August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Definition Quest

by ahm99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Definition quest is about a person (named Gorund) trying to figure out what "ten seconds" means so he can make his Ludum Dare game.

////PLEASE READ////:
THIS GAME HAS AN ENDING!
Make SURE you TALKED TO EVERYONE or you will not be able to win. Once you have, there are two people that let you beat the game (hint: they may say something like, "talk to me later")

Also, sorry for the footsteps and the lame gameplay.

Controls:
ARROW KEYS to move
X to interact with NPCs (you must be in front of the NPC to talk to them)

Known issues (that I am too lazy to fix):
Some tiles are on the wrong layer so you can see through the wrong places (but you may not find it)

You can't talk to one character under certain conditions

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

hercludes says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Good work. Keep trying. You might make something good by the time you turn 10.

ahm99 says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:25am

@hercludes What do you mean by "turn ten"?

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:34am

he was being a faggot, ignore him and keep writing games!!

Drakonid says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:14pm

esdf is kind of weird, and the foot steps are kind of annoying, I like where it's going.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43am

Had problems with the controls. Keep trying. Good Work.

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23am

Annoying footsteps, but quite amusing :)

ahm99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I don't think I made it clear enough that the game has an end, please read the description.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I won! (Because I didn't lose.)

Pretty funny game.

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:46pm

All I did was talk to people until I could talk to more people until I won. Not very engaging gameplay.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Interesting idea. I feel as though there is too much walking to do and not enough stuff to grab the player's attention.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]