in your source files...

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Great game. One of my favorites so far! Addicting gameplay

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Excellent graphics, and nice gameplay! Quite enjoyable in all. Hard to find a negative, but maybe the controls can be a bit snappier / more forgiving.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

This was my first 5* across the board game. Plays incredibly well and is legitimately fun. I would play a much longer version of this. Reminded me of the animations in the old WarioLand games. Great Job!

DevMax says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Awesome game!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Brilliant game! good, gameplay, graphics, sounds,...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

That was a lot of fun to play through, some nice puzzle elements mixed in with the platforming and some high quality sprite work going along with it, I look forard to seeing a fully fledged version sometime!

jujule says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:42pm

As others have said : great great great polish but I few problems with twitchy controls. I guess this can be fixed pretty easily. That and more levels !!!

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Its a great game =]

Blecta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Pixel Art is awesome and the gameplay is great ! Best entry so far !

YsenGrimm says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Delicious! :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02pm

It's really nice. It's hard to believe it's made in 48hours.

Mesene says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

You nailed it!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Fun and hard as hell! lol

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Liked it a lot, overall it remembered me a bit of Wario.

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Reminds me quite a bit of the wario land games in a good way :)
I wish that there was more feedback like a sound/animation when you hit the walls... It feels odd without it.

urth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Loved it!
Hope to see it soon on mobile devices.

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Funny! I was secretly hoping/dreading the whole time that I was going to have to dash backwards through all the rooms to escape.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Awesome story! I loved the ending and the way the character moves around. I just wish it was longer.

Beavl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Solid entry! We had some minor issues with control scheme but it was a really fun game to beat! Love the character by the way. Congrats!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I take off my hat to you, brilliant entry at all levels. The game is polished, fun, fits the theme and using dash as the core mechanic is a really interesting finding.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Stellar graphics, lots of humor, top marks on everything!!! Thank you for making this

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice stuff - a little frustrating at first until I realized the dash only worked in the air when falling, then it all started to make sense. I LOVE the fact that there is an ending "cinematic" - really made it feel like a complete game even if it was short-ish.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:31am

This is one of the best entries I've seen, super well done!! Everything is so well made! I hope you expand this into a full game, and mobile versions would be awesomeeeee!!

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

Wow, really nice work. Duke reminds me of Wario.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

Great game, you should definitely explore more of this gameplay with more levels, I'll be looking forward to play them :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17am

Amazing entry, man! Gotta love the art and sound! Dammit, I'm so envious. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20am

great art.. amazing accomplishment for the time limit! i like duke as a name much better =).. thanks for the comments on my game =) & retweet as well.. =)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

Well done ! Neat and satisfying gameplay, excellent graphics and atmosphere. Just lacks some extra levels as you said.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Aside from innovation this scores big!

Very solid game, very well done.

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Wish I made THIS game.

apaneske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Really liked the game. Had a bit of a hard time with the controls though.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Awesome game! I loved the dashing mechanic. The graphics are very nice, too.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Amazing graphics, fun mechanics, great experience.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Wow, that's really impressive ! Love the art, and the dash is perfect. Pure fun !
I want more !

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Really great! I got stuck on the level with the button behind the top and bottom spikes, but I'm bookmarking this to come back to!

Zener says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

Really Really good. I like it very much

KhaosLads says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Watched your stream quite a few time and was very impressed with your work! Inspired me to make games of my own. Once I got the dashing mechanic down, the game was a breeze! Good luck!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Jesus H Christ! Did you make this in 48 hours, don't want to doubt anyone but that's impressive! Nice graphics and great gameplay.

Good work!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

One of the best games I've played yet from this LD! Also I didn't even find it on this site, I started playing it from the 'Staff Picks' section on stencyl.com and only after the game started did I realise that it was made for the compo! ;)

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

REALLY LIKED IT !!
I enjoyed playing it & like the checkpoints, it saved me :D

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Didn't expect any less from you. Keep the good stuff coming!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That was pretty damn fun, would play more! Pesky bird!

rpmoura says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Really great!

murilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:24am

Fantastic!! The best game I've played so far where it caught my attention until I beat it! You sir, know your stuff!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19am

A really good entry, nice mechanic, things to learn, had fun, and great graphics!

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:15am

god that game was really cool!

Capro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very polished game. Good job!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Cute game! Love oldschool)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Was Wario Land an inspiration? It feels a lot like it - which is a good thing in my book, because I loved this series back then! You did a pretty good job there capturing this feeling :)

I do wonder how the temple made it this long if the auto-destroy-trap trigger was in front of the door, haha.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Good fun! The mechanic plays well and is a nice twist. Duke needs more to his game and a whole franchise devoted to him.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Awesome game! Graphics are great, the idea is great and make good use of the theme, and it's quite playable not overly annoying like a game like that could have very easily have become. Good job!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The sprite based graphics were nice, but the controls really need some work.

Taiters says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

Awesome game, really well made!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

very polished game with good gameplay. great art and level design. my only problem is that i have some difficulties timing the dashes with the jumping.

SneManden says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Wow, awesome! Really great game. Actually like the small levels - had a fine difficulty. The graphics are impressive along with the general polish of the game.

Sascha says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Great entry, well-rounded and polished. Nice gameplay idea and level design, and I love you graphics!

wally2069 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:33pm

It was interesting that you could dash left, up, and right but cannot dash down.

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Not bad, but seemed to lag a lot.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:21am

epic game is epic! get us moaaar levels :D

Oxydam says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:28am

Great game and graphics despite the controls.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:34am

Really polished game and looks great.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Awesome game, great job. Loved the graphics and the polish. Sometimes my velocity would be angled if I dashed from a moving platform and it felt like I could not always dash when I wanted (repeated button presses) but other than that this game is pretty fantastic.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Amazing game!

Tight controls, great graphics, good use of the theme and an interesting mechanic and level design.
Very, very nice job. Would love to see a full game, with many different treasures and temples.

Amazing work! :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Sometimes the controls felt a little bit unresponsive but everything is else was very very good. Great graphics. And very polished. Well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Graphics are stunning! The gameplay mechanics are original and work well. Overall a really good entry, great job!

mklee says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:14am

Really excellent entry, reminded me a bit of the old Wario Land games in an awesome way! The controls are a bit finicky, but with a tiny bit of tweaking I'd love to see this on a phone in the future!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Amazing artwork. Really funny character and story. Challenging levels. Awesome work!

FireZenk says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:34am

Wow! awesome game, but a bit difficult!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:05pm

this was a fantastic game. wish there were more levels

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Wot!! Awesome game. I really love art, sounds and story! :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:58pm

The graphics are simply top notch!
The lack of a sense acceleration made Dashington feel very "lightweight", though. Our brains intuitively know that object with large mass would have gradual acceleration. The fact that he almost immediately reaches full speed makes the player's brains intuitively infer that his mass is very low.
I think the loveable character design is the most likeable aspect of this game!

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Very nice and polished game mechanics. Also the game is very funny :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]