August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Clocksworth

by H-Bomb - Jam Entry

Time to storm the Castle Clocksworth!
In this game, the Evil (and Stupid) Lord Clocksworth has accidentally made time repeat itself every 10 seconds. You play as Victoria Steamcroft, a scientist armed with her trusty steam chainsword in puzzle rooms.

The controls are simple:
-arrow keys to move
-space to use chainsword
-brain to solve puzzles

This is our second participation to Ludum Dare Jam. It is stressful yet very fulfilling experience. We are more than happy that we bring this action-puzzle-thingy this far! Hope you'll like it!

We had far more rooms, and props, and ideas... That kind of challenge teaches us not to set our sight too high. Keeping a schedule is hard!

Please tell us what you think of our game! It will help us getting better for the next Ludum Dare.

H-Bomb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#15Graphics(Jam)4.60
#17Overall(Jam)3.96
#34Fun(Jam)3.71
#35Mood(Jam)3.86
#44Audio(Jam)3.71
#97Theme(Jam)3.53
#183Innovation(Jam)3.22
#192Humor(Jam)2.81

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

This is very very polished, the art and animations are beautiful. Well done! Rated this very high. :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Very fun game. I like the idea of not resetting the level unless the player dies. I had no idea what to do at the boss though.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

The art is great, the sound is absolutely fantastic. The gameplay lacks.

Sort of strange puzzles i have to say, the 10 second timer didnt really have a purpose other than forcing the player to take severel runs on a level and after 15 minutes of trying to figure out what to do at the boss fight i gave up.

So it is a very promising looking game, that couldve used some more developing time in the gameplay aspect, but what LD game couldnt? Good job overall.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

A good game an nice polish. unfortunately im not good at puzzle games..

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Very cool theme and graphics! I spent ages trying to figure out what to do though (didn't read your description until afterwards). Great job and keep at it! :)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

The art and design blows me away; I am in love with the main character. Isn't she adorable? Amazed.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Man that art! I love the intro and the animations on all the characters. Rated very high! Pretty impressive how polished this experience is.
The only thing I didn't love was the 10 second timer that felt a little arbitrary. It seemed like that was placed over a really cool game to make it fit the theme.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

really nice art but i really couldnt figure out the second level. no gear when i kill them all. and i could only move the blocks one space before they would stop i couldnt leave the box

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Yeah what you did with the theme, and how you fleshed out a narrative around it. A lot of fun!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

The text scroll on the opening screen is really very slow. The game itself is incredibly polished. The animations and the characters are fantastic. However, unless I missed something, I found it impossible to get through the 2nd room. There are just too many of them to kill. Nice overall concept however.

anserran says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Great game!

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice!
Must say that I found the steam sound a bit weird, and the box moving direction mechanic not very transparent but the art and overall gameplay is really pretty.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Everything except humor got five stars from me. One my of all-time favorite games, not even exclusive to LD27.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Really want to play this, but when it opens, it gets stuck at loading 262%! Why?

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I'm delighted, with only 72 hours you did an awesome game, it could be a bit more challenging though. The art is amasing, especially the cute character design, the only thing I didn't get, as some people have comented is the 10 sec. timer, it feels a little bit odd and doesn't add much to the game.

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

oxysoft > We hade a bug making the boss nearly impossible when we firt uploaded the game, it is fixed! Don't hesitate to give it another try. :)
SkyTheCoder > Thank you very much!
Pickens Inc. > One of my friend had the same problem, but it worked after he refreshed the page a few times.
I will ask our awesome programmer if he can fix it.
Please try this link and tell me if it works!
http://pauljoannon.com/articles/ld27/

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

Wow! I love your artwork and chainsaw weapons are always fun ;)

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Overall a great game. Its a bit short and the time travel mechanics could be better exploited in those kind of puzzles but its great for just 72hours ! Well rated.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Excellent game, definitely one of the best ones I've played in this LD so far!
The only downside I can see is that the character's handling is a bit lacking, and a clear grammar of what will be reset by the time warp and what will not would have helped.

The graphics are simply awesome, excellent pixel art is pretty scarce. I think this game would be worth expanding, adding interactions to the steam chainsaw (the ice bridge is a great idea!), and refining the handling.

Sirs, you have my respect :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Great art! Very fun game!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Steam chainsword, hell yes!!! I love the pixel art, really distinct and polished! Interesting gameplay around 10-seconds as well, though it felt like it was more of something that got in your way. Overall I had fun playing this game! I manage to beat the boss, ha!

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Great game, art, sound, story. I actually liked the gameplay and the 10 seconds mechanic. There's much room for improvement. Hope to see this release in the future!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

The pixel art is amazing! the gameplay stumped me a bit though...

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24am

Love the pixel art and the puzzles. I'm actually quit amazed at what you could get done in 3 days. The game at great characters and set a good feel throughout. My only problem was during the boss fight it got really laggy for some reason. And every time I died it took it's sweet time respawning me.

-AlucardX60

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30am

I loved this! Excellent art, fun, simple gameplay, good music. Great job you all! The art design of the boss was awesome.

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00am

Loving the zelda style game play.

Great theme, great characters, sweet art, awesome music and a full start middle end of the story. Really cool.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:53am

This is one of the best LD entries I've ever seen. It has tons of charm, catchy music, great graphics, wonderful pacing, a decent challenge that isn't too steep, and a rewarding boss fight. This is seriously a triumph. CONGRATS! -SonnyBone

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36am

Cant load the game, is the site dead..?

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Stunning pixel-art, nothing to say! :)
Game mechanics works fine for me, even if the 10 seconds limit was a bit forced. Anyway a high rate for this.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35am

Great audio and graphics, sometimes the mechanics of the puzzles were a bit unclear for me, but that also could've been me.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Great art and soundtrack. The gameplay and especially the ruleset remained a mystery to me for quite some time. Some boxes could be moved, but only in certain directions, and only once.. a little strange, but anyway. Quite a cool game. Sadly it got stuck after leaving the 4th or 5th room, so I couldn't finish it. :/

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:53pm

First jam game I've played, so not really sure how to rate it. Just basically gave it a star less than I would have a compo game in all categories, meaning that I gave you a couple of 4-stars ;)
Amazing art and audio, and some very nice puzzles in there as well.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Will post video review when done.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Are you serious !? What that fucking gaaaame ? That art, that music, that's really impressive ! The polishing is perfect, and I'm in love with the boss sprites <3
You did a really big work, but you did it well. My favorite game !

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Please do ^^

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

the artwork is ridiculously good. i found myself dying a lot though. the boss was intense!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

Amazing art and music! I wished there was more background music before the boss battle, and combat could be more fleshed out, but everything is still too terrific!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

Fantastic artwork and interesting gameplay with simple controls, though I felt like I stuck to walls quite a bit, which cut into the timer a lot leading to some frustrating restarts. Also there were some times where I felt like I got stuck entirely unless I restart, but I might have just not understood the puzzle.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I really love your sprite work!!!

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

Oh, wow! This is one of the best pieces I've seen here! It is really well polished, the inspiration and concept is just amazing! Time repeating at every 10 seconds was really novel, congrats for the great work xD

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

it's a steam punk zelda! only harder :) cool game.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Video review link: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2840374

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

Great art and nice puzzle :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Love the graphics, though I couldnt figure out what to do in only a minute... XD I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:16am

Fun game. Beautiful art and music. Thanks!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice job!! The artwork and music are really polished, and I did like the puzzles, even though at times I had some problems with collisions (for example, in the second to last level, once you get the exit door open, depending on if you get to enter close to the arrow tiles, the player gets stuck playing the walk animation unable to move until time runs out)

One of the best entries I've found this edition. Congrats! :D

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Beautiful game, great animation, but the last boss was impossible!

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

blackotus > He's a bit hard, but have you tried to destroy and collect his gears? He's way easier once you took care of his gattling-gun!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Damn, nice job. *Really* polished and absolutely finished game! Even a cool boss battle!

villhest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Awesome game! I really like the nostalgic gameplay, the art and the music, although the music disappeared mid game on one level.

wintermute says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Very well made game, puzzles are ok and graphics+music are nice. However, I could not beat the first boss because the game was lagging too much - is it because of its HTML5inish together with a poor support by browsers?
High marks anyway!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

5/5. Well done!

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Well done game! Love pretty much everything about it. KUDOS

Hayawi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03am

it's nice how there are different levels! the graphics are great and i spent a while on each level

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:03pm

good job

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very cute art style , tons of polish! Very well done.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Is it just me or is there no hint on what blocks can be moved and what not? Otherwise nice game, best graphics & sound combo I've seen so far.

Cosr says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Pretty solid game. It could use a tiny bit of grammar polish.

I felt some of the hit boxes were a little off, particularly concerning the electric zappy things. I kept getting hurt when I put the gear into the one in the third room (first one you encounter I think?). Seems the hit box for the zapper extends past the boxes beside it. It's like a lot of the objects in rooms look like they have a uniform tiled size, but their hit boxes don't match up to that (I think the tiles that push you are a little off too; got stuck on one when I managed to step on it while still be blocked by a red block beside it). It makes the gameplay feel just a bit less polished than it could.

Might have been interesting if the 10-second-reset was a bit more integrated into some of the puzzles (though too much of this might be hard to design), requiring the player to use their knowledge that the room is about to reset to solve them (or even simpler things, like in the bit where the player has to go into a little area to kill a robot, and then can push some block to get out; why bother making the block pushable, when the player is about to be reset to the beginning anyways?). Make it a bit more interesting than just an arbitrary requirement to do some things fast.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This is hands-down my favorite jam entry. The music and art is amazing, and the gameplay is really fun. And with steam punk added to the mix, oh man. The chain sword is delicious.

Two minor things: It could need some more indication that time is about to reset. Also, what's with the bullets at the end? Are you going shmup? ;)

I would really like to see you continue to develop this. It's got too much potential to leave an LD entry!

PS: Can I have a download for the soundtrack? :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Doesn't appear like a jam game.

H-Bomb says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Cosr> Thank you for your comment! I kinda agree with everything you said. ^^

Cryovat > Here is the music!
https://soundcloud.com/studio-h-bomb/sets/castle-clocksworth

I don't think you can directly download it, but I'll see with Max if we can do something about it. :)
We are currently working on another (big) project, but depending on our ratings we might want to continue to develop Castle Clocksworth.

Jiggawatt > What do you mean?

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

This is fantastic. Tricky but never frustrating, and the art and music are great. The boss fight was very satisfying to beat.

GFM says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Okay, rating this on the last minute wasn't a good idea... I couldn't beat the boss... xD

I really liked this game! The graphics are great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]