August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Professor Power and Powerbot

by HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Runs best in Chrome on Windows/Linux. Requires a keyboard.

Instructions are in game. Toggle the music with M.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#115Fun3.55
#193Audio3.21
#238Graphics3.48
#246Overall3.40
#274Theme3.47
#387Mood2.95
#466Humor2.40
#769Innovation2.69

Comments

Shivers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Great Game!

everblind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46am

Nice game, but the controls are a bit lagged?
Congrats! :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

@everblind Which browser/OS?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

Well done! There is a very nice dose of challenge, but I had to give up after failing like 20 times at the yellow level with lots of spikes.
I may have been motivated to continue if there was an interesting story, but I am probably too clumsy to get through the level even if I kept going..
The jumps remind me a lot of jetpack games, and it might be nice if the robot had jetpacks on. The precision and judging was just too difficult for me.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

@theholychicken That was the last level!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31am

OH! haha!

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Fun game, I enjoyed it.
Something is a little frustrating with the controls, though. Maybe deceleration is too slow? Almost felt laggy.

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Nice :)

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Awesome game. Graphics, sounds and music are quite impresive. The difficulty is addictive. Works great in chrome (ubuntu). Nice work.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Great game! Everything's just right & balanced :)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I thought the controls were smooth and the strongest part of the game. Fucking hell you went all-out with the difficulty on the last level, I think I died a hundred times and I spilled at least as many expletives.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Cute little twitch platformer. It was kind of thrilling even. I thought the challenge level was just right. I also died about 50 times on the last level.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very fun & challenging! It ran good in Chrome.

tombsar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

A very good game with a nice clean graphical style. The music is a bit repetitive, and I was pleased to see a mute button. The game works well, but suffers from performance issues which made it rather more difficult than it should have been. The physics feel a little weird to me (no horizontal deceleration from air friction, too fast horizontal acceleration when in the air), and I fell out of the world a couple of times.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Quite fun game, but I personally didn't like 'hold space to jump loger'. The character might fly for some time near the ceiling.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

That was a lot of fun! The core mechanic worked well, and the levels were just the right length. Got hooked on it, and spent a good five minutes screaming at the last level. :D

I have two suggestions for improvements. The death animation is a bit on the long side for a game where you die a lot. In a similar vein, I wanted a suicide button for when you know it's hopeless.

On a personal level, it was fun to see how we handled the same concept so differently. I enjoyed the fast gameplay in yours a lot! Great job! :D

evilentity says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Not bad, difficulty spikes pretty hard

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Very fluid! Jumping was a little wooden though

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Lovely little game. I liked the sharp graphic style.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

Thanks for level restart! Loved the graphics and the zooming on enter-exit. Boy can you jump far!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nice game! Although the controls felt really floaty.

Photon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Um, for some reason, every time I tried to play the game the robot just fell through the floor.

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very fast platformer! Didn't know that html5 could make that with vector graphics :) I enjoyed mastering the controls, and the in-game instructions.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]