August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Specky

by Rabbits... - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide Specky the speck through a field of random rocks ten seconds after the universe was created.

Control using the entire keyboard to move.
Ex: Q moves to the top left, Y moves upward

Thank you for playing and please leave a comment if you can, it only takes 10 seconds (:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#282Humor2.77
#412Innovation3.16
#594Audio2.47
#650Mood2.60
#864Overall2.73
#948Fun2.42
#992Graphics2.13
#1139Theme2.06

Comments

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Really like how yo control Specky with your entire keyboard. The universe is funny. Cool idea.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

I saw the number in the corner and though "Oh my god it is calculatin Pi how di I stop it" :P

Nice idea!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very cool control scheme.

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

I loved the entire keyboard controls. It worked surprisingly well. Very fun game.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

The control scheme is interesting, but ultimately it seems like the most effective choice is to just use the keys at the extreme ends, as they move you the fastest, providing you with the greatest mobility to dodge rocks.

I like the sound, don't hate the music, and the art is not bad at all. The dialogue between the universe and Specky was entertaining at first, but lost its charm as it started to get repetitive ("The gravity's getting stron" twice in a row killed the vibe for me). The theme seems a bit shoe-horned in, too, with the fact that it's 10 seconds after the universe is created having very little to do with the gameplay. Still, it's better than disregarding the theme completely, and it's a pretty good hook for the story.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

Four stars of innovation for "Move With The Entire Keyboard" that worked really really well, actually.

Tortche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

"Control using the entire keyboard to move" is pretty much the best control scheme I've seen in ever.

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

That's a really interesting control scheme.

Taylor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Cool idea, although honestly I'd have preferred better controls and more depth of gameplay.

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Moar lens flare!!!1!!

pcmccull says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

The whole keyboard control is interesting. I did find that I just used the fastest keys on either end, so the rest of the keyboard wasn't used. Fun game and plenty of particles :)

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Using the entire keyboard to move about made me laugh. Was a fun game

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Liked the audio, I think it fit the game... I also thought the control scheme was pure genius, but I'm a fan of quirky control schemes so don't take my word for it :P

I think you could have used the theme of the contest a bit better though.

Good luck mate!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Nice entry! very odd control scheme. As others have said, while it's different, it really just ends up being sort of annoying to use.

Sound was EXTREMELY loud for me... not really sure why.

There also really should have been some sort of loading bar. The page was just plain white for me for about 10 seconds, and I almost closed it thinking it was bugged. Similarly, having to sit there for 10 seconds at the beginning made me wonder if I was supposed to do something.

Cool concepts otherwise!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Using the entire keyboard was funny, it added a bit of challenge to the game with slight awkwardness.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Really nice use of the theme, and I've never seen a control scheme like it! Still trying to decide whether that's a good thing or not ;)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Quite interesting. Controls are neat. I love the dialogue of the universe and the speck

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I liked the keyboard controls, I eventually settled on just 4 buttons so I'm not sure if it was necessary.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Cool control scheme - there are some issues with it when using a German keyboard, though .. Where the Y for the Americans is, we got a Z.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

controlling is cool, hard to wrap your head around at first when you're used to wasd, not sure where 10 seconds came into play

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I like how you just said "to hell with it- I'm going to just use the whole keyboard to control the game". Pretty fun!

Jayjay says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:02am

I definitely love the control style, and the idea of fighting the creation of the universe to survive =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]