August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of Your Craft

by josefnpat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

### Build for 10 seconds and then fight off the attackers with your friends!

Visit the web page for this game: http://missingsentinelsoftware.com/content/defense-your-craft

Defend your space station in this free-form tower defense game with up to five players! Use the money you accumulate to build more defenses, but be quick; you only have 10 seconds until the next wave!

Choose between three different classes:

* Soldier - Short range, but he packs a punch. His special is a shield boost that absorbs a lot of damage!
* Ranger - Long range, and faster than the rest. His special is a explosive area discharge! (You don't earn money with the special!)
* Medic - Pretty dopey, but his special is the only thing that can heal in the game!

For more games, visit missingsentinelsoftware.com!

Update: Due to the basic binaries having different versions of PhysicsFS between OS X and windows, I didn't catch this bug. This was fixed here. https://github.com/josefnpat/LD27/commit/b6ac91e37746bbb1ff3559c5b4b5676b769a1297 OS X users need to play b6ac91e (Downloads have been updated!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#199Audio3.20
#246Overall3.40
#319Fun3.23
#427Graphics3.09
#465Innovation3.09
#470Mood2.83
#620Theme3.11
#644Humor2.09

Comments

iyzsong says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Great! But I just can't handle it with my laptop's touchpad.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Interesting idea of implementing 10 seconds theme in rts/tower defense game.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

great game josefnpat. I enjoyed watching you develop it on twitch. The use of mouse click noise as a sample in your music is pretty neat. Anway, I only wish I had some friends so I could do 5 player mode.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

I enjoyed the music for this and the simplicity of the turret placement was really nice. I wished for a "back up" key many times; I found myself smashing my face on turrets trying to build what I wanted.

Pestodesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29am

Great idea for the time limit! Very challenging, nicely ballanced game!

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

Doesn't work on my mac. :(

Here's the error message: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/168626814/Screen%20Shot%202013-08-26%20at%204.29.18%20PM.png

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

Nice work, I kept going back for more! Great music too, doesn't seem repetitive when looping

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

It is cool and fun :D

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

I tried to download the Love file and use it with the love app and I tried to download the pre-compiled Mac file and I got this error screen both times: http://tinypic.com/r/347wg2x/5

Sorry for the weird black bar overlay. I'm streaming. xD

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

The Mac OS X version does not work and the Love version is actually 'The Ohter Side'. Please fix.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nice concept, even if I couldn't experience it in full (single-player). Took a while to get the hang of it. It'd be nice if the controls were displayed somewhere other than the intro screen.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

@iyzsong Sorry, I hadn't even considered touchpad users.

@PaidGEEK Glad you liked it. I was hoping folks would get the 10 seconds thing.

@leafo I think that might have been an accident ... haha ... Thanks for watching!

@moonmagic I'm getting a lot of folks not liking the controls, and it makes sense. I should have abstracted movement from shooting.

@Pestodesign Thanks, I spent quite some time balancing it. As much as I could witha cat on my arms ...

@Impmaster Fixed!

@codifeye I'm glad you liked it. iNudge is a great tool!

@GNecro1 <3

@Crowbeak Thanks for pointing this out, it has been fixed. Thanks for playing it on your stream!

@Aurel300 Fixed!

@BlackBulletIV Thanks! The game is designed to be 1 to 5, so it scales properly.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

Fun, but I found the space combat really hard.. also some more indications of losing would be nice, such as you ship exploding!

Oh. and love<3

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04am

Took a while to get used to the controls, but then the game feels really great. Can't wait to play this with some friends.

It's also a shame we can only give 5 stars for audio. The music is great!

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21am

Incredibly well done!

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

great game and i see a lot of potential in the multiplayer, altough hadn't had a chanse to test it yet. Some kind of a tutorial would have been nice, even in a .txt format :) I can't figure out how the turrets level up or do the player have to upgrade it.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

While I didn't get the full experience (I played singleplayer), I enjoyed the game thoroughly. Nice job.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Liked it! :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I loved it! The gameplay is addictive. Kept me playing for quite a bit :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Great idea for the theme!! Nice work :)

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

A very interesting idea, but I found the controls very hard (I only tried with an Xbox gamepad and the touchpad, I don't have a mouse). In the end I was just randomly moving and placing things, hoping that it would be of any use.
I also only tried in single player.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Really great job! good gameplay and really nice controls.

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Very good idea and execution. Found the movement of the ship a bit fiddly but I really liked the concept.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Like the art, music, modes, and the concept over all. Well done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Pretty solid! Hard, but it's keeping you playing.

Make it a bit easier, would be really fun.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

It's a bit confusing at first, but when you get the hang of it it's pretty cool. (Lol @ the LÖVE intro music)

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Cool game. The controllers felt a bit strange (keyboard and mouse) at first, but I got used to it. Played it solo, but I imagine it'd be a lot of fun with more people. And it'd help since I'm pretty trash at tower defense games.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49am

This game is a lot of fun, I really love the idea.
I got to about level 6 with my laptop trackpad.

Love2d is amazing:) I'm glad you took advantage of it's controller adaptability or however you want to describe it.

I think you should keep working on it and make it even more fun:D

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

Interesting and challenging game but controls are quite strange.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02am

This is hard! The violet ones especially. I have to try this with a real second player (not with the joystick on my lap). The keyboard+mouse controls seems less easy to use, I'm not sure why. The graphics are good enough, and I really like the music. Nice idea and nice execution.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55am

Player movement is a bit confusing at first, and I thought it was a bug that you could build on to of what you already had. Turns out, that was an upgrade I guess? I agree that a 'reverse' key would be nice. The quirky music loop didn't annoy me at all, but instead added to the game's personality. I'm going to get my kids to play this with me when they get home from school. Nice job.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Thanks so much for the responses guys, I'm really busy moving which is why I'm so slow to respond!

For anyone who thinks the game is too hard in single player, keep in mind the game is only supposed to last about ten minutes per round! I have solo beaten level 8, but I will admit it is hard as hell.

@Linus Lindberg - Explosions ALMOST made it in. And then I realized I had been working for 22 hours straight. With 6 hours left, it was no time to add more features.

@vrld - The controls most def need some cleaning up. I'm thinking of separating the axis so that move is wasd and aim is mouse (for xbox, move would be left stick, and aim would be right stick). I'm glad you liked the music. I seem to have a quick and dirty way of making awesome music now, which is great for LD's. I'm glad you like the game! It means a lot coming from you!

@Ramon Imbao - Cheers!

@panuo - The most I have as a tutorial is the splash screen at the start of the game that shows the controls, but regardless this would be a really good idea. I was hoping that upgrading turrets would be an "accidental" learning thing, where someone would accidentally build a building on an older building and realize it upgrades. I need to figure out how to make that clearer.

@flamecow - I'm glad you liked it! Go get some controllers and play with a buddy! I hear ps3 and 3rd party controllers work as well!

@rzfmzn - Cheers!

@epicSpeedTurtle - I'm glad you enjoyed it. The game is only supposed to be a 10 minute game, but I'm glad I got you coming back for more!

@ratalaika - Thank you! I spent two hours sitting chatting with folks thinking about a theme. Originally the game was NOT going to be set in space. Haha!

@Latcarf - Yes, the controls could use some cleanup, I agree. Here are some tips: build your buildings around your base to slow down enemies, and upgrade them to help kill them! Be sure to figure out how your alternate works. Get more players to get more advanced tactics down!

@ellipticaldoor - Thank you! I'm getting mixed reviews on the controllers, but it's good that I'm getting good and bad feedback about it. the controls are ... not what one would expect.

@headchant - Thank you, that means a lot to me! I spent two hours getting the idea, and then made a MVP by hour 28 (which as leafo pointed out on the stream).

@apaneske - Cheers!

@SpiralCodeStudio - Hards's the name of the game! If you want to do better, understand how the building upgrades work, build a better defense, and for god's sake: find some friends!

@Sheep - I'm glad you found it intuitive! The intro music is from my lovesplash library! github.com/josefnpat/lovesplash/

@alts - With multiple players, folks can take different roles, so you can let your friends do the building, and you can do the shooting! Yell at them too. It should help.

@MunkeeBacon - I'm impressed! The trackpad folks didn't like the controls at all (go figured!). I'm glad you like it, LÖVE is an amazing framework with a lot of capability. I may just do that, so I can get it into vapor!

@LittleThor - I'm glad you were challenged! I will work on the controls. Heh.

@Niavlys - I'm glad you like the game. The violet bad guys are the "bosses" of each class.

@recursor - Haha, building on previous buildings is how you upgrade! I'm working on the controls. As for playing this with your kids, I'm honored! I'm glad you liked it, and hope your kids do too!

Norgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Pretty fun but feels unbeatable solo, managed to get up to level 8, but don't have pads available to try it out multiplayer. It probably needs to scale down in difficulty for single player.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

didn't get a chance to try multiplayer, which i think would be a different and possibly better experience. cool idea though.

phaed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24am

Very fun. I really liked the music and sound effects. Felt ambitious for an LD and was well executed. Co-op was fun.

The game crashed when I tried to toggle to fullscreen, but fullscreen worked after I pressed "M" to switch resolution. My res is 1366x768.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice job josefnpat, the idea is great and well executed. Like a tower defense game is simple and fun!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Video of my streaming your game: http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2837174

onzephyr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:57pm

liked the concept and gameplay. I did find it hard to build right next to my ship, had to back up or scoot away to do it. otherwise everything was great.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Cool game! I liked the concept a lot, but I never felt like I was really able to build up a very big base solo, which is where much of the appeal lies for me.

Controls felt fine to me, but I was mostly playing the Ranger. I think the fact that the soldier needs to get close, but can't back away and shoot, might be the problem for most folk.

Sadly not able to play on Multplayer, but I suspect that with more players, the base building would be a lot more rewarding.

cobrajs says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Pretty cool concept. The music got kinda annoying after a while. Overall nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]