August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colour

by Spit Tex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Colours change every ten seconds.Use Arrow keys to move.Press space to reset the game. Save the world from the monocolours of black and white.Play on christmas day to see the difference.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#330Audio2.94
#661Innovation2.82
#735Graphics2.59
#985Fun2.35
#1100Overall2.35
#1157Theme1.88
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:30pm

nice!!! interesting,,,,,

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Really simple and felt different.
Music was great and once again, simple.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Decent! :)

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I don't understand what this has to do with "10 seconds?"

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very nice work, love the visuals.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Is that because I'm color-blind that I've got trouble to play this game? x)

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I didn't really get how the color effected the world... it was really pretty, though.

BomberGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

High five fellow Gamemaker user!

Like the others said, I like the simplicity of it, and I think the music fits that feel (it was nice to have a more relaxing soundtrack after the stress of the competition and the speed-based entries).

However, the mechanics left something to be desired. It doesn't seem like the color changing has any effect on the game, nor does the ball that activates music. It would have greatly benefitted from strict orthogonal, grid-based movement (think Pokemon puzzle league.)

Also, what do you mean by "Play on christmas day to see the difference."? I changed my date and time and nothing changed (would be really cool if something changed, am I missing a joke?)

Overall I enjoyed the game, but I was left a little confused (I was only able to get to the first black and white stage, I guess I got restarted then?).

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

very simple game, didnt quite understand how i was moving the blocks.. but where does 10 seconds come in to play?

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Possible issues with running this game on a Windows 7 64-bit computer? At times the blocks disappear and start blinking out when you move... wish I could play!

Spit Tex says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Problems with blocks should be fixed, although I don't think it's because of your OS as I have the same, but hopefully i fixed it now, tell me if problem persist

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Nice game :) Simple but entertaining !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]