August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ochre

by ben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about helping things to grow in a landscape of barren, ruined structures.

I haven't tested the builds on mac or linux. Please try them out and let me know how it goes.

Theme: The game's system are based on "10 seconds", most things are influenced in some way by that.

++ Basics ++
- Left click and drag to look around
- Left click and drag a resource onto a cube to add it
- Right click on long grass or another plant to harvest it

Homepage : rvaises.com ------ Twitter : @benswinden

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#30Mood3.89
#30Graphics4.23
#83Audio3.51
#178Innovation3.56
#188Overall3.48
#737Fun2.70
#906Humor1.59
#1103Theme2.30

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

An unusual game. Strangely pretty. I couldn't get into it so much - the moving around aspect felt awkward. But I liked the animation and what I think the concept was moving towards.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

I enjoy the meditative feeling of the game, but I'm also somewhat stymied by the slow pace -- though I guess that's the theme poking in. I really enjoy the graphical style, well done on that!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

Even if there's not much too it, there was definitely a feeling coming from this game. I enjoyed it, seems like there's some ideas here worth expanding on.

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

The hand drawn-esque graphics are really beautiful. I definitely felt serene while I was playing the game. I wasn't quite sure what to do, but I enjoyed picking the grass and seeing how the world expanded.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Very soothing artistic game. I'm not sure what to do after you get to the middle platform with the arrow pointing up like what is in your picture. I followed the path going down where another glowing rock fell and I could not tell what else to do. I tried going far up but did not see anything.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

That game was wonderfully sweet! I agree with Victor, the movement is a bit awkward, but it was lots of fun playing around and watching things grow... I'm not sure how it fits with 10 seconds though, and I couldn't figure out how to get down to whatever the crown was. My little green stone floating down through the rings but I couldn't go any farther.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

I'd have to say that I really enjoy the look of the art for this game. I also enjoyed the meditative mood and how that fit in with the gameplay, although I'm not exactly sure what to do by the guy with the crown.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

The graphics are gorgeous and it's a neat idea for a game. But you've deviated terribly far from the theme. Some sort of instruction would have been nice, I'm still not clear on the mechanics of the game. And I couldn't progress past the squares of 8 tiles even though I'd covered all the visible tiles with plants.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Wow. Incredible game. Fantastic art, great sound. I completely lost myself in is for 30 minutes :P

If this wasn't LD, then I would have thought this game had been in production for way longer than 2 days! Thanks for making it!

Also [SPOILER ALERT] is there any way to make the final stone glow or say something? I tried so many different things, but it wouldn't glow :(

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

I love it, you should definitely take this somewhere!

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

It runs on Linux, but very slowly. Furthermore, the scrolling to move around the map is very hard to work.

That being said, I was still willing to put up with that to play the game. It's super-zen and crazy beautiful. It's the most fun I've ever had literally watching grass grow. :)

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

Great game! The entire work immersed me in the world you created.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

Really relaxing game. It's very interesting.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

Very beautiful. Fitting low key audio. I kinda got stuck when I ran out of resources and didn't really know what to do though. But, I like it.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

I liked the graphics.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Good Game very strange

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Wonderful mood and graphics, I don't entirely see how it goes with the theme, but its really calming to play. It could have better flow in terms of the gameplay but other than that, really good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

Graphics are superb, though I was hoping from the screenshot that I'd get to rotate that thing. :) I think that I "won", but I didn't feel like there was enough confirmation of that? Although obviously this is a Zen affair so maybe you think it would be wrong to "win"...

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Ochre is really peaceful, I love it!

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Wow. Beautiful.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

This is great! Love the artstyle and the atmosphere. Gameplay is quite satisfying too :)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

It's really fresh, hope there will be a more complete version later on!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Good work!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I got as far as madK and didn't know what to do next... tried going up, but if there is something up there, I didn't see it. Lovely graphics! Wish I knew what I was doing so I could see more :)

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

This has a really nice look to it - hope you get the chance to flesh out the gameplay post-compo! My favourite game so far :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

The art style emphasizes tranquillity. The open air sound scape is very welcoming. I have a hard time playing though on my small laptop screen(the resources are not always on screen so I have to scroll the window).

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

This game has an odd and unique charm to it. It is quite relaxing to play with.

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I like the mood of this game. Paced kind of slow for me, but this is really good work nonetheless. The graphics are really charming!

Hegemege says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The game felt pretty empty even though that was sort of the whole idea I think. I really like the graphics though! The background audio had some static noise which really started to get on my nerves.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48pm

It's beautiful, but It was really hard to see my cursor when I was holding energy.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

awesome job

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

really nice mood and i love the hand painted look this could be really something special with a little more love

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

The Graphics are crazy good! They really help set an overall great mood.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Beautiful graphics, controls are a bit wonky thou

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

Lovely graphics and music! :)

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Beautiful game. Thanks!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice and relaxing to play. I don't know if there was anything after what I assume was the final stone, but I enjoyed the journey getting there ;) Possible bug with the clicking/dragging of the red and green resource?

wine says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:33am

It was a very unusual adventure ) Concept and style! Love it

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:46am

Very nice game. I was however not able to find out how it exactly works after playong for more than half an hour. It is always surprising what happens and I miss some feedback what should happen.

neekobus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Interesting graphics, miss instructions.
Sometimes you can't scroll (Chrome/OSX), and when you can, it's too fast.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I like "toy games" like these. This is like an environment of its own. Feels like there should be something more to do and grow though.

Sestren says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:48am

I like soothing, interactive art like this, although I never quite got the hang of exactly when I was supposed to be able to plant what kind of grass; it seemed random to me. Very beautiful game and nice sound effects.

ghostonline says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:54am

I love the art style and the atmosphere it conveys. Still, I did not really 'get' the game mechanics and the various interaction triggers.

brgarnet17 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Great and gentle game. I'll have to come and play this one again. there is probably mysteries left to uncover. The only thing that bothered me is that the drag and drop could be smoother and more accessible at times in the level. Thanks for this game!

fdevant says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I didn't understand very well what the rules or objective were, but it was nice to interact with and had a nice mood. The cursors, at least in my screen became really hard to see.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Wow! This game creates such a nice atmosphere. Calm and meditative. Nice artwork and fitting sound.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]