August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Seconds of Light

by kristof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an unarmed character trapped in a dark dungeon. Evil creatures, hidden in the shadows, try to eat you. Only the light of some rare to find torches helps you to fight them back for a few seconds. Will you find your way out of this nightmare...?

Controls:
Movement: Arrow Keys
Light a Torch: Space

Tools:
C++, Qt, OpenGL,
Xcode, QtCreator,
Gimp, sfxr

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Mood3.50
#224Overall3.43
#296Fun3.26
#401Graphics3.15
#465Innovation3.09
#674Audio2.32
#756Humor1.93
#800Theme2.89

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Cool. I'd like to see something like this with random generated dungeons.

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice game, I like the lighting effects. Having to start over from the beginning is a bit punishing.

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Neat! Like the lighting mechanism. Some feedback for how long your torch has left would have been nice.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I like this very much! i kinda don't see how is it related to the theme in anyway, but regardless! this is actually very fun to play! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

This was really fun! I love the idea, and the implementation is just great.
It's not that relevant to the theme though :C

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I love these style of games! Crazily enough, the game I made is very similar, with the idea of a dungeon-crawler-esque game where torches are used to light the darkness... crazy! Anyway, I enjoyed it, but I would have liked it better if it was longer or if there were some replay value... perhaps by having the items/enemies placed in randoms spots in levels if completely randomly generated dungeon rooms were too hard to achieve.

In any case, great work!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Thanks a lot for your kind replies! The connection to the theme is that the torches burn 10 seconds long, but I could have made this a bit more clear.
I would have liked to randomly generate the levels. But time was running out...
Thanks again for playing!

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

You should make horror games The way you use light as a weapon, and how you're always dreading what's around the corners is really cool. I feel like this would be amazing if it were a little longer.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Beautiful aesthetic you have going.. really enjoyed playing this. :) Positive ratings.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I really like how it isn't randomized because that way you get better with each death! Also the lighting looks great. Nice game!

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great game, nice lighting engine! Though what does it have to do with 10 seconds..?

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very nice game.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

This game is really great. At first I didn't even feel like I would ever need to use the torches, seeing as I could see just fine near me.
Then, as soon as I saw the eyes in the darkness, I realized they were dangerous. Everything immediately felt darker, and the torches became really valuable, and the darkness became really scary. One of my favorite entries so far!

foumart says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice feeling.. This game just needs some interface tweaks - for example a candle that is burning out for 10 sec. Also torches are sometimes disapearing even when got a couple collected already.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27pm

oh boy, i remember atari´s cause this game, awesome, i like it!!! good job :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I enjoyed the minimalist style. Very nice work. Spiffy lighting.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02pm

big fan of nethack here. Im really impressed by what you made kristof, torch mechanic is an interesting idea!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Cool entry. Nice idea!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Pretty solid dungeon crawler. Could be great with more content. In some cases, enemies get stuck in the narrow tunnels, and there seems to be no way to get past them.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Nice little dungeon crawler, felt like playing Adventure.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Great game! I love the darkness - the fog of war as some people call it. The atmosphere is fantastic. Good job!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

First game I've seen that interprets the theme as "light for 10 seconds" - really helps heighten the fun-nervousness that games can have. Like, oh no my torch went out I hope that bad guys don't get me.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24pm

That was pretty sweet! I actually felt uneasy while playing this, so it gave good mood!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I really like it, although I got stuck quite early (I cannot get the key in the third level, getting those monsters out of the one-tile corridor seems impossible without killing oneself).
Also, even if it may seem wrong, I got the most fun playing this game while stocking up all torches and never using a single one : monsters become even more scarier when all you can do is run.
Regarding randomized map : without going as far as generating them, you can simply randomize item placement through a predetermined list of places. Try "I'll Give You A Head Start" by Tifu, I think the random item placement added great replayability to the game.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I really liked the game mechanics and the lighting system !
I love when it's simple like this and just working.
The health system provided by how red the screen is works well also
Nice ! :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I like this game but i'm pretty sure this game is for theme Darkness. Still awesome.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

It was frustrating because the monsters would sometimes attack me even while I had a torch out and I had to restart from the tutorial every time.

Also it seems like my inventory wasn't always drawn. I would have one or two torches, but it would show nothing.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Also, why do you have the QtNetwork DLL? This better not be connecting to a server without asking me first.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

@lulzfish_4: No the there is absolutely no network code in the game. But when I did not include that dll, windows asked for it in an error message. Maybe I did something wrong in the compiler settings. The monsters are always dangerous if you come close to them. But when they see the torch, they try to run away. Thanks for playing anyways!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Nice lighting effects, i think the guy should have some invincibility window after being hit, or a bit of a cooldown on the attacks, because sometimes just gettin near a cat almost kills you immediately

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24am

I like this a lot. The torches providing light for navigation and defense is very well executed. Definitely a bit harder than I'd like, but the difficulty fits in line with the retro-game aesthetic.

lalanl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Great job, kristof! The lights were great (They reminded me a bit of Monaco. If you haven't played it I think you'd like it). I really liked how you healed automatically and there was no life bar.

I might have softened the item pickup sound, but that is a very, very minor complaint.

If you wanted to keep going with this, generated maps could work really well with what you have made. I would love if I could keep going and find more items and monsters.

apaneske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Wow :) I really liked how you used the lighting in the game. And the graphics was perfect. I would've liked more levels :)

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Dude, I love the lighting effects, really cool, would love to see where this could go with some more elements!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:22am

Fun and well-designed little roguelike! Only complaint I had was having to start from the beginning when I died.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

The idea and the way you rendered it are really elegants. :)

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Really well done. Had me on the edge of my seat :D Like the lighting and mechanics

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:06am

Terrific atmosphere! I love the blood red effects and regenerating health. And of course the lighting was very well done!
Great work!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I really like this game. Very simple, but the concept with the lighting and the glowing eyes in the dark is very well thought-out. Good job!

I'm not quite sure where you built in the theme. Do the torches last 10 seconds?

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:28am

Am I the only one having trouble moving? I seem to be doing so in one or two unit increments. Hmf. Nice work though! Nice sounds, very nice lighting and cool graphics! As others have said, it does not really fit the theme. Still a cool game!
8/10.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice dark dungeon! Good work! ;-)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Now I noticed that somebody mentioned nice sounds. I played it on Windows and didn't noticed any sounds. Can you please help me with this?

kristof says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Thanks for playing! There should be sounds on Windows. But its not much. I just used a generator to get some random sounds.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Thank you for your answer. I am sorry. I am probably a little tired. ;-) Yes, sounds are there. It is strange I didn't noticed it first time! :D Now I added rating also for sounds.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

The dogs(?) and torch mechanic made it far more creepy than I expected. :D

I think this works very well, and it was genuinely scary every time the torch started to fade out. The graphics and audio served it well. I think it's a good thing that there was no music. Silence and demon eyes closing in on you...

Only niggle is that it's a bit too easy to make the game unwinnable by cornering the dog with the key on the last level. Did it twice and had to start over... :'(

That tiny thing aside, I enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for making this, excellent work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]