August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1.863 million miles

by netmute - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an unfinished entry :(

You are a new crew member onboard the spaceship Ludumia. The upcoming 1.863 million mile journey should be a piece of cake. The ship is equipped with light engines and will travel the distance in about 10 seconds. If nothing goes wrong...

Unfortunately something has gone wrong before something could go wrong. I didn't finish the game :( But I'm kind of proud of the little world I build, so I decided to submit anyway.

There's not much to do. But maybe you'll find it an interesting experience anyway.

I still see potential for an epic Space Opera, so I think I'll continue working on this one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Humor3.89
#118Mood3.46
#129Graphics3.77
#737Fun2.70
#792Overall2.82
#916Innovation2.46
#1149Theme1.96
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I gave 5/5 for humour just for the picard reference! Faster text would help this game along quite a bit, otherwise I like the sword and sworcery look!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Please do keep working on it. This looks like the beginning of a very cool game!

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Maybe you didn't finish the game, but at least you began making it, you are way ahead of all those people that never started theirs. :D

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Just wanted to say that this really made me smile. I love the idea and the way you have built it. Shame it wasn't finished but i think it is worth your time to give it a go. I love the humor and the ending made me laugh a lot :) breaking the 4th wall was nice!

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17pm

This is the start of something that could be really fun! Great job on the graphics!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14am

I giggled at "Kep Tein" and the self-referential ending. The side-on perspective for a spaceship is interesting and the visuals are nice too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14am

Had a good laugh when he said "the DEVELOPER". I can see the potential in this, if you
reduce the fluff talk, and
make the text advance by pressing space, instead of waiting,
and actually give that poor mechanic something to do.
Your art is very nice.

Gus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28am

What a plot twist xD
The text could've been faster at the beginning or better, totally controled by the player (I read pretty fast), also that sudden now-you-see-me-now-you-dont teleportation felt pretty awkward.
But besides that the pixel art is great and it has potential for an amazing full game, hope to see some progress in the future ;D

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

Barebones as it is, I was getting into it. Definitely worth sticking with

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Please keep working on this, it's got the makings of a real gem.

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Although I don't consider it a game, this is a quite enjoyable series of conversations. 5 stars for humour.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:46am

A good start. Needs a lot of work but I reckon this could turn out awesome!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Love it!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:46am

Great graphics, loved it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:43am

This turned out quite fun! Love the art style, the dialogs, and the general vibe.

I'd feel kinda stupid point out potential enhancements cause I'm sure you already got them in your to-do's list (and I'm honestly hoping you have a to-do's list for this game and plans to finish it!), but I'll do that anyway cause I think interacting with fellow devs and having constructive feedback is always the greatest takeaway from Ludum Dare. So, here it goes:
-Moving around is a little too slow and he feels too 'slipery'
-It should be possible to press a button to advance text
-I think some lines of text were not necessary. Usually players want to get into the game quickly, so they don't value information as much as they would later on in the same game! However I know this is an unfinished entry that ended up being about text, so I do understand the reasoning :)

But you know what? If I didn't know this was an unfinished LD game, this begining and all that is in it would have me totally in the mood to start a long, story based space game!

Please let me know if you keep developing it, I really liked it and would be very glad to play, or playtest, or give feedback, or all! :D

And congratulations for your participation. As Linusson said, you're already ahead of the 90% of game dev aspirants who always end up finding excuses for NOT making games. You started one, and it's turning out quite interesting. Keep going, man!

Cheers from Brazil,

Gabriel and JP

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Lol, I liked it, even though it wasn't complete xD Would love to see a firefly experience like this one day xD

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:31am

Awwwww... that's a shame. Please do keep working on it. PLEASE.
Guess I'll just enjoy the view then. ;)

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:24pm

That was hilariously unexpected after the first job. Awesome.

DuFF says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:07am

Great start. This was way better than I expected after reading the description. Do the right thing and finish this game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]