August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Multiple Personality Quest

by Serilyn - Jam Entry

Note: If you download the Windows version you need the XNA framework from the links if you don't have it already.
The Javascript version has some performance issues on Firefox on some computers, so for best results, use Chrome.

The last thing you know you were fighting the evil wizard Xanthan. Now you are trapped in the same body with the rest of your adventuring companions, cursed to switch personalities every 10 seconds.

Instructions and Tips:
* You can play 1 move per "second" where a second is a game turn.
* Every 10 of these "seconds" your personality will change to either paladin, ranger, bard or wizard.
* The places you can walk are highlighted in yellow.
* The enemies you can attack are highlighted in pink.
* Each personality has 3 skills at the bottom of the screen. These take mana to cast and the mana is shared between personalities.
* Hit points are also shared between personalities
* The dungeon has 5 levels and Xanthan the Wizard is on level 5.
* Since this is an rpg in the roguelike tradition. Be aware that if you see a dragon in the beginning levels it might be a good idea to run. Hitpoints are a good gauge (but not foolproof) of a monster's power.

This game is a jam game because I my idea was too ambitious and I needed the extra time. The only compo rules broken were 48 hours instead of 72 and I borrowed some art from my LD25 entry when I realized I was going to jam anyway.

Used:
Visual Studio - IDE
C# - code
XNA - code
JSIL - Port C# to Javascript
Photoshop - graphics
BFXR - sound effects
Audacity - sound effects
Autotracker - music
OpenMPT - modifying the music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Theme(Jam)3.41
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#228Fun(Jam)3.07
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#277Mood(Jam)2.96
#322Humor(Jam)2.29
#346Audio(Jam)2.63
#349Graphics(Jam)3.03
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

I liked your game! Namely, I liked your use of the ten-seconds theme as being a way to change your strategies and approach to how you were going to tackle the game.
My only gripe was how easy the game was and how it felt like my strategies towards each enemy, regardless of class, didn't feel like they changed. Anyways, I'd like to see where this game goes in the future XD

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25am

Cool use of the theme in an rpg setting!

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Nice concept! The four-in-one aspect gave some interesting timing opportunities. Moving around the map is verrry slow though, that saps some of the speed of the game. Remember: our fickle attention span demands speed. :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Great use of the theme. I enjoy roguelikes.

joelrobichaud says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:56am

Usually, time is thought of as real-time and I like how you chose the opposite path, making a turn-based game.

Also, as @Joror already said, I think players should be allowed to move faster. Other than that, good job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

My only complaint it that it was too easy. After using the ranger/mage to level up on the first floor or two by killing every enemy I could find, it was pretty simple to just rush through the rest. I ended as a level 6 and killed the wizard in two hits of the paladin's attacking skill.

Other than low difficulty, I really enjoyed the game and the concept. Would definitely love to see a bigger, more difficult take on this concept.

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

I love dungeon crawlers, but woah, found this pretty difficult, maybe im too noob lol

yagiz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Interesting game (circling the characters would make diablo more interesting in my opinion) but to me it was easy so I did not need the skills (so the characters were basically ranged or melee). Also, I wanted to move with the keyboard (or move faster) and the info panel on the right was cutting into the game view (so the character did not feel centered etc...).

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

What a neat concept for a tactical dungeon crawler! I always loitered around as Geoff for the Bard Buff, just before turning into someone combat-savvy.

As areas for improvement, the movement was pretty tedious. It'd be nice if arrow keys were integrated into the controls, and the movement between tiles was a bit faster. That aside, I had a great time. thanks for putting this together!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Real interesting approach to the theme. The game is random and I guess that makes it kinda difficult. I didn't notice. But do the personalities cycle in order? Still. It was good! Solid game!

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Nice rogue-like.
But missing loot ;-)

Serilyn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

@Angrycrow - Nope. It just makes sure it doesn't pick the same one twice in a row.

To the rest - Thanks for the comments :) Yep the balance is all out of whack, especially at higher levels and the movement could be sped up a bit.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I really like this game, plays smoothly, good music and art.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]