August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Swipe The Roast

by cobrajs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Swipe the Roast: A game about grocery shopping

Drive your cart through the grocery store and grab as much food as you can, but try not to stack it too full, or else you will lose money from dropping groceries.

Note: This is a little unpolished. Especially the score screen. I didn't have time to add any sound either.

Keys:
X : grab left
C : grab right
Left : turn left
Right : turn right
Up : forward
Down : backward

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#478Innovation3.06
#851Graphics2.39
#1078Theme2.39
#1128Fun1.94
#1132Overall2.22
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

devi ever says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

Got an error : "cannot open data/apple.lua: no such file or directory"

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

Same error for me.

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

I don't have a windows machine and I have no idea what love is. Sorry.

cobrajs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Ok, I uploaded a new version with that error fixed. Love means Love2D, a cross platform Lua based game engine.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice job, I like the hand drawn-ness of it! Remember to always save time for polish! (or the polish people. Not sure which.)

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42am

cool idea, I wish there was more

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23pm

no groceries ever showed up on the shelves, and was fairly buggy. I personally liked the drawn on graphics, and game could be good given some polishing.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:47pm

That's very difficult, the cart can get stuck very easily. But the idea is original.

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I didn't see any groceries on the shelves and there only seemed to be one item per game?

Found it much easier to control when going backwards. That's how I'll do my shopping from now on...

cobrajs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:35am

Yeah, I was planning on drawing groceries for each section, but I ran out of time. There are separate sections of groceries, there's just no visual indicator :P

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

didn't see any groceries and i moved way to fast to do anything.

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Pretty funny idea for a game. Hard to play though it seems. kinda fast movement speed. I like the item dropping system.

alts says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:30pm

All I could think of while playing this was "Supermarket Sweep". And then I read your journal, and sure enough, you were thinking the same thing. Thank you.

I feel like this game has two ideas that would work independently, but when combined feel a bit weird. The dropping game doesn't need the narrative of the supermarket nor the distinct foods to work well. And the supermarket spree is hampered by the dropping mechanic, which puts limits on how frantic the shopping portion can be. I might split these up into two separate games, and consider how to fill in the gap left by the other in a way that accentuates the strong aspects of each.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]