August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

No Time to Stop

by Alink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect all coins in 10 seconds. Special blocks are added each level.

Controls: arrows keys (or WASD) to move, 'Space' to retry, 'Return' to go back to the first level. 'M' to mute all sounds and 'P' to mute the timer beeps.

IMPORTANT: the keys 'V' and 'B' allow to tweak the 10 seconds limit (and thus the difficulty). Search an efficient solution (ignore the timer limit!) and then try to re-execute it in time.

There are 10 levels and after the end, the game restart with an increased difficulty (-1 sec). All levels are doable in 8 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#51Fun3.77
#131Overall3.59
#161Innovation3.59
#333Mood3.04
#392Theme3.33
#489Audio2.68
#563Graphics2.87
#693Humor2.00

Comments

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Quite hard (or maybe I'm just bad), but cool game otehrwise

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

Very nice idea! I like how the timer doesn't start until you start moving very much. Gets pretty difficult though.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Fun and challenging. I think the difficulty ramps up way too fast though. I also like the line-trail effect when you move, it feels nice and helps your eyes track your location.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Stuck at level 7, it's really confusing to me. The use of Adrenaline Rush is needed for this one. It took me some time to know how to finish the level :D ... Good game.

Alink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Thanks all for playing. Seeing the comments about difficulty, I tried with a handicap (only one left finger) and I noticed that I let an arbitrary 13 seconds limit (sorry to brag but 13 is still enough for me, but hey I made the game). So, I removed that line, in case people struggle too much with the time.

Unless the difficulty comes from the puzzles? In which case, sorry, that part is by design, because it's a game with a very limited number of useful moves, even if they are not always obvious, so I think the solution must be well hidden. Also, my goal was to allow the small number of levels to still offer a good challenge.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Fun game, felt the difficulty was just about right for a LD game. Great work on the level design (both the actual puzzles and the variety.)

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I love how we have to think thoroughly before making the first move. Gets challenging at later levels (well, honestly, some are too hard for me...)

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33am

Fun game. But I Level 3 I found q

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36am

OOPS My comment Kinda glitched, what I was saying was that I really enjoyed the game but at level 3 you do not really have enough to do it. But Great Idea love it. -James ;)

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43am

I like these kinds of puzzle games and this one is quite polished! The timer made it too difficult for me though. But thats a minor thing to change for an after comp version maybe? ;)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

The gameplay was a bit too fast paced for my tastes

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice level design, that's the hardest thing about making puzzlers. Good job, games pretty fun

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Wow, peewwww... I'm sooo fast! Cool puzzle-like game, love the feeling of speed in this game and the graphics!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Really fun game and concept. I think it's another game I've played where the 10 second theme has kind of made it less fun than it might be than say, if the theme had been '20 seconds' :) But easy to fix in a post-compo version!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

This is a solid puzzle game, good job! I hope you will continue your work on this.

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Fun, but for me it was too hard.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Woow,game with one of the best ideas whose I played for this moment. Really good.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Tricky but fun!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very intuitive game mechanic and controls, and the extra elements in each level make the learning curve go up nicely.

Laelien says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Now THAT was challenging. Yet fun and addictive. The puzzles really look like you've given them a lot of though. Good job !

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This was actually pretty fun. Even though the puzzle idea is very basic but it makes it challenging that there is a timer. unlike other common puzzle games. I can see this game taking off on the iOS/Android market.

van noctar says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Very good puzzle game!

Exergy says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Good puzzler!

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:28am

This was really cool. I was only able to make it 9 levels. The puzzle design in particular is nice. There are a lot of different mechanics thrown into the blocks, though, and I wonder if there are more areas to explore for each block type before mixing them up. I feel like this could be easily expanded into a much larger game. I hope you do. Nice work.

michail says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Cool concept and very well-thought mechanics, but it is really hard. I only managed to get to the 9 (or maybe 10) level.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Very cool puzzle game! I like how even with the extra time to work out the solution, it still very challenging. Got stuck at level 7, will try again later. =)

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:08am

Wow! The graphics are nice and the sounds are good. I reall like the line that trails behind the player. The gameplay is really great. Each level was very challenging and had me in that 'just one more level' kind of state. Very nice!

Sestren says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:28am

I love fast-paced puzzle games like this. I've seen similar mechanics to this before, but never on such a strict time limit, and that makes a big difference in the fun and challenge of it all. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]