August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to save the day

by Volute - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 seconds to save the day is an adventure game where you play as a ghost.

You died in a terrible accident that made dozens of victims. You remember that for 10 seconds, you knew you were going to die. In the clouds, such moments are called "extra time".
There's a rule that if you have unfinished business on Earth you can give this "extra time" to another person. But who to give it to and can 10 seconds be enough to prevent the accident ?

INSTRUCTIONS
- there's no preloader, so it's a blank screen until it loads.
- you may need to click on the game window to set the focus.
- [SPACE] to advance dialog
- [ARROW KEYS] to move
- [M] to show the map (it only work when you have more than 1 place to visit)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Mood4.05
#64Overall3.78
#97Graphics3.88
#127Audio3.38
#161Theme3.65
#403Innovation3.17
#418Fun3.09
#617Humor2.14

Comments

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

When I clicked on the link it said the page could not be found. Is this just me?

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Not found!!

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

It should work now.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15am

Not working

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Sorry, I was so tired I forgot to publish the blog page where the game was. As I was logged in the blog system, it was working for me.
The page is published now, sorry again.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Beautiful! Five stars for graphics and mood.

Instead of describing ("Ask her name") you could just put the actual text that you're going to say ("What's your name?"). It both cuts out an extra line of dialogue, and lets the player make more intelligent choices.

The storyline is amazing and very well designed, and I love how it gradually unfolds. I thought I'd won when I gave away my 10 seconds but then it turned out there was much more story to be experienced, which made me very happy :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

cute 3:

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nothing happens, after i pressed space i only see the three kids and nothnig happens...

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Did you try to move with the arrow keys ?

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I didn;t realize that the dialogue wasn;t over yet and that i had to press space again, thanks :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:01pm

This game is absolutely gorgeous.
I love the idea, this is the first game i see that didn;t just use the 10 seconds as a game mechanic, but really made it part of the story.
The best one i have seen so far, great story, love the dialogue, was even a bit emotional at one point.
Absolutely lovely, i enjoyed playing it a lot, thank you for this one.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

The graphics weren't really to my taste, but they worked. :) Did a great job with the mood, nice work!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice game but weak use of theme

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

This is fantastic. Beautiful visuals and a really unique feel to it, I really enjoyed this one. Masterful work.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Interesting take on the theme. Very well done. :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Interesting art style, clever use of the theme. Nice!

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41pm

This is beautiful. In 48 hours you managed to put together a gripping narrative with interesting back and forth interactions. I can't say more for the expansion of this game, but I'd love to see more games in this style.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I couldn't get anywhere after it opened the map. I could go back to where I wa before, but that was it.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Thanks for the nice comments :)

@ gbear605 : Did you unlock other places than the Clouds ?

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Maybe the best game till now. Congrats!!

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I really liked the story and I was on the edge of seat. It was a pretty long game and I quite enjoyed it. The pacing of the ending was strange but that was really impressive. Great sound and graphics too!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Absolutely brilliant! This was truly a feat if you really did all of this from scratch! Incredible story!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Beautiful! I like games like this.

Vico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

AWESOME! I just couldn't stop playing until I reached the end. Very good interpretation for the theme! Congrats!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I liked the hand drawn look. It has a nice sad mood to it with an interesting story. The characters you control could move a bit faster to make it more enjoyable. Good job otherwise :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

"Over 200 years. I'm from the Internet period".
This quote is fantastic.

I like how you linked all the characters to the different places. Nice story.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Really enjoyed this entry! I liked the characters and how they were all connected together. Great use of the theme!

The ending felt bit rushed though, were you running out of time?

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

good job

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Extremely compelling, great job!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Pretty impressive depth to this game. 5/5 Graphics and mood :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02am

All my stars are belong to you! This was incredible, I wouldn't have guessed it would have that such depth.

The story was really inmersive and I loved the fact that the 10 seconds were part of the narrative rather than the gameplay. The end did feel a bit rushed but I think it still was really good.

If you rushed the story, please develop it further in a post-compo version! Would definitively play it :)

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25am

just beautiful. very well done.

Alink says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Good story and the last 10 seconds idea was well used.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Lovely dreamy mood. Great visuals. I enjoyed playing this.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Bravo! That is all :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Great entry I like way more plot based games than gameplay based. The story is very well done and we can feel each character's own personality. Loved it.

SayersLabs says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Very great story, overall a really well made game.

jackdw31 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:06pm

That game was AMAZING!!! I loved it to pieces - the only problem I had with it was that it ended so quickly and suddenly. Overall - AMAZING GAME!!!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:22pm

clap clap clap clap. it was longer than i expected. the story was good, the graphics cute. wish I could totally understand everything though.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Yeah Finished it :D Like the flowy drawing style and a nice little story, glad the pace sped up a bit at the end, either that or I was getting the hang of what/where I needed to do/go. Story didn't explain what Alice had to do with the accident.

recursor says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:11pm

The hand-drawn characters are great!

Volute says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for the nice comments !

@AdventureIslands, jackdw31 : The ending wasn't more rushed than the rest of the story in the writing. But if I had more time, I would have put a little animation at the end where the ghosts disappear. It would have been less brutal that way.

@darkshadow : I deliberately not explained everything, I wanted to leave some things to the interpretation of the player, but it was probably a bad decision.
* Spoilers * What Alice has to do with the accident is that she helps to prevent it by knowing her way around the place and being willing to help others.

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Daaamn that was a good game! Just wish the screen was empty for a few seconds on the end before the "The end" message appeared xD

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice graphic style of this game.

mollymus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Very nice feeling, but honestly I felt like the game was a bit too long. Either way, beautiful dialog and feeling!

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:08am

This is a really great game. I loved the graphics and really enjoyed the premise as well. The connection to the theme isn't terribly strong, but it works in the end. Fantastic job.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:53am

Love love love love love ! :)
My eyes are full of stars. ;)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:26am

That was awesome, the story, the art, and the delicate music. Nice take on theme too. :)

Great stuff!

smash ball says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:57pm

That was a long one, but I enjoyed it. The story was really well developed.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

That was a long story with a surprise twist in the beginning! It was kind of obvious I would get to control the headache girl last though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]