August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

NodeNetOS

by Zathalos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hack quickly into the system and steal valuable resources. How many layers can you go?

Controls: Left click to hack nodes and select abilities.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Innovation3.65
#161Theme3.65
#217Overall3.44
#218Graphics3.52
#266Fun3.30
#411Mood2.91
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17am

There were too many instructions to remember all at the beginning, but I got the hang of it while playing. Maybe it could be harder, but I enjoyed playing to the end.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25am

Interesting game but against a proper opponent there seems like there would be no way to attempt to turn a game around. If you just recapture all buildings that get taken the game is determined in the first move.

Malactus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Interesting game mechanics, as others say here however there is too much to remember. I liked it :)

Perhaps a scroll-over tip tool on each node to say what they are? This would make the decisions a bit more easier and eventually allowing the player to remember the nodes them selves.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

Very clean, stylish, and interesting puzzle game.

I'd have liked to see more use for the Breaker or Remote Hacking abilities; otherwise, the game was very dependent on chaining Free Rez grabs in the first few turns, and blocking off territory. Perhaps if the AI had abilities similar to your own, it would be more challenging. That said, very fun and interesting concept. I enjoyed it a great deal!

ign says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Really hard to understand what i need to do. I am not good hacker :) Color and graphics =5

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

You know. Once i got it. I had a real good time. You've been bookmarked and added to my list of LD27 greats!

deathray says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

confusing to learn... but seems deep!

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

I'm having problems understanding the game. Somehow, I can complete a round but I couldn't understand why.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Cool game! I couldn't really remember what all the nodes did, and that was eventually my undoing.

Kidney says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

I loved this game, and the process of figuring out each level was enjoyable in a way like Advance Wars/etc.

That said, I was lost for about the first 90 seconds (and slightly frustrated) because I did not understand the resource -> actions system, and also the initial placement of my home was not ever listed as a step, despite being quite an important part of the strategy. (Yes, I really somehow did not understand what was going on there. It boggles me too now that I know it.)

Overall, the concept and execution of this game is fantastic, well done.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

confusing and i did not get the point,couldnt rate

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

Good execution, a bit overwhelming at first.

Some hover tips would be nice during the game.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

fun :D

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Very addictive, and excellent design, it doesn't even need a sound (its absense goes nicely with the hacking theme). I've gone through it two times, and I didn't get enough of this game, make more levels in a Post-Compo version! That's clearly the best game of Ludum Dare 27 for me.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice! One of my favourites so far. I didn't think the gameplay was too complex but as said below I do think tooltips could help as I couldn't remember what the abilities did. Other than that it was very enjoyable, but would like to see some harder levels. Nice work!

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:17pm

I have no idea what I'm supposed to do at first, have to reload and reread the instruction again to get it. And once I've had the hang of it, IT'S AWESOME! and pretty easy too (me thinks).

you got all my stars!

d(^________O

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Overall: great stuff! Glad to see that Hackfield is not the only hacking-related game in LD27! Please, expand it if you can!

Innovation: slighty original but doesn't seem to be new.

Fun: Short, and AI seems to be simple. Gameplay was so simple that I didn't have to use abilities. I fell in love with the gameplay complexity, though.

Theme: five.

Graphics: neat, nice, purist, and clear.

Audio: N/A

Humor: N/A

Mood: well, I didn't really get the feeling of hacking. This is the weakest part of the game, but I can forgive it, actually.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:36am

Too much information at start to remember. No fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]