August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Parsecs

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Captain's Log: Day 1.

I am Captain Dirk Daily. I have been sent on a top-secret mission by the UN. I must retrieve five golden McGuffin Orbs, named for their discoverer,
Prof. Matthew McGuffin. They apparently hold some great power, but the details have been withheld from me. I have been sent to a remote star system,
which is uninhabited apart from a few space pirates. I must take care to avoid these brutes, as they will surely attack me on sight for my precious cargo.
My ship has been fitted with a gun, but I doubt I'll be able to best them in combat with their far superior numbers.

After retrieving the orb from this system, I must enter a nearby black hole which will transport me to another such system, containing another orb.
When I have collected five of these orbs, I shall enter one final black hole to escape any pirates which may be tailing me, and return home.

My mission is one fraught with peril. I shall be lucky to return alive.

The post-compo version is incomplete and I will probably work on it further when I feel like it.


Oh, and how does it tie to the theme? "Parsec" is short for "Paralax Arcsecond". You can read about that here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parsec

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#923Audio1.50
#932Humor1.50
#1030Innovation2.22
#1047Mood1.82
#1051Graphics2.00
#1051Fun2.20
#1157Overall2.11
#1168Theme1.82

Comments

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48am

I didn't realize at first how to control movement, but it was just because there weren't any planets on the screen so I couldn't tell that I was moving. After that, I did beat the first level. Not bad! It'd be nice to maybe have some stars in the background so I can tell how fast I'm moving easier. And I felt like I didn't have much control over whether or not the pirates would find me. But if was fun to play.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Not sure how it matches the 10 seconds theme, but anyway I liked it

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice concept, but very rough. I would love to see a polished version!

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48am

Same here a more polished post-compo version would be nice. Maybe some sound? Also 5 stars for "MacGuffin orb".

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Good game. But the laser is so dark I can't distinct it from the background.

BipoleMoment says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I made you fanart.
http://oi43.tinypic.com/2ugf95l.jpg

All in all, good game. I couldn't finish it. After a few levels, the controls went haywire and I could hardly steer the ship.

But honestly? It was great. Good job!
(Nice use of "second")

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:30am

You got a good idea, but I don't think the execution paid off. Maybe spending more time and releasing a post-compo version?

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Quite a cool and innovative game! Needs more polishing though.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I had a lot of trouble to find out what the orbs are that I need to pick up :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:42am

Pretty cool graphics though I dont think I fully understood how to play, I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Pretty good. It would've been nice if all rotation was based on the direction you were facing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]