August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second burn

by Paul Sinnett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a Scratch project so you can view the source by clicking on the "See Inside" link.

I figured a 10 second limit on gameplay might be a bit restrictive, so I plumped for 10 seconds of rocket fuel. As Neil Armstrong died on this date 1 year ago, I thought it might be fitting to base a game around the last moments of his moon landing.

As in the real moon landing, the fuel warning indicators give bogus readings due to the fuel sloshing around in the tank. Try to ignore the warning lights, you have 10 seconds of continuous burn available to make your landing. If you think you're not going to make it, abort the mission.

It's possible to use too much fuel landing the ship. If you do that you'll be stuck on the moon.

I've started working on a post competition version of the game. If you want to see the latest version, you can play it here:
http://scratch.mit.edu/projects/12021906/

Issues addressed in the new version:
* now easier to land
* sound effect volume reduced
* you can no longer crash into the warning messages

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#328Theme3.39
#336Graphics3.28
#538Fun2.94
#676Overall2.95
#749Audio2.18
#922Innovation2.44
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

It's a neat idea to use time as a hidden resource and constantly having the alarm mislead you. I did have some trouble landing though, was kinda tough for me to position myself without gaining too much speed even if I was fairly low to the ground. Love the vector style art, and the sound effects may be a tad bit loud.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

I had a lot of fun playing this. If I had any complaint, I wish there were more scenarios to play through. I love the controls, the graphics, and the difficulty of it. Great job!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39am

Yeah, I do need to tweek the controls to make things a bit easier. I'm using the real gravity value for the moon and for the scale of the landing module.

I did want to make more levels, but ran out of time. Other commitments.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I think I might start on a post competition version. I'll put in more scenarios so that the abort mission option will have more meaning.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

Tough game! But its fun and has that addictive, one more try and I know I can get it feel.

I have mixed feelings about the hidden fuel. By not seeing the fuel it didn't really add much? By seeing it, you would get that sense of urgency as its running out. But since I didn't know what it was and could just ignore the alarms, I almost just ignored that feature all together. Still, I enjoyed the game!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39am

Yeah, I think I needed multiple levels to give a greater sense of loss from failing to land within the fuel limits.

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Great Job. I had a good time playing.

The graphics are great and you got the controls spot on!

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

It reminds me of another landing game with limited fuel and vector graphics. Will try and find it.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

I've started working on a post competition version of the game:
scratch.mit.edu/projects/12021906/

Issues addressed in this version:
* now easier to land
* sound effect volume reduced
* you can no longer crash into the warning messages

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Really fun ! I had a really hard time landing the probe, and I felt lucky more than a really skilled pilot :) Maybe you could have create an easy-medium-hard level system ? And one or two more levels would have be really fun also. Great job !

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:54am

I couldnt beat it!!! lol but it is a fun game, very addictive in the whole you-really-want-to-beat-it type of way. I featured it in my Ludum Dare compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6xfnRK2Anw

Paul Sinnett says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:45am

Thanks for the video. The compo version suffered quite badly from the rule that the feet had to land together. From the video it looks like that was what was causing most of the problems after getting the initially drop under control.

I've relaxed that rule in my post compo version. I needed to try out some alternative hit detection as the mechanisms Sctach has for this kind of thing are quite primitive. I think this has now made the game overly easy although I plan to release harder landscapes at some point to vary the difficulty and provide more of a campaign gameplay which will make aborting the attempt a proper risk / reward.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

I liked the vector art style. The game reminded me of some old atari maybe nintendo game where you have to land on stuff and the controls are similar. I don't remember which one though. Cool idea, needs a bit more levels or something though.

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice idea, more levels would of been a plus but fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]