August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Insanity

by dagothig - Jam Entry

NOTE : if you are running Macos or linux and the jar doesn't work, try running it through the command line with the -jar suffix (somthing akin to java -jar thejar.jar) we've had some issues with it running under these OSes (still unsure WHY it doesn't work)

NOTE #2: for those who've been scratching their heads wondering what to do, you're goal is to find the blue room and stand in it's shiny center. A screenshot showing said blue room has been added.

Prepare.... for a descent into MADNESS

You have 10 seconds... or so it would seem, to find enlightment in the dungeon...

But something feels weird... you don't feel quite right in the head. Your light dims out, your heart beats faster...
this is 10 Seconds to Insanity.

Programmed only with the finest of bad coding habits, the game has proved to be truly a programming challenge, seeing as how the labyrinth is fully randomly generated and isometric rendering is a little finicky, for those curious about the source code, be warned, the code is quite unreadable in parts.
Also, that character sprite has proven to be quite the time consumer, seeing as how it required a full day's work from our main graphist.

----------------------------------------------
EDIT:
Final build link updated!
We are done for this JAM!
Happy testing and playing, we recomend closing your lights, pressing ALT+ENTER and enjoying fullscreen horror stress!

Have fun!
----------------------------------------------


The fearsome four (with help)
Programming : Frederic Antoine-Gingras, Guillaume Noel-Martel
Graphics : Myriam Noel-Martel with some help from Melina Tremblay
Music : Edouard Blain-Noel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#6Mood(Jam)4.29
#25Audio(Jam)3.87
#26Graphics(Jam)4.48
#43Overall(Jam)3.81
#80Innovation(Jam)3.55
#163Fun(Jam)3.26
#198Theme(Jam)3.32
#451Humor(Jam)1.71

Comments

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

Error: Could not find or load main class 10SecToInsanity_WINDOWED.jar

I'm on ubuntu so the problem is probably on my end. I have the openjdk-7-jre package.

dagothig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10am

thanks a bunch for warning us about it (the game was only tested on mac and windows), we won't be fixing it quite yet since it's so late in the night for us, but hopefully there should be a bugfix as soon as possible

Kiasaki says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

I was not able to run on mac neither but using:
cd {game directory}
java -jar 10SecToInsanity_WINDOWED.jar

It worked! I guess it might fix the problem on ubuntu to!

Gyoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21am

I can't play because of my azerty keyboard :(

dagothig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Azerty suppot added, fullscreen added, few bugs fixed, final build updated!

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Is it really 10 seconds if you slow the clock down? :F
Pretty impressive! Graphics are awesome, great atmosphere, the level generation seems good, though, I seem to be without any clue of where to go. The spike traps seem a bit unfair, with the camera perspective, as they are often almost invisible =/

dagothig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

No! you have revealed our evil schemes! As for the spikes, their job is to make you infuriated :D! (you CAN see them... but you have to be reeeeaaaal careful)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Such a great looking game! And it's pretty damn creepy too - you've really done a fantastic job with the atmosphere! I may or may not have squealed several times...

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18am

Great job of making it really tense and suspenseful, the music and visuals really were impressive. The theme was kiiind of stretching it, 10 seconds wasn't really 10 seconds here. Also I feel like either keys should be way more prominent, or locked doors should show up way less.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11am

Wasn't runnable, "A java exception has occurred"

dagothig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:43am

Could you be a little more specific? Like what OS you use? Have you tried running directly from the command line?

D-e-X says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

This is absolutely fantastic! Love it!

cwkx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Awesome entry. I love the old school approach and dark theme.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

The game is really well done, it reminded me from Amnesia, but I don't understand what I'm supposed to do, I just wandered through the dungeon until the 10+ seconds timer runs out. Also, the spikes are a bit unfair.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Won't run here on Linux. It says:
java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.lang.String.getBytes(String.java:956)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.nSetTitle(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.setTitle(LinuxDisplay.java:760)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setTitle(Display.java:538)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:309)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:845)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.tryCreateDisplay(AppGameContainer.java:342)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.access$000(AppGameContainer.java:32)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$2.run(AppGameContainer.java:407)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:388)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:357)
at ld27jam.Main.main(Main.java:27)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Amazing graphics. Classic Syndicate view!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Enjoyable, scary/fun mixed together !

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

When played fullscreen, this is really atmospheric. The graphics are great and the music is very scary. You might want to check out my game. I had a very similar idea. My graphics aren´t that cool though :P

entrusC says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:30am

Wow - great atmospheric game! And quite scary! Still I think the first randomly generated level I got was unsolvable - just solid doors and no more keys - so: do you check if the level is solvable?

Also: things like "long seed = now.getTime() + oldseed;" won't make it more random ;)

But sill a really pretty game! I like it :)

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Great mood and fantastic graphics! The music and lighting really made a solid "insane" feel. The traps felt a bit dodgy at times and were hard to spot. Nice job on the random generation, too!

dagothig says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

aye, entrusC, sadly the random generation can get a bit dodgy at times :/ we can't guarantee every maze is solvable, furthermore, there's about 3 times more locked doors than there are keys (you HAVE to be conservative with the keys). Anyhow, big thanks for the feedback!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:36am

Was it just me or were those some really long seconds?

myachin says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:23pm

cant run on win7(
i hear great music, but see nothing!

dagothig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:40pm

This is very odd, as the game was tested to work both under Windows 7 and 8, do you think you could elaborate a little on how it doesn't work? Like you booted the game, there was a black screen and you just heard music and then nothing else?

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:25am

Is there an overall end to the game? Or do you just keep playing random levels each time?

Either way, great little game. I died too often and had to start a new maze on my first go, but after completing the 2nd maze fairly quickly, I then had very few issues with the next 3-4. Are the diamond rooms always in the same general area? or did I just get super lucky that way?

dagothig says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Sadly there isn't xP (we never got around to make a definitive end to the game, you do indeed play random levels every time)

As for the diamond rooms, they actually always spawn on one of the corners of the map. This means every game, there's a 25% chance that the room will be at the same spot as the time before.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]