August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds at the Carnival!

by wccrawford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 Seconds at the Carnival is a quick round of your favorite carnival games, including ring toss, ball toss, and dart throw!

Match the color and you get 10 points. Non-matches scores only a single point.

Hold the left mouse button down longer to throw harder. Hold the right mouse button down to change the angle of the ring.

Post-Compo: Even I have been annoyed by the barker when playing (And it's my voice!) so I've added an options menu with the ability to disable music and the barker, individually. This took long enough that I think have to consider it a feature, rather than a bugfix, so I've kept it separate from the entry I submitted.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#188Audio3.22
#220Theme3.53
#262Fun3.31
#286Humor2.76
#395Mood2.94
#497Overall3.11
#647Innovation2.83
#781Graphics2.53

Comments

latte164 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice game but theres a glitch on the ring toss that if you throw a ring at the bottle hard enough it gets caught in the neck

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:40am

For that authentic carny experience.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:43am

I didn't figure it out yesterday, how do you edit a post? Anyway, I wanted to ask if you are adding more games?

wccrawford says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I did add another game, yes! Dart Throw is now in. I'm wracking my brains for others that are within my ability before the close, but I think that's probably the last one.

As for the physics glitches, I know about them, and I've decided not to further adjust the physics for them. It's kind of fun to play around and get rings linked together and stuff.

I don't think you can edit comments. You can edit your entry by going back to the submit link and your previous information will already be there.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

"Times a wasting!"

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

Now that's different, I'd never think about doing a carnival themed mini-game collection. The dart game is my favorite.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

darn... unity web player doesn't work in linux.. (or my old laptop)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Nice idea, liked the audio!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

Time's a wasting!

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Times'a wastin'. Nice game. Like the control scheme. Little bit slow for the charge up though.

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

Fun game with good audio, could see myself passing a bit of time playing this, good luck.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Nice party game to play with friends. I like it.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Rotating camera works quite well.
But I didn't win anything!

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

So you managed to put out not one but three minigames! That's awesome! I also really appreciate the extra effort put into audio. Still, I suck at the game! Only 40 points... Gonna try to get better at it. You definitely succeeded at your goal of making a fun game, looking forward to your artsy game for ld28.

VDZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18am

Wow. When I opened this page, I got a very bad impression from the, to be honest, ugly graphics. So I definitely did not expect there to be a great game underneath that I'd keep playing over and over again!

It's a very simple game, with mechanics that have been done to death. But it all just works so well it's a lot of fun despite that. This game really has the 'one more try!' factor.

Besides the graphics, I only have two minor criticisms about the game. Though I really like the rest of the audio, the announcer's voice at the start of every try gets very repetitive after a couple of plays. Secondly, and that's only a problem because I really like the game, the randomness is unbalanced and makes scoring unfair. For example, in the ring toss game, any run with a lot of white rings and a front row full of white bottles will have a higher score than other runs. It's even possible to get rings/balls/darts of colors that don't exist on the board! It adds a bit too much luck to a skill game, in my opinion.

Also, something I noticed, not sure if it's a bug or intentional: The high score is registered immediately, not at end of round. If your score decreases at some point (for example, a ring that was barely on falls off), the higher mid-round score counts towards your high score instead of your end-of-round score. This is very noticeable in the ring toss game when you get above 50 points.



Anyways, a game like this calls for score sharing. To all other commenters: What are your high scores? Mine are 80/50/71.

wccrawford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

Yeah, I was afraid the audio would get repetitive.

And yeah, I'm definitely not an artist. It's one of the things I want to work on before the next LD, but I know I'll need a lot of practice to get better at it.

As for the unfairness, yeah... I saw all that coming, and I decided that it spiced up the game more than it hurt it. The alternative was to spend a lot of time thinking up interesting layouts and programming in a way to switch between them randomly. Or to make sure there were 2 of each color and leave the rest white.

In the end, I decided I didn't really have time, and spent my time on the sound instead. The original version I submitted (at around 24 hours in the compo) had no sound at all!

I'm super happy that everyone is having so much fun with this game! 80/50/71 is pretty impressive, too.

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Pretty fun game, nice audio :D

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Fun enough, though the 10 second theme made it a bit frustrating to play and I got tired of hearing that time was a-wastin' pretty quick :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

I love these types of games :) Very fun!

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I liked this, it's addictive. I only feel that certain situations should score higher (like tossing a blue ball into the only blue cup on the field)

wccrawford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I've added options to disable the music and the barker to the Post-Compo versions!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Just love the annoying announcer

tokw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

nice unique i kinda like the audio gives it a carny mini game experience love the dart throw

Per says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nice minigames!
The voice really got me into a carnival mood :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really nice minigames. Made me smile. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

wccrawford says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

Awesome! Thanks for showing off my game!

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Really fun, I loved the audio.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]